Help please! - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Help please!

Old 04-30-2012, 02:13 AM
  #1  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default Help please!

Hey there! I have a BlitzRC works 63" Trainer I got from Banana Hobby. This is my first plane.
I got a brand new Spektrum AR600 Receiver and got it all wired up.
Went through and checked that everything worked good and it was all good.
Went back later and plugged it back in and the ESC Unit started smoking and when I hit the throttle it sounded like it has rocks in it. The motor spins by hand freely with no binding.
I have the wiring set up as follows:
Used Y connector on Batt/throttle and put them to The thro channel, all the rest are to the channels they call for. Aux 1 is Lights. I used a couple of Y connectors for length and to hook up the doors to same channel as well as the Ailerons, Flaps, and Elevator.
All of the connections look good to me Black to Black white to white red to red etc.
Is this the ESC? Motor?
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:35 AM
  #2  
Wrongway-Feldman
Member
 
Wrongway-Feldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Govan, Saskatchewan
Posts: 936
Default

I'm a little confused when you say you used a Y connecter to hook up to the battery and throttle port.
Are you saying that you have hooked the esc to both the bat and throttle port at the same time?
Wrongway-Feldman is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:53 AM
  #3  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default

Yeah Im using the AR600 Receiver which is 6 channel and thats what the instructions called for. is that not right?

I have the Bat and throttle going to the Throttle channel
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:53 AM
  #4  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default

let me grab a pic quick
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:54 AM
  #5  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...eiver-SPMAR600
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 03:12 AM
  #6  
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,404
Default

No that is not right.

The battery plugs into the ESC
The ESC connects to the motor with the three colored wires.
The ESC also connects to the receiver in the Throttle position.

What happens is the receiver takes the signal from the Transmitter, and passes it
on to the ESC which controles the motor.

You should NOT be connecting the battery to BOTH the ESC and the Receiver.

I hope you didn't burn something up.

That "batt" plug on the receiver is where you would plug the battery pack in
if you weren't flying electric. Then there would be an actual motor servo connected
to the throttle plug instead of the ESC and you would be plugging in a 4.8 volt
battery pack to power the receiver and servos.
Heli Jim is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:12 AM
  #7  
NFA Fabrication
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Default

In simpler terms, your Receiver and servo's are automatically powered off of your ESC. Your ESC has a built in BEC (Battery eliminator circuit), and it powers everything off of your main battery automatically. Powering the receiver directly is only needed in Nitro/gas planes where there is no "Flight battery" or ESC.
NFA Fabrication is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:42 AM
  #8  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Uawflyer View Post
Yeah Im using the AR600 Receiver which is 6 channel and thats what the instructions called for. is that not right?

I have the Bat and throttle going to the Throttle channel
How many cells in your models motor battery? If your receiver motor battery was also plugged directly to the receiver battery input with a "Y" connector, you might be in for bad news.

These receivers AND the servos connected to the receivers operate on 5-6 Volts DC. You go much over that value, and the receiver, and especially the servos may have been damaged.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:44 PM
  #9  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default

So to be clear I need to plug the ESC right into the thor channel and then use the other lead out of the ESC to connect the Throttle wire to. Not into the receiver.
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:50 PM
  #10  
Wrongway-Feldman
Member
 
Wrongway-Feldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Govan, Saskatchewan
Posts: 936
Default

Originally Posted by Uawflyer View Post
So to be clear I need to plug the ESC right into the thor channel and then use the other lead out of the ESC to connect the Throttle wire to. Not into the receiver.
The thing is, unless you have a glow powered plane, there shouldnt be a throttle wire.

Lets start at the beginning.
Working backwards from the receiver.

Connect the small three wire plug from the esc to the throttle port on the receiver.

The three loose thicker wires are attached to the motor.

Then the remaining plug is used to attach to the battery.

There should be no other wires left after that.
Wrongway-Feldman is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:25 PM
  #11  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default

I will have to look at it again when I get home. The receiver I have does not have a batt connection on it. It's Thor, alie,Rudd, ele, gear, and aux 1
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:08 PM
  #12  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Joe,

Listen to Wrongway here. There is no battery connection to the receiver !

Y-connectors are used to merge two servo leads into one connection. Example: the two servo leads coming from your alierons connect into a y-connector to form a single lead. This single lead then plugs into channel 1 on your RX( at least if it's Futaba) Check your manual. Channel 3 is always throttle.

The Receiver(RX) communicates to the Transmitter(TX) through channels 1( aileron) 2( elevator) 3( throttle) 4 (rudder). If it's a 6 channel receiver, channels 5& 6 are reserved for flaps, retracts, lights, etc.

So again, the lead coming from the esc that looks like a servo lead, gets plugged-in to channel 3- THROTTLE. One lead , no more.

Then, there should be a a pair of heavier gauged wires connected together with a male connector. Could be a Deans style or EC3 or XT-60. This gets connected to the matching female connector on your lipo battery. But don't go plugging it in just yet. Get to that in a minute.

On the other end of the esc, there should be 3 wires. Might have different colors but don't worry about the color scheme. At the end of these 3 wires are are metal plug connectors. Probably have some shrink tube around the ends. They get plugged into the corresponding 3 leads coming from your motor.

Okay, for your safety, here's the protocol: Always, turn on the Transmitter (TX) first. Make sure you're on the correct model. Make sure that your throttle stick(left one) is in full down position. Then, plug the female battery connector into the male esc connector. You'll here a series of beeps. If it doesn't beep at all, you may have the wires to the receiver backwards.

For testing, I always remove the prop. Saw a plane jump off a table at our field last year and almost hit somebody. Next, make sure the motor is turning in the proper direction. Looking from the front, it should be rotating counter-clockwise(left). If not correct, go to the esc to motor plugs and change any two(2). Doesn't matter which ones.

Next, check servo directions. Looking from the back of the plane forward, when you move your right stick to the left, the left aileron should raise and the right aileron should lower. When you move the right stick forward, the elevator should go down and vice a versa when you pull it towards you.

The rudder on the left stick should be self-explanatory.

Good luck and be safe !

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:11 PM
  #13  
Uawflyer
UawFlyer
Thread Starter
 
Uawflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lansing Mi.
Posts: 15
Default Help please!

You guys rock!!! I'll take a look when I get home!!! Thanks so much!
Uawflyer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:26 PM
  #14  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Uawflyer View Post
You guys rock!!! I'll take a look when I get home!!! Thanks so much!
Yeah, listen to DaHawk!

Take the prop off the motor when selecting servo directions on your transmitter, or doing any other type of adjustments.

If, when you're selecting servo directions on your elevator/rudder/ailerons, you accidentally change the servo direction for the motor, you have instant full power to the motor. Catching your fingers in the prop of even a very small motor can do serious damage.

(Yeah, I did that once on a 3000 watt model while working on it in my workshop. Scared the heck out of me. Was really glad the prop was laying on the workbench at the time. If that prop had been on the motor at the time? Don't even want to think about it.)
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:08 PM
  #15  
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Question

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Yeah, listen to DaHawk!

If, when you're selecting servo directions on your elevator/rudder/ailerons, you accidentally change the servo direction for the motor, you have instant full power to the motor.

Total newb question here: Where do you select the servo directions for your elevator/rudder/ailerons?

I ask because I'm building a Funcub with flaps and have read that I need to reverse one of them so they both go the same way. I've read you can physically reverse one or do it electrically by adding a circuit board.

Can they be reversed in my radio (dx6i)? Or in the receiver itself spektrum (Spektrum AR6115e)?

Thanks for any info you can shine on this.
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:34 PM
  #16  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Originally Posted by Uawflyer View Post
You guys rock!!! I'll take a look when I get home!!! Thanks so much!
You're very welcome !

Really it's the folks(gurus) like Denny, Wrongway, NFA, Chellie, AEAJR, Solentlife,crxmanpat,gramps2161,crashalott, rcers, and many more that helped me get started in the right way. You'll see these names a lot. They're all trying to help. This "giving back " helps this hobby grow and prosper.

So, I just try to relate what I've learned here and on the field, (in some cases, the hard way) such that others can benefit like I have and enjoy the hobby as much as I do.

Never feel like there is a dumb question. We all start learning to crawl before we walk, etc. I had a gazillion questions in the beginning and more arise everyday. Sometimes I feel like an apprentice in a combination aeronautical engineering, electrical engineering, flight school and mechanics program. Okay, I understand Watts=volts x amps. But what size ESC do I need for a 2200kv motor using a 2200 mah 4s 30 C battery and 7 x 5 prop ? LOL Just kidding.

Lots to learn if you want to or just go out and fly...

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:53 PM
  #17  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Originally Posted by WayfaringDreamer View Post
Total newb question here: Where do you select the servo directions for your elevator/rudder/ailerons?

I ask because I'm building a Funcub with flaps and have read that I need to reverse one of them so they both go the same way. I've read you can physically reverse one or do it electrically by adding a circuit board.

Can they be reversed in my radio (dx6i)? Or in the receiver itself spektrum (Spektrum AR6115e)?

Thanks for any info you can shine on this.
I'll try to help cause I just went through this myself. For the elevator, the servo's either need to be physically reversed or if you don't mind the looks, you can flip one of the servo arms around 180 degrees.

Not familiar with Spektrum. Denny can answer better but on the flaps, you can't simply flip the servo arm 180 deg. so you have to physically mount them in the same orientation, outboard/outboard or inboard/inboard. At least that's how my Cessna works.

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:46 PM
  #18  
NFA Fabrication
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Default

This may also be of assistance:



The receiver and servo's are powered through the lead labeled "To Receiver" from your ESC. The only thing the battery should be connected to is the "To Battery" Leads.
NFA Fabrication is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:22 PM
  #19  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by WayfaringDreamer View Post
Total newb question here: Where do you select the servo directions for your elevator/rudder/ailerons?

I ask because I'm building a Funcub with flaps and have read that I need to reverse one of them so they both go the same way. I've read you can physically reverse one or do it electrically by adding a circuit board.

Can they be reversed in my radio (dx6i)? Or in the receiver itself spektrum (Spektrum AR6115e)?

Thanks for any info you can shine on this.
I've got a DX7 that has a whole bunch of mixes available. Mixes 5 and 6 are designed for the flap functions or similar type applications. This allows you to use two servo channels, mix them together, and have one reversed. It's all done in the transmitter.

I've got a giant Big Stick with two servos on the elevator, one reversed, and two servos on the flaps, one also reversed. Then the ailerons, one servo each, "Y" connected, and rudder. Finally throttle, which used up all available channels.

Don't know about the DX6i capabilities, you'd need to go through the DX6i manual and find out what type of mixes it has available.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:34 AM
  #20  
Wrongway-Feldman
Member
 
Wrongway-Feldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Govan, Saskatchewan
Posts: 936
Default

Originally Posted by WayfaringDreamer View Post
Total newb question here: Where do you select the servo directions for your elevator/rudder/ailerons?

I ask because I'm building a Funcub with flaps and have read that I need to reverse one of them so they both go the same way. I've read you can physically reverse one or do it electrically by adding a circuit board.

Can they be reversed in my radio (dx6i)? Or in the receiver itself spektrum (Spektrum AR6115e)?

Thanks for any info you can shine on this.
The easiest way is to place your servo's in mirror image to eachother on the wing and physical removing one servo arm and placing it the other way around.
That way all you need is a standard Y connector for your aileron leads and don't have to worry about a servo reverser or mixing on the transmitter.
Wrongway-Feldman is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:41 AM
  #21  
Big Johnny
Master Of The Crash
 
Big Johnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vass, North Carolina
Posts: 955
Default

On flaps without mixing or a servo reverser, the servos have to indexed so both output shafts are pointed the same direction on the same centerline or they won't opperate with the same travel and will cause a roll.
Big Johnny is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:38 AM
  #22  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Big Johnny View Post
On flaps without mixing or a servo reverser, the servos have to indexed so both output shafts are pointed the same direction on the same centerline or they won't opperate with the same travel and will cause a roll.
Yup
I tried that on one of my giant electric models. Found out that there was no hard point on one of the two flaps to mount the control horn when the servo pushrod was off set!!
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:50 AM
  #23  
zafarrao
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Problem of arming "EMax 18 amp brushless ESC"

kindly help me out my "EMax 18 amp ESC" was working absolutely fine yesterday but today it is not even arming no beep at all...only red led permanent glowing on it...any idea what it indicates? i have tried many times but no success
zafarrao is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:42 PM
  #24  
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks so much for the responses to my question about reversing the servos. I like the idea of mixing in the tx. I need to check to see if the DX6i will do that.

Maybe this is the excuse I need to upgrade.
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 03:25 PM
  #25  
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Default

Synchronicity, last night I got the latest Airplane Model News which has an article on running dual servos.

I found out that my dx6i can do the mixing so I'm going to follow Kyle's advice.

I have a 6 channel tx and rx, I'm going to put the two flap servos on separate channels, mix them to the flap switch and reverse one so they move in the same direction.

This was the same advice given to me by one of the guys at the club field last night as well!
WayfaringDreamer is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.13933 seconds with 9 queries