Go Back  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

My first RC plane. Dynam Albatros DVA, fail takeoff attempts.

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

My first RC plane. Dynam Albatros DVA, fail takeoff attempts.

Old 11-12-2015, 01:48 PM
  #1  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default My first RC plane. Dynam Albatros DVA, fail takeoff attempts.

So I recently got my Dynam Albatros DVA. Problem is for a whole week I letterly FAILED to get 1Inch above the ground. whenever i throttle up and the plane reaches a speed when it should take off it fall on its nose instead. I triad putting the battery back as far as I could. it still falls on its nose.
Also I noticed that the Ailerons do not go up or down when i move stick up/down but when i move them right/left they move.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:05 PM
  #2  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

First of all ... This is DEFINITELY NOT A FIRST model to have.

You really should go for a Trainer model with High Wing ....

OK ...

whenever i throttle up and the plane reaches a speed when it should take off it fall on its nose instead.
Well ... it sounds like you may not understand Elevator correctly ... common fault in first-timers ...

UP elevator (to climb) ... you PULL STICK BACK making Elevators move UP
DOWN elevator (to dive) ... you PUSH STICK FORWARD making Elevators move DOWN

I dare say you may be PUSHING stick instead of PULLING.

Second ...

Also I noticed that the Ailerons do not go up or down when i move stick up/down but when i move them right/left they move.
Correct ... they produce BANK or ROLL so when you move stick from side to side that is what they should do.

Looking at REAR of model and forward ... if you move stick to LEFT .. the RIGHT aileron goes down, LEFT aileron goes up. Move stick to RIGHT .. the RIGHT aileron goes up, the LEFT aileron goes down.

But really honest ... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE put this model aside for later ... this is not even a model suitable as an Intermediate second ... this is an advanced model that needs experienced hands on.

Go get yourself a proper Trainer model ...

Best is to find a local Club or Group of Flyers ... join them and get all the help and camaraderie possible. There is always a guy who loves to help new people ... they will give you more than we can ever on the forums ... he will likely get you in the air and help you learn ... and then one day that Albatross will grace the skies as it should.

PLEASE don't try to fly it before learning the skills ...

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:07 PM
  #3  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,747
Default

Not sure I understand what you are saying.

The ailerons should NOT go up and down with your elevator stick movement, the elevator should. Also the elevator should not move up and down when moving the stick sided to side only. If your elevator and ailerons do not operate correctly with the proper stick movements it may be in the radio setup or not connected to the receiver properly.

edit... Nigel beat me to it with a lot more info. Good post Nigel.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:10 PM
  #4  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
So I recently got my Dynam Albatros DVA. Problem is for a whole week I letterly FAILED to get 1Inch above the ground. whenever i throttle up and the plane reaches a speed when it should take off it fall on its nose instead.
Also I noticed that the Ailerons do not go up or down when i move stick up/down but when i move them right/left they move.
...and this plane is still in one piece?

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
I triad putting the battery back as far as I could. it still falls on its nose.
If you had managed to get it in the air it probably wouldn't have been up for long.
You need to place the battery where it will get the plane's center of gravity in the correct spot (as listed in the instructions/specs).
A nose-heavy plane flies poorly. A tail-heavy plane often only flies once.

As suggested, get yourself a beginner 3-channel high-wing plane and learn the basics before attempting to fly this plane again and let a pro. fly it and get it set up and trimmed properly.
Brian VT is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:13 PM
  #5  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Smile

Thanks, this the first advice I got until now. problem is there is no local rc hobby store, and no local rc club. infact, im sure im the only one who got an rc plane in the entire province! is there an "online" rc club? Or a chattroom or any of this kind? That would be really helpful. I triad flying using couple of simulators, I crashed alot at the beginning but I got used to it in the end. the albatros was the only mode availble to me so i bought it and waited for 2 months to get it! cost me a fortune as well. is it really that much harder than a trainer? do you recommend i buy another plane and keep this one on the shelf at the moment?
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:15 PM
  #6  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
...and this plane is still in one piece?


If you had managed to get it in the air it probably wouldn't have been up for long.
You need to place the battery where it will get the plane's center of gravity in the correct spot (as listed in the instructions/specs.
A nose-heavy plane flies poorly. A tail-heavy plane often only flies once.
because it failed to fly yes, minor scratches on the edges occured while transporting. dust on it (im in a kind of a desert area) and spinner took all the damage but it shows no scratches. im kind of glad it failed to fly now..should it had been tail heavy or flew before i figured what trimming was, ..
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:17 PM
  #7  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Not sure I understand what you are saying.

The ailerons should NOT go up and down with your elevator stick movement, the elevator should. Also the elevator should not move up and down when moving the stick sided to side only. If your elevator and ailerons do not operate correctly with the proper stick movements it may be in the radio setup or not connected to the receiver properly.

edit... Nigel beat me to it with a lot more info. Good post Nigel.
Sorry, it seems that i misunderstood what ailerons are. I think what I meant was the Elevator. I will post a reply with a video soon showing what I am talking about. (about 1min long)
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:20 PM
  #8  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Yes. Put this plane away for a long time. If you get it flying you will likely destroy it.
Brian VT is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:24 PM
  #9  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

I would recommend you start with something like a Hobbyzone Champ or an Ares Gamma 370. Then upgrade the Gamma 370 to the Pro (add ailerons and more powerful motor).
After you master a high-wing trainer with ailerons you MIGHT be ready to try the Albatross.
Brian VT is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:25 PM
  #10  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,747
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
Sorry, it seems that i misunderstood what ailerons are. I think what I meant was the Elevator. I will post a reply with a video soon showing what I am talking about. (about 1min long)
Yeah so if your elevator is not moving up and down with stick movement you either have it plugged into the wrong channel on the Reciever, a bad servo, or the radio set up wrong.

Whatever the issue is do not try to fly it again until that is resolved, and like Nigel said, if this is your first plane put it away and get a suitable trainer until you learn how to fly properly. This is not a beginner type plane.

And welcome to Wattflyer! As far as online clubs/chatrooms you have found it. Lot's of helpful folks here if you will take and heed their advice you will get lots of help.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:28 PM
  #11  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Where are you located ?

Someone on here may be able to help with locating a Club or such.

Honestly ... Please put this model on the shelf till later.

If you go to a site such as Hobby King ... there are various more suitable models to learn to fly with ...



http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...05mm_PNF_.html

Would be a much better modell for you ... with still a sort of real look about it.

Here's another if you want to go foam and easy to set-up ..



http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...otor_ARF_.html

If there really isn't any Club or group for you then we need to know what you have / understand / want to do ..

Can you tell us what MODE the radio is ? I understand that question is not so easy but your answer can help us a lot ...

Does it have THROTTLE on LEFT stick ?

Does it have RUDDER on LEFT stick ?

If so then its MODE 2 ... the simplest easiest set-up to fly.

If it has ELEVATOR on LEFT stick and THROTTLE on RIGHT stick ... then its MODE 1 .. not so easy to fly ... but more precise in aerobatics (a subject for much much later !).

Please describe what happens in detail on the model when you move each stick in each of the directions it can ...

Please let us know what Radio brand you are using.

Please let us know what charger and battery packs you have to fly this model.

...................

I know .. its all a lot ... but with that we can start to try and help.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:38 PM
  #12  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
because it failed to fly yes, minor scratches on the edges occured while transporting. dust on it (im in a kind of a desert area) and spinner took all the damage but it shows no scratches. im kind of glad it failed to fly now..should it had been tail heavy or flew before i figured what trimming was, ..
With your 'ID name' ... I get impression you are in Middle East ? If not .. I apologise.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:46 PM
  #13  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Hahaha XD Its true im in the middle east. Western shore of saudi arabia. closest rc club/store is 400km south (idk in miles). they charged me for the albatros + assemblying and trimming. they didnt do the last part so u can see what kind of store they are..and they are the only one in the country. The albatros, 2200mah lipo 25c 4cell, mode 2, 600kv (i think) motor. I watched Alot of hours about rc planes, ben doing so for the last 6months.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:57 PM
  #14  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
...and trimming. they didnt do the last part
It doesn't sound like you have the knowledge to determine that.
Where they failed was in selling you a plane that was inappropriate for your skill level.
Brian VT is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:04 PM
  #15  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,766
Default

Yanbu ? Jeddah ?

Yes ... basically you have not been served well by the shop selling a totally unsuitable model to you. I would suggest that they DID trim it .. but because you have not flown before - you would not have ability to get it to fly.

Saudi Arabia ... I worked there for 5 years .. and I know it is difficult to get outside help. The Internet is controlled and many online sites are blocked.

Are you able to see the Hobby King web pages I posted earlier ? If you can .. then I would suggest you look at models there and while spending time at that ... try to find out if any people are flying closer to you.
I am sure there must be ...

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:18 PM
  #16  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Nah they just block porngraphic things and anything else they block is politics related. I live in yanbu. I can see hobbyking and horizonhobby and many other sites, problem is will I be able to get it in inside the country? im not sure. So I ordered from hobbyking fpv goggles and transmiter/reciever. if i get it (HOPEFULLY) an rc plane will be piece of cake! I think i will order bix3 Trainer. if there is a better option please let me know.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:21 PM
  #17  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

You might look at the HobbyZone 'Delta Ray'

That's just about as easy to fly an RC plane as you can get and would make a good choice if your only option is learning alone.

They are widely available so you should be able to get hold of one without too much trouble.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:30 PM
  #18  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,747
Default

I spent 9 months in a little place called Tabuk back during the first Gulf War.


Hope you can get you a trainer and get on the right track. We are all here to help so don't hesitate to ask!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:33 PM
  #19  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Bixler is good too.
Just remember...the bigger they are, the harder they fall. That's why I mentioned the Hobbyzone Champ.
One of your biggest concerns is to keep the plane close to you. At a distance it's easy to loose orientation of the plane and you'll make "corrections" that might be the opposite of what you should have done.
You want slow and steady for learning. Don't believe that FPV will make up for lack of skill. Do you remember learning to drive a car and the over-corrections you made?
Brian VT is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:35 PM
  #20  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks! tabuk is north from here. one of the cities that has an actual Winter. i was born soon after the 1st gulf war.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:37 PM
  #21  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Understood, will save fpv for later and focus on learning on how to actually fly the plane. thanks brian.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:38 PM
  #22  
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 2,316
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
Nah they just block porngraphic things and anything else they block is politics related. I live in yanbu. I can see hobbyking and horizonhobby and many other sites, problem is will I be able to get it in inside the country? im not sure. So I ordered from hobbyking fpv goggles and transmiter/reciever. if i get it (HOPEFULLY) an rc plane will be piece of cake! I think i will order bix3 Trainer. if there is a better option please let me know.

FPV.........

You've got quite a few things to digest and some very good advice from some really knowledgeable guys here...........consider their suggestions, MASTER the RC simulator with a high wing trainer model.......... The FPV stuff is a completely different world and should only be employed after a pilot has MASTERED line-of sight flying skills.........otherwise, you could put yourself and others in a very dangerous and compromising situation that may end all of your flying days for a very long time..........
pizzano is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 05:28 PM
  #23  
goldenahmd
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIPF-nJFBWI
took a while to upload. as you see, the motor makes a weird sound and doesnt spin properly at sometimes when i push the throttle, move it back then move it up again. Elevators are not moving when i move stick up or down (only the ailerons do). but they function properly when i move the stick left or right.
goldenahmd is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 05:31 PM
  #24  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
Thanks, this the first advice I got until now. problem is there is no local rc hobby store, and no local rc club. infact, im sure im the only one who got an rc plane in the entire province! is there an "online" rc club? Or a chattroom or any of this kind? That would be really helpful. I triad flying using couple of simulators, I crashed alot at the beginning but I got used to it in the end. the albatros was the only mode availble to me so i bought it and waited for 2 months to get it! cost me a fortune as well. is it really that much harder than a trainer? do you recommend i buy another plane and keep this one on the shelf at the moment?

If you could get the Albatross... you could get any of over a dozen other Dynam models.

They have a Piper Cub and a Tiger Moth in the same series (same size, same battery) that the Albatross is in and either would be much better as a first model.
The Cub would be a better choice than the Tiger Moth, but the Tiger Moth can work just fine as a first model.

A WWI or WWII fighter is just not going to be a good choice, even with the stuff Dynam did to the Albatross to make it easier to fly. (steerable tailwheel, twisted wings for washout)
I have the Dynam Tiger Moth and the Albatross and a bunch of others in that series. (Not the Cub... yet. I have a different Cub)

***************

You'll find wrong switch settings on the TX AND/OR plugs in the wrong places in the RX-servo connections.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 05:43 PM
  #25  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,747
Default

Originally Posted by goldenahmd View Post
Thanks! tabuk is north from here. one of the cities that has an actual Winter. i was born soon after the 1st gulf war.
Yes, I remember some pretty cold days and even a light snow in January. You and my oldest Son would be about the same age then. He was born just before the war started.
firemanbill is offline  

Quick Reply: My first RC plane. Dynam Albatros DVA, fail takeoff attempts.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11561 seconds with 12 queries