Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

lipo charging

Old 02-21-2006, 09:30 PM
ericthetree

Default lipo charging

I haven't got the time to see if this question has been previously been answered , so here goes, I have a lipo charger with three settings ie: 250- 500- 1000 mah. can i charge my 900 mah lipo at the 1000 mah setting or will it destroy my battery, also can i charge a 2200 mah with this charger. I am new to the electric scene and can use any guidance available thanks in advance!
Old 02-21-2006, 09:58 PM
Unbalanced prop
Watt, No fuel?

Rule of thumb is to charge ar no more the 1 C. I don't think you will hurt the battery by charging it at "slightly" over 1C which you would be doing by charging a 900 mah pack at the 1000 mah setting, as I have done it many time at the field with no problems. Just be sure to keep an eye on the pack while charging. Although, if you are not in a hurry, I would charge it at the 500 mah setting just to take it easy on the pack and be completely safe.

You can also charge the 2200 pack at 1000 mah which would be a little less then .5C charge. It will just take a while to charge. Probably over two hours.

Doug
Old 02-22-2006, 02:54 PM
Matt Kirsch
Super Contributor

Exactly. There's absolutely, positively nothing wrong with charging at LESS than 1C, though I'm not convinced that it's any "easier" on the packs. A charge rate signifigantly higher than 1C can cause the battery's voltage to rise too quickly, and exceed 4.2V per cell. That's where you can get into trouble. The pack won't ignite at 4.21V, but it will catch fire somewhere above 4.21 Volts. Between the fact of not knowing for sure where that point is, and not wanting to encourage people to overcharge their LiPolys by providing an "ignition voltage," I can't provide it here.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:12 PM
RD Blakeslee

Originally Posted by Matt Kirsch View Post