Marry 4 channel transmitters to new planes ? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Marry 4 channel transmitters to new planes ?

Old 06-13-2011, 04:23 AM
  #1  
tjmckinnon
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Marry 4 channel transmitters to new planes ?

Greetings all,
I have searched for some time to find details on how to " marry" a new or existing transmitter to an existing or different plane. Our hobby store source 50 miles from our village doesn't know either (?). . . Is there a place where I can find this please. ( new comer ). . .

I'm sure the question is almost a joke to experienced people but a puzzle for this old fella '

thanks in advance. ( incidently, the Catalina's I received help and advice about flew beautifully until third flight and for some reason in flight both motors shorted out with enough heat to melt the foam engine covers. A big crash and demolished. . . .can't figure out that one either but will suffer the loss. ) ( smiles again ).

Terry
.
tjmckinnon is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 04:38 AM
  #2  
Nieuport Fly Guy
Member
 
Nieuport Fly Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 334
Default

Terry...I am just a newby that went a little crazy buying multiple planes....each with its own transmitter and receiver. I then read posts in this forum talking about Hobby King...so I strted looking at that sight...and found this....

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11965

So I ordered one of these Spektrum receivers to see if I could consolidate my transmitters to one ( my Spektrum). Just got this Saturday and unplugged the connections from my Dynam Hawk Sky...pressed in the left control on my transmitter (to bind)...and it worked! So I ordered more! That way I can fly with one controller multiple planes. ( I have on order a Spektrum dx6i which will work too). Hope that helps! Alan
Nieuport Fly Guy is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:14 AM
  #3  
Insomniac
Member
 
Insomniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 649
Default

If your transmitter is one of the older FM ones (long telescopic antenna), you won't be able to pair it with a new reciever unless that reciever is on the same frequency and channel. If it's on the right frequency, then there's nothing more to do, provided that they are using the same 'standard' signal, the reciever should respond.

If you have a newer 2.4ghz radio (short antenna), you will have to 'bind' new recievers. Only recievers using the same 2.4ghz system will bind to your transmitter, and the process is different for different brands. Try and figure out exactly what radio and reciever you're using, it'll help us figure out what to do.
Insomniac is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 09:07 AM
  #4  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Originally Posted by tjmckinnon View Post
I have searched for some time to find details on how to " marry" a new or existing transmitter to an existing or different plane. Our hobby store source 50 miles from our village doesn't know either (?). . . Is there a place where I can find this please. ( new comer ).
Unfortunately there are no simple general answers. It will depend critically on exactly what type of existing transmitter you are trying to use and what type of plane/receiver you are trying to use it with. Some things are completely incompatible, others may just need a simple tweak, yet others may work immediately.

Like a lot of things in this hobby it's much easier to get answers to specific questions so if you say what type of equipment you are trying to connect I'm sure someone can help.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:25 AM
  #5  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Cool

Originally Posted by tjmckinnon View Post
Greetings all,
I have searched for some time to find details on how to " marry" a new or existing transmitter to an existing or different plane. Our hobby store source 50 miles from our village doesn't know either (?). . . Is there a place where I can find this please. ( new comer ). . .

I'm sure the question is almost a joke to experienced people but a puzzle for this old fella '

thanks in advance. ( incidently, the Catalina's I received help and advice about flew beautifully until third flight and for some reason in flight both motors shorted out with enough heat to melt the foam engine covers. A big crash and demolished. . . .can't figure out that one either but will suffer the loss. ) ( smiles again ).

Terry
.
It is critical that we know what radio and what receiver.

If it is 72 MHz, or 27 MHz the answer is different than if it is 2.4 GHz. And brand and model of radio/receiver can be important.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 06:14 AM
  #6  
tjmckinnon
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Thanks

Hello everyone - - still struggling to understand how to respond and thank. If this doesn't get to all that answered my requestt on transmitter, let this note blanket a thanks to all of you.
Best regards,
Terry
tjmckinnon is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 06:39 AM
  #7  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

One does not connect a radio to a plane. One connects a radio to a receiver. The receiver gets the signals and tells the servos what to do.

Without knowing about what radio, receiver you have we can't tell you how to link them. And it is different depending on brand and frequency of the radio system.

Why won't you tell use more about the radio, plane, receiver, components you have?
AEAJR is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
terrynshed
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
5
03-22-2019 01:37 PM
FlyWheel
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
12
05-08-2011 06:20 PM
wattman
WWI Era
4
03-31-2011 04:12 PM
Zapper2003
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
2
03-04-2011 09:49 PM
Fangar
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
6
01-19-2011 02:04 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Marry 4 channel transmitters to new planes ?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10048 seconds with 15 queries