Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Failure to Launch!

Old 12-27-2006, 02:25 PM
cp33c

Default Failure to Launch!

Hi All,

Firstly let me introduce myself. I'm a newbie to the RC Plane scene and have wanted to get into it since I was a kid. Now I'm 25, my mrs decided to buy me a RC Plane - Firebird Commander 2.

I have a tiny problem.......well actually quite a large problem! After persuading the family to come out to the park on a very cold, damp but calm day to see the maiden flight, we all head down to a football (soccer) field to see what its like. I do all the necessary checks and announce that we're ready to fly. So with controller in one hand and plane in other, I full throttle it and the plane attempts to leave my hand there and then. Perfect I thought, so I launched it at the 'recommended' level (into the wind and all that) only for the plane to decide it doesn't want to fly today and nose dives straight into the grass. As this was my first crash (if you can call it that) my heart sunk and my wife saw pounds of money dissapearing in front of her. As all men I thought that I must be doing something wrong and tried again. Only this time it nose dove into the ground and the prop took a chip of the wing! Again same feeling .........heart sunk, money wasted. After conferring with a mate of mine (non-flyer) and the wife, we decided that we'd launch from the ground. First obstacle we're on a damp, but short grass field. Everytime the plane looked as though it would take off the landing gear found a small hole to dig into the nose went forwards flipping the plane over. Second obstacle, the only concrete I could find was just wide enough to fit one person walking on and slightly tilted to the right which meant the plane would turn slightly just as it got enough speed and hit the grass. After that I decided it was time to call it a day.