Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

GWS Slow Stick - WHY its a great first.

Old 07-27-2007, 10:22 PM
michaeljvdh

Default GWS Slow Stick - WHY its a great first.

Its provides the ability to take off from land or hand.
See what ive done as an absolute beginner, and lets chat. On my second flight I was inverted, looping etc ... I have some advice for starters ... check my site ... www.hereitis.co.za come back and chat.

Last edited by michaeljvdh; 12-07-2008 at 05:20 AM. Reason: web link fixed
Old 07-28-2007, 03:35 AM
John Canfield

Thumbs up

Couldn't agree more ! I've had 30 or 40 great flights with my stick and haven't even damaged the plane. I am careful to pick my wind - none to 5 mph.

I was totally frustrated with two other Park Zone planes but the SS has really been a load of fun. With a 3S LiPo and a brushless motor, the plane is not slow. When I want to dawdle around, I fly with a 2S pack.
Old 07-28-2007, 08:04 AM
michaeljvdh

Default Awesome ....

Thats good to hear, I did my first video today ... my new BL motor & 3s LiPO was awesome ... except ... I tried to pull out of a large loop too late .... CRAAAAASH ... folded my plane in half ... busy with the wrekage now ... BUT I wont hesistate to buy another ... im off for spares.

This is one of the reasons its a great plane, accidents dont break the bank.
Old 07-28-2007, 12:40 PM
John Canfield

Ouch! I don't think the plane was designed to fly with that much power and when I have the 3S pack strapped on, I try to take the loops as gently as possible. I have fun with full power going vertical, and use full power for takeoffs, but all other times I'm at about half throttle.
Old 07-28-2007, 09:50 PM
michaeljvdh

Default The Power's a tad much