useing a lipo in place of a nicad battery - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

useing a lipo in place of a nicad battery

Old 06-11-2009, 07:40 AM
  #1  
Rhondas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default useing a lipo in place of a nicad battery

Product# JE60 I have this type of ESC, Jetti 60 amp with 2 pot adjustments for brake and speed and a switch, I have used it on my planes with speed 400 and speed 600 can type motors and up to 10 cells Nicad type sub C battery packs ,can I use this ESC with a S3 Lipo 1300Mah battery ?
Rhondas is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 09:44 AM
  #2  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Yes (if S3 means 3S i.e. 11.1V). You can use most ESCs with almost any type of battery, it's the voltage and current they care about not where it comes from.

As usual with old ESCs you'll need to time your flights and be careful not to let the lipo voltage run down too low. You can't rely on the LVC on that ESC to be of any use to you.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:46 PM
  #3  
Rhondas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default lipo for a brushed motor

Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
Yes (if S3 means 3S i.e. 11.1V). You can use most ESCs with almost any type of battery, it's the voltage and current they care about not where it comes from.

As usual with old ESCs you'll need to time your flights and be careful not to let the lipo voltage run down too low. You can't rely on the LVC on that ESC to be of any use to you.

Steve
thanks , also Im told never use a 3S 1300mah with a speed 400.and 5x3 prop,its a darn shame I have all these motors even speed 600's and now that Im going into lips , I cant get away with it.thanks
Rhondas is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:52 PM
  #4  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by Rhondas View Post
thanks , also Im told never use a 3S 1300mah with a speed 400.and 5x3 prop,its a darn shame I have all these motors even speed 600's and now that Im going into lips , I cant get away with it.thanks
I am running an AB3 with a 380 brushed motor for the last 6 months on a 3S 1100 MAH lipo and it is still going strong. You just need to limit the amount of time at WOT to avoid burning up the motor. (Also critical to have good cooling to the motor.)
cbatters is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mtuhoop24
Batteries & Chargers
19
12-09-2015 12:50 AM
jakjr
Field Equipment For Sale & WTB
1
10-19-2007 09:30 PM
diverdon
Batteries & Chargers
3
09-13-2007 03:03 AM
gymnast
Field Equipment For Sale & WTB
4
03-10-2007 02:25 PM
confuqua
Power Systems
10
12-12-2005 11:43 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: useing a lipo in place of a nicad battery


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08224 seconds with 13 queries