ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

spitfire

Old 08-18-2007, 04:23 PM
  #76  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Make sure the file isn't too large. Look in the lower window, it gives you file size limits. Use JPG when you can because it is the largest file limit. (7.44mb I think)
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:25 PM
  #77  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I am going to guess the file is too large
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:26 PM
  #78  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I like this plane, I might have to make one one of these days....





there is a replica at the museum in Ft. Rucker. amazing that men would fly these things
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:39 PM
  #79  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by brnyrbbl View Post
Tom.. while you are on the subject of attachments, is there any way to attach a pic you have already uploaded. I can see all the pics I've uploaded but can't find a way to access them when creating a new post.
Hi Aaron,

I think you can open the picture in the post you loaded it to, right click on it and save as. Then you can insert it in a new post. Is that what you mean?
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:58 PM
  #80  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Actually I was referring to >UserCP >Attachments. It lists all the pics you have uploaded. It only has the option of delete. I was wondering if there was a way to attach previously uploaded pics into a new post. As of now, I can only see the option of attaching pics from your computer or web. Maybe Mike can add that feature to attach previously upped pics so I don't have duplicates. Otherwise, what's the point of storing them on WF?
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:09 PM
  #81  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

What are you wanting to do with them Aaron? Are you wanting to grab them for attaching to an additional post? I've never used that feature in the user CP but just noticed I have 28 pages of attachements there. Heck, I never even knew thay were there.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:19 PM
  #82  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

LOL!!.. that's what I mean.. What's the point of storing them on WF if we have to reupload them from our PC everytime we create a new post and want to attach them.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:23 PM
  #83  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Let's see if it works.. I chose "show thumbnails" then right clciked on the pic and selected "copy". I then "pasted" in the quick reply window and it appears to work. If the pic is in this post it does.
**You have to click on the thumbnail to get the full screen pic then copy/paste.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:27 PM
  #84  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

but it was TINY
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:28 PM
  #85  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Try again.. I copied/pasted the thumbnail but it only showed the thumbnail so I opened the pic then copied/pasted again.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:31 PM
  #86  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Just go open a photobucket account. You can organize and file your pictures. It makes life so much easier.

you don't even have to do the funky three keys to copy thing to save the picture's img code, you just click on the line, it automatically copies it for you to use where you will...
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:34 PM
  #87  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Sorry for stearing your thread off course spitfire. I was trying to figure out the picture thing for you and I should have used the "test" forum.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:47 PM
  #88  
spitfire
Not the best
Thread Starter
 
spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: US of A, deep south (GA)
Posts: 660
Default

ok here are the pics and i also made most of the left wing
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010145.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	38437   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010146.JPG
Views:	107
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	38438   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010147.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	38439  
spitfire is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:49 PM
  #89  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

er, I am pretty sure the wing ribs aren't supposed to be cut between the notches for the spars...
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:51 PM
  #90  
spitfire
Not the best
Thread Starter
 
spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: US of A, deep south (GA)
Posts: 660
Default

yes they do... hopefully
spitfire is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:55 PM
  #91  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

errrr.. I have to agree with Monkey.. usually ribs are one piece for structural integrity and strength. Don't worry yet though. Does the manual say if they are supposed to be split? You can always pick up some balsa sheet then trace the cut ones you have and re-make them if you have to.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:07 PM
  #92  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

The solid line in the plans where you split the ribs is usually a cross brace. It is a solid piece of balsa that sits flush between the top and bottom of the rib or between the spars in some cases and extends between the ribs. Hopefeully your plane is built differently than most and you have it correct.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:18 PM
  #93  
spitfire
Not the best
Thread Starter
 
spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: US of A, deep south (GA)
Posts: 660
Default

i don't have a building manual, but here is what the plans some what indecated.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010149.JPG
Views:	101
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	38440  
spitfire is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:23 PM
  #94  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

The spars seem pretty "meaty" so I think you will be ok. You could always put a small doubler where the cut is. (sort of like a band-aid)
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:24 PM
  #95  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Are the wings solid sheeted? If they are you definitely will be Ok.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:30 PM
  #96  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

ahhhhh, maybe it is intended for the solid spar.

That makes more sense.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:30 PM
  #97  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I am impressed, to be building off from plans with no directions.

Quite a feat.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:31 PM
  #98  
spitfire
Not the best
Thread Starter
 
spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: US of A, deep south (GA)
Posts: 660
Default

well it is supposed to have cap strips and monokote but i am going to sheet the wings with balsa, and the spares are very meaty they are pine
spitfire is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:38 PM
  #99  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Try to keep the sheeting as thin as possible. If it was designed for monokote than it may not fly to well with the extra weight of the sheeting. What are you planning for covering material?
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:47 PM
  #100  
spitfire
Not the best
Thread Starter
 
spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: US of A, deep south (GA)
Posts: 660
Default

1/16" and monokote
spitfire is offline  

Quick Reply: spitfire


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10788 seconds with 17 queries