E-Flite Helicopters Discuss E-Flite helicopters in this forum such as the Blade CX, Blade CX2, Blade CP Pro and all other E-Flite rc helis.

CX-2 Why are my blades damaged?

Old 03-16-2008, 03:53 AM
K CLOSE
Huge Member

Default CX-2 Why are my blades damaged?

Hi fellow Wattheads. I usually hang out in Warbirds, but I'm brand new to helis. My boy started messing around with helis on my old Realflight G-2 and really showed an intrest so I went and bought a CX-2 from my lhs. I'm now learning so I can teach him. My question is this;
I have not "crashed" the thing (nice little bird IMO) but after some flights I land with damaged blades. Didn't hit anything, landed a little hard sometimes but not enough to break the skids or training gear. I looked around but I didn't see any other postings on mysterious blade nicks/chips/cracks (watch there be pages on it that I missed). What gives? Am I doing something wrong?
Old 03-16-2008, 04:00 AM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

sounds like you are hitting the uppers and lowers against each other.

These CX's do not like quick maneuvers. easy on the sticks will keep that from happening.

There is a company out there somewhere, forget the name, that makes a taller shaft to give more spacing between them helping to eliminate that situation.
Old 03-16-2008, 04:05 AM
K CLOSE
Huge Member

Thanks Bill, that makes sense. I am still slapping the sticks about quite often to keep from bangin' into stuff.
Old 03-16-2008, 04:07 AM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

That'll do it!

At least replacement blades aren't too expensive! I buy by the bulk.:o
Old 03-16-2008, 04:54 AM
K CLOSE
Huge Member

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
That'll do it!

At least replacement blades aren't too expensive! I buy by the bulk.:o
Now THATS some solid advise.
Old 03-16-2008, 06:45 AM
Twmaster

Some have recommended putting the inner shaft and upper head from a Dynam Vortex/Orbiter on the CX to reduce blade clacking.