3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Best 3D plane manufacturers?

Old 08-11-2013, 05:01 AM
GunnyJeeves

Default Best 3D plane manufacturers?

Hi all,

I am about to grab my first balsa 3D plane...

That's a huge step for me. I have flown foamies over 57" and the usual suspects from Parkzone, as well as Hobby King.

I have a few first picks, but don't really know all the balsa arf players.

Looking at: 40-60" planes
HK Domin8trix - looks awesome. Reviewed as flimsy but fixable with carbon fiber.
3dhs Edge 540 48" version.
Extreme flight 48" Yak 54
Phoenix Edge 540 .46 version...
Great planes Yak 54 41" version, but not liking the assembly.

That's about all the vendors I know...

Where else can I look?
Old 08-11-2013, 05:29 AM
dahawk
Super Contributor

Jetplaneflyer and NJSwede are my go-to guys for 3D. I'm just a rookie when it comes to 3D. Have my patternship Formosa II and a 3DHS 48" Super Vyper. Going to buy an EPP type to practice on.

But I don't think you can go wrong with what you're listing. I'm biased becasue I've had the privledge to meet Ben Fisher and the 3DHS guys. Excellent company and great people. Alot also depends on how well you equip these planes. Omega, Motorfly,Torque etc on the motors and Hitec or Savox on the servos and you're there.

May want to also check in at: http://www.3drcforums.com/forum.php

Good luck !

-Hawk

It's all 3D, all the time.
Old 08-11-2013, 05:36 AM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

Nitro Planes has some nice Planes,

$87.20

http://www.nitroplanes.com/90a283-sb...-kit-blue.html

http://www.nitroplanes.com/3d.html

Old 08-11-2013, 05:38 AM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

http://www.nitroplanes.com/90a283-sb...it-orange.html

$79.20

Old 08-11-2013, 05:41 AM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

http://www.nitroplanes.com/90a297-raven-50-kit.html

$87.20

Old 08-11-2013, 05:48 AM
GunnyJeeves

I saw the Raven.. Forgot about that one.