RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Bought DX6i - Beginner Help Required

Old 09-06-2008, 10:35 PM
  #26  
skydive4ever
Blue Skies & Light Winds
 
skydive4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St-Isidore, NB, Canada
Posts: 37
Default

Originally Posted by pvtzemerak View Post
I personally would recomend This
I used it for my p-38 lightining and it works great, i dont like to use the parkflyer recievers. I like this because it was my first build with it and it was easy to use, just follow the instructions.
~Pvt
That is what i have installed in mine..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	SS Setup 004.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	77475  
skydive4ever is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 04:31 AM
  #27  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Reciever is not his issue pctzemerak,

you could go with that $40 esc at lightflight, but at that price, you could also upgrade your motor and esc to brushless at hobbycity.com

I've looked in a few places, and It seems to be hard to find a brushed esc with 3amp bec.... I'm not sure why... maybe because of how cheap its been getting to change to brushless that brushed motors seem to be on their way out...

at this point, I'd prob recomend a nimh Reciever pack for you.... that way you don't need to change anything... and when you want to upgrade to brushless, you can remove the rx pack...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 09:32 AM
  #28  
marchino61
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 261
Default Standalone BEC

How about just buying a discrete BEC?

This one will do the job

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...oise_Reduction

And costs about $8 from Hobbycity/Hobbyking (or whatever they are called this week!).

Probably cheaper than a receiver pack.
marchino61 is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 01:28 PM
  #29  
Lloyd
Member
 
Lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mobile, al
Posts: 75
Default

Go to http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC6v.htm and buy yourself one of these BECs. Twenty bucks plus a little shipping will save you much grief. Every plane I have has one installed.
Lloyd is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 04:28 PM
  #30  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

yes, a seperate bec might work, I've never used them, but if you go that way, remember to turn the built on bec of your esc off.... You'll need to program it to do that...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:05 PM
  #31  
Lloyd
Member
 
Lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mobile, al
Posts: 75
Default

There are no programming or wiring modifications required with the ParkBEC sold by Dimension Engineering. Plug it in per instructions and fly with confidence.
Lloyd is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 04:56 AM
  #32  
marchino61
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 261
Default ParkBEC

That ParkBEC looks like a good product. I especially like the fact you can install it without modifications.

However, at 1.25A, it is only rated slightly higher than the built in BEC.

Maybe a higher rated BEC in the same range would be a safer option?
marchino61 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:22 AM
  #33  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

here's a 3amp bec, and its pretty cheap pricewise...

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...oise_Reduction
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 02:24 PM
  #34  
Lloyd
Member
 
Lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mobile, al
Posts: 75
Default ParkBEC

The six volt ParkBEC will handle 6 9gram servos or four standard servos. Don't know many electrics which require more servos than that. The five volt model will handle the same number of servos.
Lloyd is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 05:46 PM
  #35  
skydive4ever
Blue Skies & Light Winds
 
skydive4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St-Isidore, NB, Canada
Posts: 37
Default

Gotta love these great people out here on the net
Thanks for your advice guys. I'm gonna try two things, first cut the bec wire and then just plug a battery that I have for my gentle lady glider, and charge it everytime i charge my Super Sporster battery, no problem there - http://www.greathobbies.com/producti...od_id=GPMP0950
if that doesn't work, secondly i'll try a separate BEC as recommended, i found this one from my LHS - http://www.greathobbies.com/productinfo/?prod_id=CCRBEC
I'll post the results when I have tried either or both of these options.
Thanks again guys :-)
skydive4ever is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:23 PM
  #36  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Default

Hi, just a note on the DX6i. I accidentially turned on the transmitter while it was still in the carrying case, it went into the binding mode and then 39 miles from home the reciever wouldn't bind to the transmitter, duhh I left the binding plug at home. If this happens to you i cut the leads off an old servo I had with me. Short the Blk (gnd) and the white (sig) leads together. Don't accidentally connect the red (power) wire or you'll ruin the receiver. I placed this plug into the receiver Batt slot and got the two to work together. I understand there are 4.2 billion ? codes. Be sure to unplug the binding plug after turning off the receiver. It saved me a mornings flight with my Eflite T-34. I attached the right plug to the transmitter handle with a piece of red cloth tape so it always stays with the transmitter. Hope this helps someone.
Jaywalker
jaywalker is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 04:14 AM
  #37  
Wisc-BK
Watch this........:-(
 
Wisc-BK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ripon Wisconsin
Posts: 114
Default

Originally Posted by jaywalker View Post
Hi, just a note on the DX6i. I accidentially turned on the transmitter while it was still in the carrying case, it went into the binding mode and then 39 miles from home the reciever wouldn't bind to the transmitter, duhh I left the binding plug at home.
Well, that seems quite strange to me... I have a DX6i bound to 2 receivers.
The Tx will not go into "bind mode" unless the trainer switch is held up AND
the Tx is turned on at the same time. Also, you only need to bind the Tx to
a specific Rx ONCE, well maybe twice according to the manual you should
also do it after going through the initial "setup list" but thats it. After that
if the Rx is on, and then the Tx is turned on they "model sync" with each
other and the Rx light will turn on solid.

There is no need to carry a binding plug with you to the flying field all the
time once your Tx and Rx have been bound the first couple times.

At least that is my understanding of the Spektrum systems and my experience
with mine.
Wisc-BK is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 04:52 PM
  #38  
skydive4ever
Blue Skies & Light Winds
 
skydive4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St-Isidore, NB, Canada
Posts: 37
Default

Well, problem solved, I cut the bec from the speed control, taped the ends, then added a receiver battery to the receiver (the plane needed some weight in the back to balance it anyway) works great :-)
I've maidened the Super Sporster EP a couple of weekend ago, flies great, i'm a happy camper now, and I have more knowledge on how bec on esc's work.
So the DX6i is still my favorite radio, running out of room for models though, lol, gonna have to get another one or buy a DX7, lol
Thanks for all your help, gotta love the internet, forums and great people :-)

Last edited by skydive4ever; 10-23-2008 at 04:53 PM. Reason: Typo
skydive4ever is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mtuhoop24
Power Systems
7
10-10-2007 12:34 PM
stu1
Beginners - Helis
3
09-11-2007 05:18 PM
Micro_R/c.co.za
Beginners
13
05-10-2007 08:30 AM
Wireless
Power Systems
3
02-02-2007 10:03 AM
woody
Batteries & Chargers
1
06-22-2006 09:34 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Bought DX6i - Beginner Help Required


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12194 seconds with 15 queries