Scratchbuilt Foamies - Page 53 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Scratchbuilt Foamies

Old 08-10-2010, 03:12 AM
  #1301  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by Crashalott View Post
Too late Chellie, i already did the maiden last night.

Hand launched it and it looked like it was going up ok.
At about 15ft. in the air she took a hard turn to the right,went into a steep bank and i could not correct.Might have been a stuck servo.
Any way i enjoyed the build.
Bummer, sorry to see your plane go in Ok, Go Make another one Looks like you can save most of it
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 04:07 AM
  #1302  
Octavius
Alien Surfer
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 675
Default

Ouch. I have a brand new .46 powered plane that looks just like that after about 1/10th second of the maiden. It's gonna be a good flier now that I've broken it in.
Octavius is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 06:36 AM
  #1303  
harrys
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Some Useless Geek View Post
Man. I'm glad you have the patience for all those slots and tabs. I hate 'em. Nice plane, though.
If you see i first laser cut the model on a 3/32 ply & then using a vertical hot wire i cut the parts out of depron... very simple cutting the model directly from depron is a headache.. i hate it have done that in past.

Just stick the ply on the depron & cut the depron with the vertical 90degree hot wire.
harrys is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 05:20 PM
  #1304  
Octavius
Alien Surfer
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 675
Default

Why not just laser cut the depron?
Octavius is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 06:17 PM
  #1305  
Crashalott
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Crashalott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rose City,Mi. USA
Posts: 3,797
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Bummer, sorry to see your plane go in Ok, Go Make another one Looks like you can save most of it
Thanks Chellie, i have decided to make something else Though.
Crashalott is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:27 AM
  #1306  
harrys
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Octavius View Post
Why not just laser cut the depron?
Laser cut depron sounds great but what if i have to make 100 yak 55... so i laser cut a template out of a ply & then make 100 yak 55 out of that template & save money... if i have to cut 100 yak 55 from a laser it would cost me a lot....
harrys is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:46 AM
  #1307  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Thumbs up Hot wire Cutter and Depron on Sale

Originally Posted by harrys View Post
Laser cut depron sounds great but what if i have to make 100 yak 55... so i laser cut a template out of a ply & then make 100 yak 55 out of that template & save money... if i have to cut 100 yak 55 from a laser it would cost me a lot....
I saw this on Youtube, nice hot wire cutting table, i think this is what your talking about too, Nice and easy

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ME0WgH-AAdc&feature=related[/media]

BTW i found some 6mm depron on Sale

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57307
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 11:33 AM
  #1308  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

i;ve been thinking about building a hot wire, can anyone lead me to what i need, the only power source i have at the moment would be a extra car battery, or battery charger.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:20 PM
  #1309  
harrys
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
i;ve been thinking about building a hot wire, can anyone lead me to what i need, the only power source i have at the moment would be a extra car battery, or battery charger.
you will need a transformer of atleast 3 to 4 amps... for this job.
harrys is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:09 PM
  #1310  
Some Useless Geek
Just Some Useless Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 81
Default

More current is better. Lots of old PC power supplies can produce enough for cutting. Google [pc power supply bench] to see how to do this.
Some Useless Geek is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:53 PM
  #1311  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

i have a pc power supply, which i used as power supply for my chargers. would i connect this to a 120v light dimmer to adjust temperature? what gauge wire or type of wire would you suggest. Thanks in Advance.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:15 PM
  #1312  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
i;ve been thinking about building a hot wire, can anyone lead me to what i need, the only power source i have at the moment would be a extra car battery, or battery charger.
I am going to build a hot wire cutter too, I have seen a lot of peole use a old train transformer to make a hot wire cutter, you need to use the older vintage transformers, they can take the higher loads, i have this transformer and have seen it suggested for a hot wire cutter.




http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Toy-Trai...efaultDomain_0

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Toy-Trai...efaultDomain_0
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:24 PM
  #1313  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default toy train transformer and hot wire cutter

http://www.vatsaas.org/rtv/construct...ireCutter.aspx




CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 11:38 PM
  #1314  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
i have a pc power supply, which i used as power supply for my chargers. would i connect this to a 120v light dimmer to adjust temperature? what gauge wire or type of wire would you suggest. Thanks in Advance.
PC power supplys may or may not work, because they are very sensitive to power draw, my pc power supply will trip sometimes when hooking up a charger with no load on it, but i can run 3 chargers at the same time, the pc power supply will trip back on in a few mins. a old train transformer IMHO will be the best way to go and its been proven to work.
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:27 AM
  #1315  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

How many watts would you need for the train transformer? i thought about that with the pc supply, when two wires touch it always shorts out and cuts off. so i wasn't too sure of that one. i guess i should create a separate thread for this?
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:41 AM
  #1316  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
How many watts would you need for the train transformer? i thought about that with the pc supply, when two wires touch it always shorts out and cuts off. so i wasn't too sure of that one. i guess i should create a separate thread for this?
That would be a good idea to make a seperate thread so we dont hijack this one to much
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:14 PM
  #1317  
Some Useless Geek
Just Some Useless Geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 81
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
i have a pc power supply, which i used as power supply for my chargers. would i connect this to a 120v light dimmer to adjust temperature?
No! No! That power supply is a "switchmode" power source. It is supposed to operate over a wide range of input AC voltage and produce a regulated output voltage. If you drop too low it will do all sorts of phunky things.

Also, lamp dimmers are "pulse width modulation" control devices. They work by cutting off part of the line voltage sine wave. This is Very Not Good for most electronic devices. Incandescent lamps are integrating devices, so they work well with this treatment.

As others here and elsewhere have said, you need a variable low voltage power source to feed your foam cutter. You can hunt around on Ebay or elsewhere on the web to find such things. Surplus electronics places like All Electronics (www.allelectronics.com) usually have something like that. Be sure you get something capable of several amps of current so that you can have the heat you need.

(Sorry, Chellie. Had to make sure that one didn't get away.)
Some Useless Geek is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:33 PM
  #1318  
AirmanAirhead
Did that tree move??
 
AirmanAirhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 590
Default 75% Mono Block Polaris

Here's an idea I wanted to try. A solid foam fuselage Polaris so that leaks between the seams would be eliminated.

and a video of early flight without all the paint!
http://www.youtube.com/user/CaptGroo.../0/F3rNm_wDwsA
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	0731100829b.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	133572   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP8806.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	142.6 KB
ID:	133573   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP8810.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	112.1 KB
ID:	133574  
AirmanAirhead is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:04 PM
  #1319  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

Originally Posted by Some Useless Geek View Post
No! No! That power supply is a "switchmode" power source. It is supposed to operate over a wide range of input AC voltage and produce a regulated output voltage. If you drop too low it will do all sorts of phunky things.

Also, lamp dimmers are "pulse width modulation" control devices. They work by cutting off part of the line voltage sine wave. This is Very Not Good for most electronic devices. Incandescent lamps are integrating devices, so they work well with this treatment.

As others here and elsewhere have said, you need a variable low voltage power source to feed your foam cutter. You can hunt around on Ebay or elsewhere on the web to find such things. Surplus electronics places like All Electronics (www.allelectronics.com) usually have something like that. Be sure you get something capable of several amps of current so that you can have the heat you need.

(Sorry, Chellie. Had to make sure that one didn't get away.)
It's ok, i picked up those train transformers that chellie added to the post from ebay, and also 2 more, i've got 4 on the way, if the first hot wire work's out i"ll make some more and post them for sale up here on wattflyer. assuming i have the time.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 04:44 AM
  #1320  
Wisc-BK
Watch this........:-(
 
Wisc-BK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ripon Wisconsin
Posts: 113
Default

Couldn't resist building the Fokker after seeing the build thread at
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=425387

I finally finished it after about a month of on and off working
on it, mainly due to the log home needing staining. It surprised me by
being right on recommended CG, 1 inch behind the middle wing. AUW came
in at 22oz.

The motor happens to be the exact one recommended by the designer
in the build thread, it was on my, ah..... damaged Bleriot II , the
battery is a 1350mah 3s, the Rx is a Spectrum AR6200,
and the servos and prop are from HeadsUp RC. Oh and my first
paint job with an airbrush !

No maiden flight yet, waiting for a nice calm cooler day when my
flying buddy can also come over and take pictures before and during
the maiden, just in case !!

Bob
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_8271.JPG
Views:	161
Size:	109.6 KB
ID:	133786  
Wisc-BK is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:22 AM
  #1321  
ArneH
Balsa Builder
 
ArneH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Baerum Norway
Posts: 303
Default

Congratulation with a fine Triplane! What is the wingspan?
ArneH is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 11:48 AM
  #1322  
Crashalott
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Crashalott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rose City,Mi. USA
Posts: 3,797
Default

Nice looking Tripe,when is the maiden?
Crash
Crashalott is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 04:52 PM
  #1323  
Wisc-BK
Watch this........:-(
 
Wisc-BK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ripon Wisconsin
Posts: 113
Default

The wing span ( upper wing ) is 36.5 inches. The maiden time is not known
yet, thats up to the weather here, but I will post the results when the time
comes. Have to see "Warbirds Over The Midwest" this weekend, so that
will delay any activity.

The website for the Warbirds is : http://www.midwestwarbirds.com/

Bob
Wisc-BK is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:21 AM
  #1324  
Wisc-BK
Watch this........:-(
 
Wisc-BK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ripon Wisconsin
Posts: 113
Default

The Baron now has guns to protect himself...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_8281.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	133805  
Wisc-BK is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 12:46 PM
  #1325  
Crashalott
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Crashalott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rose City,Mi. USA
Posts: 3,797
Default

I thought i needed a spare Infineon, so here it is.

Did the maiden yesterday eve and a second flight this morning.
Got her flying really well.
Cheers
Crashalott is offline  

Quick Reply: Scratchbuilt Foamies


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16426 seconds with 18 queries