Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

AP & AV Cameras -The Good (and Bad)

Old 02-08-2009, 12:29 PM
  #26  
mallettron
New Member
 
mallettron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: sheffield, UK
Posts: 8
Default

I dont think that has IR on it so you will have to use a servo to trigger it

You dont seem to be UK otherwise

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pentax-Optio...4095616&sr=8-1

69.99 delivered !!!

I you fly near water I think the w10 will be fine

Ronnie
mallettron is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 12:34 PM
  #27  
mallettron
New Member
 
mallettron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: sheffield, UK
Posts: 8
Default

If you want video then you cannot go wrong with the Jazz HDV178, small, light, takes 8gb card for 4hrs 720p video and there isnt a problem with the screen as it folds back on itself

Ronnie
mallettron is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 10:38 PM
  #28  
mutleyman
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 5
Default Optio and video

Hi Larry, We dont use the optio for video AP so I dont feel I can comment.
I have not used a W10 either cos I dont think it will take the tiny infra red trigger that we use.
Ronnie and myself went out today to take some rural snow scenery on video and phots. Good video "HD" but the stills are often blurry and dark although we got some reasonable ones (generally only about 10% of the shots are useable).
Temp was about 0C, bright sunshine with a slight breeze. Easystars going up like a rocket in good lift then plummeting in incredible sink. More snow forecast so models put away for another week. I will spend the time to post some of our results. BTW if you use the freeware program FSViewer it displays important and thorough details about the photo and its settings so you can tell what settings the camera used.

Regards

Mutleyman
mutleyman is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 12:51 AM
  #29  
Sparky Paul
Super Contributor
 
Sparky Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,116
Default

For videos, I've found it best to turn the camera on before flight, and off after.
On-off in flight can get out of sequence if you don't pay attention to the switching.
Not having to do that lets you put the plane where you want it, and get the images you want.
Editing the raw footage after.
Or would that be "byteage" ?
Sparky Paul is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:57 AM
  #30  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

I do a lot of flying off water so the Optio W10 would be perfect for me if the quality is decent.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 12:34 PM
  #31  
mallettron
New Member
 
mallettron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: sheffield, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by mutleyman View Post
Hi Larry, We dont use the optio for video AP so I dont feel I can comment.
I have not used a W10 either cos I dont think it will take the tiny infra red trigger that we use.
Ronnie and myself went out today to take some rural snow scenery on video and phots. Good video "HD" but the stills are often blurry and dark although we got some reasonable ones (generally only about 10% of the shots are useable).
Temp was about 0C, bright sunshine with a slight breeze. Easystars going up like a rocket in good lift then plummeting in incredible sink. More snow forecast so models put away for another week. I will spend the time to post some of our results. BTW if you use the freeware program FSViewer it displays important and thorough details about the photo and its settings so you can tell what settings the camera used.

Regards


Mutleyman
I went through the photos and discarded all those that were out of focus or at too much of an angle and got 117 out of 239 (my photos, not mutleymans), Stuart is right they do look dark but we will trt again later on. I made them into a screensaver with FSViewer and added a little music

The program is called FSViewer36 and as Stuart says its very good

Ronnie

Nice weather today Stu, snow or rain (not sure yet) forcast from about 5pm and a couple of days of bad weather coming our way. Keep ur eyes on Roadcast
mallettron is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:05 PM
  #32  
pablo27
Member
 
pablo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK
Posts: 821
Default

I have been keeping a watchful eye over this thread and am still using my Nikon 3700 on an Easy Star. Have you UK guys posted any of your pictures yet and have you any pictures of your camera's mounted on the EZ* ? I am interested to see your set up, as I am using just a velcro strap to hold my camera in the cockpit/canopy area, mounted on soft foam .
pablo27 is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:14 PM
  #33  
mallettron
New Member
 
mallettron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: sheffield, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Here is how I mount mine

Plastic plate with a depron wedge on with velcro stuck to it then a velcro strap goes round the fuz holding the plate on and thats it !

note the diy IR trigger

basic, but at least it works until I sort something else out

Ronnie
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0001.JPG
Views:	129
Size:	223.4 KB
ID:	93106   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0002.JPG
Views:	115
Size:	194.0 KB
ID:	93107   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0003.JPG
Views:	119
Size:	152.3 KB
ID:	93108   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0004.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	93109  
mallettron is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:28 PM
  #34  
pablo27
Member
 
pablo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK
Posts: 821
Default

That's very simple and neat Ronnie .

I had to use soft sponge/foam as I was getting quite a few blurry shots caused by camera shake, though that could have been a prop imbalance or something along those lines. The Optio looks around the same size as my Nikon which also fits neatly in the same position in the cockpit area.

I just use an elastic band to operate the shutter and then just delete off unwanted shots.
pablo27 is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:32 PM
  #35  
mallettron
New Member
 
mallettron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: sheffield, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Ive a 2gb card in my optio 5 so Ive lots of photos, I tend to switch the IR on and leave it on for the flight (I can get over 30mins of shots). So some shots are taken with power on but lots are taken with it off and gliding

Ronnie
mallettron is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 08:35 PM
  #36  
mutleyman
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 5
Default Examples of our ap

Hi all, I have attached a couple of photos that we took before the snowfall.
Optio S5n, Ir trigger, easy star.

woodhouse 1 - 1/125 sec F2.6 iso 100

woodhouse 2 - 1/325 sec F4.3 iso 100

I have reduced in size to post.

We will sort out some more examples soon.

Regards

MUTLEYMAN
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	woodhouse1.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	170.9 KB
ID:	93338   Click image for larger version

Name:	woodhouse2.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	114.5 KB
ID:	93339  
mutleyman is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 12:49 PM
  #37  
Slowjohn
Passed on
 
Slowjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mid Coastal TX.
Posts: 2,100
Default

I'd like to know if there's a cheap (up to about $40 max) new or maybe a used camera that'd be worth using on say a 4' ws Telemaster type of airframe to start out with? I'm thinking that the high winged trainer type of airframe would support the cheaper/heavier cameras & maybe even an older video recorder. I just remembered that I have an unfinished Lainer ST-40 airframe that I've almost completed converting it to a Twin so I'd have plenty of power & wing area to carry the heavier cheap cameras.

Thanks &
Standing By,
SJ
Slowjohn is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:07 PM
  #38  
Sparky Paul
Super Contributor
 
Sparky Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,116
Default

The APX film cameras are a bit smaller than 35mm point-n-shoots, and werk OK.
Triggering the shutter just takes a small servo.
Any of the digital point-n-shoots should be OK, but some are better than others.
I picked up a GE that was cheap, small, and light, but it has focus problems.
Canon, Casio, Olympus all work well.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-01.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	93559   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-02.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	93560   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-03.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	93561   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-04.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	93562   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-05.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	121.6 KB
ID:	93563  

Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-06.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	93564   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-07.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	93565   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-08.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	93566   Click image for larger version

Name:	CameraMouint-09.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	93.5 KB
ID:	93568  
Sparky Paul is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:10 PM
  #39  
Slowjohn
Passed on
 
Slowjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mid Coastal TX.
Posts: 2,100
Default

Thanks a bunch Sparky Paul for the info & all the photos that really helped explain a whole lot!!!

Sure wish that "Thanks" button would reappear as quick as it disappeared.

Standing By,
SJ
Slowjohn is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:39 PM
  #40  
mutleyman
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 5
Default Video mount simplicity itself!!!

Hi all,I said earlier that I would post some more of our efforts.
While I am getting on with that, here are some pictures of the video mount that mallettron and myself use for our easy stars.

Normal canopy cut out to fit camera.
Piece of 1/8 " ply glued in with 1/4 screw to hold camera tight.
Usual canopy fixings with rubber band "insurance" ( also allows a bit of give in unscheduled arrival attempts!).
Im sure Ronnie will add to this post if anything else springs to mind.

The plan is an early session in the morning (0800 BST) then maybe refresh the lipos and out again in the afternoon as that is the weather window for saturday. As all the snow is now melting some of the photos should have the right contrast and if the visibility is good well, we will see.

Thanks

Stuart Mutleyman
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0689.JPG
Views:	114
Size:	200.2 KB
ID:	93584   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0690.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	212.2 KB
ID:	93585   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0691.JPG
Views:	103
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	93586   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0692.JPG
Views:	94
Size:	220.8 KB
ID:	93587   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0693.JPG
Views:	115
Size:	173.7 KB
ID:	93588  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0694.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	144.7 KB
ID:	93589  
mutleyman is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 07:22 AM
  #41  
pablo27
Member
 
pablo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK
Posts: 821
Default

Great idea there Stuart and really simple as you say. Looking forward to seeing some of you footage, your AP shots certainly looked as though you had plenty of altitude .
pablo27 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jeffsend
Aerial Photography
3
09-15-2007 04:26 AM
aviatordave
Aerial Photography
5
01-08-2007 07:43 AM
inconel710
Aerial Photography
3
03-27-2006 12:13 PM
Timm
Aerial Photography
1
10-17-2005 01:49 AM
ap , av , bad , cameras , good

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: AP & AV Cameras -The Good (and Bad)


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.19865 seconds with 35 queries