General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Good plane for wind and grass landings...

Old 11-28-2008, 12:17 AM
shanet1975

Default Good plane for wind and grass landings...

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!
I have been flying my super cub (not the best in any wind conditions) and a tower hobbies 40 trainer nitro for a little bit. I am going to go all electric. The 2 guys I fly with are sticking with nitro as the field we fly at is usually fairly windy and there is kind of short grass to take off and land. I have posted on here a few times and am going to buy the turnigy chatger from hobby city and 3cell 1300 mah (I think) lipos and was going to start with that. I'm looking for a plane or planes that I can fly in some wind and be able to take off and land from grass. Will I have to get into the bigger electrics with the bigger lipos for that?
I am quite new to this whole thing. Would I be better satying nitro? I have quite the hard time tuning them, especially with the 30 degree weather we are having and like the fact that electric is so clean and just plug and go....I was looking at:
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/160522.asp
with
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...3.8_Prop_Combo
but am not sure if that can handle the wind too well and the wheels look awefully small for grass. Any help would be greatly appreciated.....
Old 11-28-2008, 12:23 AM
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan

for grass and wind, you're looking for something that's a belly lander, with little wind resistance.

Something like the Parkzone Stryker would match your requirements rather well.
Old 11-28-2008, 12:32 AM
Mayday!Mayday!

Thats funny, I read the first post and thought.-
When all the other planes are grounded and others are too "iffy" to fly, I get out the stryker and take to the sky.

Second that opinion.
Mega 16/15/4
4 cell 2200 mah 20c
45 amp CC Pheniox
3 amp BEC
HS-81's