Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Foamies and powerplants

Old 04-20-2010, 10:51 AM
Nesal

Default Foamies and powerplants

Hi guys,
Im new to electric flight and this forum but not rc planes... I looking to get something electric and smaller than my current nitro plane and saw some foamies down at my lhs which looked nice. They have a mig which is very cool and definitely caught my eye the problem is being new to this I have no idea of what to put in it regarding BL motor and esc, I know the esc depends on the amount of amps the motor draws, but what motor! Another thing is I have 3S 1800mah lipos but that seems way overkill for a little foamy isnt it? How do I select an adequate BL motor for my electric plane? I will be ordering it off Hobbyking and have a spare 30A esc off of a helicopter, could I use that? in theory yes, right?
Thanks guys, great forum!!
Old 04-20-2010, 02:18 PM
capn chaos
Super Contributor

Nesal,
Welcome to Watt Flyer and electric flight in general. The combination you will need varies greatly but will depend on exactly which foamie you are looking at. Also, it would be helpful to give a bit of information on "watt" type of flying you will be doing, sport, 3D, casual aerobatics for starters. All of this is watts/lb dependent. Ed's (AEAJR) sticky Everything You Wanted To Know About Electric Powered Flight will be "mandatory" reading material.
Give us a bit more info and you will have plenty of helpful suggestions from the "gurus" here.
Good luck and again WELCOME>
CC
Old 04-20-2010, 11:52 PM
Nesal