Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

Multiplex Mentor for FPV/AP

Old 01-03-2009, 11:17 PM
  #1  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default Multiplex Mentor for FPV/AP

Multiplex Mentor just arrived in the post. Am now going to build the beast and prep it for AP over the next few weeks time permitting.


APC Prop 11.0 x 5.5
Plush 60amp Speed Controller
Himax C35-28 1000
Polyquest 3200mAh 3S 30C

Hope to use the Optio s12 with an IR trigger.

I have also picked up a 2.4ghz camera system from firstpersonview.co.uk and the Rangevideo OSD system from Range Video. Great customer service from those two gentlemen I might add..... Got good advice and the packages arrived quickly..

Will use my flycamone2 for testing before putting on any good compact camera. also got a set of small rare earth magnets. handy for locking the fuselage sections together...

zoom505

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Image075.jpg
Views:	518
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	89072   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image077.jpg
Views:	638
Size:	113.6 KB
ID:	89073   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image078.jpg
Views:	676
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	89074   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image080.jpg
Views:	586
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	89075  
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:04 AM
  #2  
SCC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Hi Zoom.
I would be very interested on what you think of your 2.4 system. What package did you go with from firstpersonview? What was the reason for getting the OSD from range video.?

Cheers
Paul
SCC is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:15 PM
  #3  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Paul,

In Ireland and the UK at 2.4ghz you are limited to 10mw power. Next year throughout the EU the range of devices will be expanded slightly but not at 2.4ghz. I think it will be on something like the 800mhz range, subject to correction. You should be able to get a range of 2km as opposed to 1km I have been told informally.

The reason I went with the rangevideo osd is that it provides substantial info on the HUD to give you better data feedback. It also has an autopilot return to base function built in. The videos of this on vimeo look pretty impressive. They also offer a 2.4 10mw system at rangevideo but I went with the local option for shiping reasons if there were any problems bearing in mind the price of the unit. firstpersonview have a great web site.

What I am aiming for next is wiring a compact camera and a separate small camera to an rc triggered bridge from gentles ltd and then that to the transmitter so I can switch between two camera. Crash9 has done this off his web site. It looks great.

Happy flying

zoom505
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:00 AM
  #4  
SCC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Hi Zoom.
Sounds like you have an interesting project. I will check out C9's web site too.

Did you get goggles. If so what do you think of them.? It's unfortunate that this product is only supplied by a few. It would be nice to pop down the LHS and try a pair on.
SCC is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 11:46 PM
  #5  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Paul,

Have not bought the goggles yet. That will be a purchase in the new year. Instead I am going to fly it through an av connection to my laptop for the time being. In the back of the car it should be dark enogh to avoid glare.

zoom
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 11:31 AM
  #6  
SCC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Originally Posted by zoom505 View Post
Paul,

Have not bought the goggles yet. That will be a purchase in the new year. Instead I am going to fly it through an av connection to my laptop for the time being. In the back of the car it should be dark enogh to avoid glare.

zoom
Zoom.
Think I will do the same.
How is the build coming along?
SCC is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 06:48 PM
  #7  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Have the servos installed and the gluing completed. Wiring up will be next and I hope to get onto this next week. My fingers are stuck with zacki glue.....!!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Image004.jpg
Views:	401
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	90038   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image005.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	90039  
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:40 PM
  #8  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Zoom Snr kindly did the soldering today for the ESC. Bolted in the motor mount and bolted on the landing gear. Attached the prop to the prop adapter. Its starting to look like a plane......
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Image000.jpg
Views:	429
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	90902   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image002.jpg
Views:	504
Size:	131.7 KB
ID:	90903   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image003.jpg
Views:	573
Size:	101.0 KB
ID:	90904  
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 10:30 PM
  #9  
R6_Infantry
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 139
Default

just curious as to which type of glue you used on the elapor
R6_Infantry is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 11:17 PM
  #10  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

zacki glue for elapor foam. dont get it on your fingers. has taken me days to sand it off...
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 11:37 PM
  #11  
stinkweed007
Super Contributor
 
stinkweed007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,160
Default

hot glue baby hot glue. Elapor is very good with hot glue.
stinkweed007 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:22 PM
  #12  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

trying to get hot glue in ireland. hard to find...
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 08:25 AM
  #13  
stinkweed007
Super Contributor
 
stinkweed007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,160
Default

well you got a Multiplex Mentor.. heck, I have a hard time getting That in Germany. ;p

Amazon sells them, ya might give that a go.
stinkweed007 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:15 AM
  #14  
Crash9
www.FPVpilot.com
 
Crash9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Posts: 892
Default

The Mentor looks like it'll make a nice plane. Looking at one at LHS today and almost gave in to it getting one .
Crash9 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:30 AM
  #15  
Crash9
www.FPVpilot.com
 
Crash9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Posts: 892
Default

BTW I have some Hobbywireless FPV gear for sale "plug"
Crash9 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:57 PM
  #16  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Originally Posted by zoom505 View Post
trying to get hot glue in ireland. hard to find...
Doesnt Ireland have household hobby stores that sell things like fabric, scrapbook stuff, etc.....?

My Mother and sisters just got back from a 2 week vacation in Ireland. I looked at their photos......Man, you guys have some awesome castles, buildings and landscape. Its a AP'ers dream land.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:36 PM
  #17  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Folks

The excitement is building. In the photos below you will see the rig I have. Inspired by Crash9's setup i have purchased the gentles duo cam switch which in theory will allow me to switch between the optio s12 and forward cam in flight.

Aviatordave you are on the money. Unspolit landscape everywhere. Main problem over here as your family will testify is wind and rain. big problems for a foam model.

I went looking for the hot glue and found some. Its a german variant and not sure if it will work with elopar foam.... I did find two foam domes and a foam ball for the middle. Am thinking of using them as camera domes/protection.

as for the hobbywireless gear, bear in mind in Ireland we are limited to 2.4ghz at 10mw. yes folks, a lousy 1km range los....ugh!!!!

will keep posting the progress..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Image000.jpg
Views:	310
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	91287   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image001.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	91288   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image002.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	91289   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image003.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	91290  
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 11:28 PM
  #18  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Folks

Have my multiplex mentor ready to go. Connected my Multiplex Himax 3528-1000 brushless outrunner to my Turnigy plush 60a esc, connected my 3200mah 3s 11.1v lipo. Turned on the tx and rx. Esc went through normal startup sequence of beeps. When I apply throttle motor shudders a few grating rotations and then stops. it doesnt sound healthy. like an old engine trying to start in winter. repeated the process a few times to the same results.

the motor spins fine and freely in my hand when i rotate the prop with the power off.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.
zoom505 is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 12:02 AM
  #19  
Crash9
www.FPVpilot.com
 
Crash9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Elsinore, Ca.
Posts: 892
Default

Sounds to me like it's a bad connection to the motor from ESC if the wires are factory length and have not been cut, I've had some thing simalar happen. That's my first thought anyway,,...
Crash9 is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 01:02 AM
  #20  
SCC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Originally Posted by zoom505 View Post
Folks

Have my multiplex mentor ready to go. Connected my Multiplex Himax 3528-1000 brushless outrunner to my Turnigy plush 60a esc, connected my 3200mah 3s 11.1v lipo. Turned on the tx and rx. Esc went through normal startup sequence of beeps. When I apply throttle motor shudders a few grating rotations and then stops. it doesnt sound healthy. like an old engine trying to start in winter. repeated the process a few times to the same results.

the motor spins fine and freely in my hand when i rotate the prop with the power off.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.
I have had the exact same problem in the past. It was a dodgy solder joint on one of the motor wires. I re soldered the bullet connector and all was good.
One thing I noticed when I had the problem. If I removed the prop the motor seemed to run fine. With the prop back on, the motor started to stutter and not turn. Maybe you could try that as a quick test.
SCC is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:35 AM
  #21  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Folks

Ye were on the money. Cut off all the connections and re-soldered the lot. Found one bad connection on the ESC. Motor purred like a tiger. praise the lord.....!

Moved on to my next project. Getting the cameras to switch between the cam 50 and the pentax optio s12 via the duo switch. The switch works fine, but my connector I wired up doesnt for some reason. There is a usb to phono vid connector that came with the camera. I cut off the phono and soldered on a standard servo lead end and connected it to the video in on the switcher.

The problem is when the usb slot on the camera is connected the camera screen turns off and goes into some kind of sleep mode.

Darn. Am gonna have to study the camera manual.

Zoom.
zoom505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 02:59 PM
  #22  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

Hmmmm.

The plane flew last saturday. Crashed on takeoff broke my prop.

Flew this morning. Plane took off fine. Decided to leave the camera equipment off the plane for the first run. Did a few circuits around the field. Powerful plane. Found it tricky enough to get used to ailerons. Its a big plane and you can star running out of runway very fast for takeoffs and landings.

With the stock himax motor it has plenty of power. I decided to use a little ailerons to line up for landing and a wing clipped the ground. The plastic screws / retainers broke but otherwise no major damage. Bust another apc. Have to find a small parts set for the mentor from a distributor in the UK. beginning to question the need for such a big plane for AP/FPV. I think I could get away with a smaller aircraft and still have great power. Something to carry my pentax s12 and fpv camera and osd....

I was overconfident with my piloting skills from the supercub. Totally different animal. Glad I did no serious damage.

Back to the drawing board!

zoom.
zoom505 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:09 PM
  #23  
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Build Review Wing attachment problem ...

At Step 5 and Figure 7 of the manual, I snapped the wing screw supports (33+34) together and glued them into the fuselage as instructed. What I did NOT do is check the screws (32) to see if they mated properly with the supports. I can't see the supports now that the fuselage halves are glued together.

Now I am at Step 18 and Figure25, and the forward wing screw goes in just fine, but the rear screw won't get started. The lead threads on the screw look OK, but I can't see the corresponding mating threads in the rear support to see if they are OK or not.

Is there a tap I can use to ascertain that the threads in the support are OK, or is there a recommended larger tap and corresponding hold down screw size that I need to go to to get the rear tied down? Do you have a larger screw that would work, or even a self-tapping screw, and where can I go to get such screws? Struck out at the few LHS' I tried.

Anyone know what size the wing screw threads are? HITEC\MULTIPLEX online Support isn't answering the e-mail request just yet.

Thanks for any/all help you can/will provide to complete the assembly of my Mentor.
Madman is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 04:18 PM
  #24  
zoom505
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West of Ireland
Posts: 64
Default

I have sent an email to West london Models in the UK. They appear to stock spares for multiplex. They might be a good start. Send them an email. Plane grounded until I get the spare wing braces.

darn!
zoom505 is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 03:27 AM
  #25  
RaWe
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Hi!

Thanks for posting your interesting project. May I ask how did you setup for two cameras? Is it to a single transmitter?

RaWe
RaWe is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16094 seconds with 26 queries