General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Motor won't run.

Old 04-24-2015, 12:11 AM
  #1  
jpeggy
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default Motor won't run.

Okay I'm new to this I have a TTX650 Tactic transmitter linked to a TR624 RX when I turn everything on the elevator and rudder operate but the motor won't run. I have the motor in channel three and the rudder and elevator in 1 and 2.
jpeggy is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 12:25 AM
  #2  
birdDog
Charging....
 
birdDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Too close to Chicago.
Posts: 2,433
Default

Throttle lead plugged in backwards?
birdDog is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 12:43 AM
  #3  
jpeggy
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Nope rud elev throttle all the same rud and elev work
jpeggy is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 12:51 AM
  #4  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Beep codes from the ESC continue? That could mean throttle reverse or inadequate throttle range.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 04:24 AM
  #5  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

I know on my Spektrum DX9 I sometimes have to move the throttle trim all the way down for the esc to see the end point
dahawk is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 05:56 AM
  #6  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

I've got one ESC that I had to move the low endpoint to 150% in order to arm... prop doesn't turn until stick is centered. Something's wrong with its auto range detection. Hasn't been annoying enough to replace it, but there are many radios that simply wouldn't be able to have the throttle go low enough to arm it.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 06:25 AM
  #7  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Sounds like not arming ESC as others mention.

Some ESC's need not only throttle stick range but trim as well - Red Brick ESC's are notorious for this.

If the beeps on start up are not sounding of the cell count - then its not armed properly, also throttle range will need setting since arming is obtained.

First thing to try is 'reverse' throttle ..... quite often the case.

Nigel
solentlife is online now  
Old 04-24-2015, 09:14 AM
  #8  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Caution: Remove the prop until you figure it out and then rebind with throttle at 0
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 05:46 PM
  #9  
Rodneh
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 753
Default

You do know that on the Tactic and Futaba, you must have the channel for the throttle set to reverse to have the throttle operate in the proper direction, i.e. low throttle with the stick down and high throttle with stick up (and throttle trim fully down).?
Rodneh is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 06:47 PM
  #10  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Originally Posted by Rodneh View Post
You do know that on the Tactic and Futaba, you must have the channel for the throttle set to reverse to have the throttle operate in the proper direction, i.e. low throttle with the stick down and high throttle with stick up (and throttle trim fully down).?
Not trying to be smart ... just commenting ... its debatable which is reversed ... JR or Futaba format ? Trouble is many radios follow one or the other ... same with the daft charger plug ... JR -ve pin, Futaba +ve pin ...

Nigel
solentlife is online now  
Old 04-24-2015, 06:50 PM
  #11  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

And... some ESCs (Electrifly for sure) you DO NOT reverse the throttle channel of Futaba radio. Because they expect the Futaba default. There have been others but I don't have a list.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:11 PM
  #12  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
And... some ESCs (Electrifly for sure) you DO NOT reverse the throttle channel of Futaba radio. Because they expect the Futaba default. There have been others but I don't have a list.
Yep - I have odd ESC's that are like that ...

Nigel
solentlife is online now  
Old 04-25-2015, 02:49 PM
  #13  
jpeggy
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Got it running now had to reverse throttle and arm esc had to reverse all servos. How to turn off the throttle brake?
jpeggy is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 03:12 PM
  #14  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Originally Posted by jpeggy View Post
How to turn off the throttle brake?
In the ESC programming. You usually enter ESC programming menu putting the Tx to full throttle then plugging in the flight battery (it should not start but remove prop first).

Exactly how you disable the brake varies according the ESC brand, you really need the manual but most times it's the first set of beeps you hear. When you hear them close the throttle and that most likely will do it, but better off read the manual..
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 05:11 PM
  #15  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

What brand ESC ? Once we know that - we can advise either programming card or use of throttle stick to program it.

Nigel
solentlife is online now  
Old 04-25-2015, 05:16 PM
  #16  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Programming differs with ESC maker. Some put brake as first option, some put timing and some put LVC first. (and there could be more as there are more options)

Usually brake is off by default.

You need the manual to know what to do to program the ESC using beep codes.

Its much easier to use a programmer card if you have one. These are usually cheap, but again different makers need different cards and some of them have changed the card needed over the years with old cards not working for new ESCs and new cards not working for old ESCs.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 08:11 PM
  #17  
jpeggy
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

I have the RX/R Electro stick. It has a Electrifly SS45 esc. The throttle brake is on I will try some of the comments. Thanks for all the input.
jpeggy is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 09:31 PM
  #18  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Originally Posted by jpeggy View Post
I have the RX/R Electro stick. It has a Electrifly SS45 esc. The throttle brake is on I will try some of the comments. Thanks for all the input.
I just googled your ESC and it immediately popped up lots of sites with the manual ...

Here's a direct download of the PDF file :

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...JhNDczYTVhYzIz

and attached :

Nigel
Attached Files
solentlife is online now  
Old 04-25-2015, 10:07 PM
  #19  
jpeggy
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Hey thanks so much I printed off the manual , had the answers I was looking for. Great help here I really appreciate it.
jpeggy is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 10:54 PM
  #20  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,636
Default

Personally I like the brake on.
I fly gliders and wings etc but find all my planes (including scale) glide a lot better if the motor is braked.
Only thing I don't have brakes on is the quads.
Panther is offline  
Old 04-25-2015, 11:08 PM
  #21  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Brake going on suddenly from high power (slapping the stick from full to 0) can cause the prop nut to unscrew.

The prop will give less drag stopped than windmilling, but sometimes you want the drag so learn where to put the stick for 0 power brake off.

If you don't do much gliding then its usually better to leave brake off. For a heli you definitely want brake off.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 06:02 AM
  #22  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,636
Default

Well in over 50 years I have never had a prop nut come loose let alone on an electric.
Maybe I tighten them properly.
Panther is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 07:50 AM
  #23  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Originally Posted by Panther View Post
Well in over 50 years I have never had a prop nut come loose let alone on an electric.
Maybe I tighten them properly.
I've had it come loose on pushers, brake-on, it can happen.

I've even had a normal adaptor fly of with prop, where nut tightened - all felt good, but thread had a problem and it was gripping enough for me to pull and check - but once in use .... couple flights on ....

Nigel
solentlife is online now  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
fpveric
Power Systems
31
12-02-2013 07:08 PM
CDTheo
Power Systems
6
07-10-2013 05:28 PM
paul8
General Electric Discussions
9
03-20-2012 04:48 PM
iflyrc1012
Power Systems
32
07-06-2011 12:43 PM
CHELLIE
Humor
17
04-24-2011 09:52 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Motor won't run.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11274 seconds with 17 queries