Indoor & Micro Electric Planes Talk about indoor & Micro electric powered flight here

Lost my um champ

Old 03-16-2011, 05:40 AM
  #1  
slotcsx
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default Lost my um champ

Well goin' to miss that dang thing,been flying my um champ on my dx6i from my front yard.Has been flying great, decided to try the stock radio, big mistake was going ok until I switched to hi rate the thing took off and at about a 10-15 degree climb it just kept going, out of sight and gone !!
slotcsx is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:16 AM
  #2  
max2112
Super Contributor
 
max2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,550
Default

Originally Posted by slotcsx View Post
Well goin' to miss that dang thing,been flying my um champ on my dx6i from my front yard.Has been flying great, decided to try the stock radio, big mistake was going ok until I switched to hi rate the thing took off and at about a 10-15 degree climb it just kept going, out of sight and gone !!
Sorry to read about your MIA champ, slotscx. After you switched to high rates did you have any response to the sticks at all?

and WELCOME to WattFlyer! It's always great to see new faces in the clubhouse.
max2112 is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:53 AM
  #3  
lucas2696
NO MORE GLUE??!!!
 
lucas2696's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 332
Default

Originally Posted by slotcsx View Post
Well goin' to miss that dang thing,been flying my um champ on my dx6i from my front yard.Has been flying great, decided to try the stock radio, big mistake was going ok until I switched to hi rate the thing took off and at about a 10-15 degree climb it just kept going, out of sight and gone !!
Wow, that sucks, I've had a few free flight birds fly away, but never ans RC, especially not an UM.
Just another excuse to get another!
lucas2696 is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:49 PM
  #4  
SHADY
Got Glue??
 
SHADY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Coast, N. Carolina
Posts: 259
Default

Dang that sucks dude....
Did you have your name and number written on it???

I have made a few treks into the brush looking for my favorite T28 park flyer...
Found the canopy to it, we have one more grid to look at, one member suggested dousing for it, I am really considering it...
SHADY is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 03:19 PM
  #5  
slotcsx
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Got no response at all after about 30-40 feet, worked on the ground and at take off, then nada. Do have name and phone number on it, but nothing after 2 days. Oh well, thats the way it goes I guess.
slotcsx is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:14 PM
  #6  
SHADY
Got Glue??
 
SHADY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Coast, N. Carolina
Posts: 259
Default

I was flying mine the other day and thought it would be a good idea to mess with the roller switch on my DX6i while the plane was in the air...

Accidentally switched models and lost complete control, but when signal was lost it shut the motor off, as yours should've done, come to think of it..

It was dusk and the led's were on, so luckily I kept it in sight long enough to get a good idea where it went...
I don't think I've run that fast of that far in 20 years...

Had to have been a sight to see... A grown man running frantically down the street
hold a Tx and looking upward....

I ran 2 and a half blocks through the neighborhood before finding it, safely sitting right side up in some tall grass...
SHADY is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:23 AM
  #7  
dkrhardy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wetumpka AL (Montgomery area)
Posts: 543
Default

Oh Jeeeezzz, knock on wood!

I'm afraid if I, do the name and ph# thing, that I'll get a call ... Uhm Mr. Hardy I have your little plane and it put a big a$$ed dent in my Benz ................... Does AMA help if you are neighborhood flying?
dkrhardy is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 03:32 AM
  #8  
slotcsx
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

I don't think it is heavy enough to do any damage really. It should've had about 4 more minutes of power also. I have never lost a plane to run away before, a couple boats on 75 am, and a few cars go crazy but first for a plane, have used 72 fm and older 27 am without a hitch except self inflicked problems,bad plugs,weak batteries,and the like. Still a little puzzled as to why this happened. I decided to try the stock radio because I was getting bored,and never tried these radio's before. I have 3 of them from a sr120,an msr,and the champ. Called horizon hobby and told them about the problem, they said they could not warranty the plane because I did not have it to trouble shoot!!! Well,I have another on the way........anybody want a few radios ? Look in my garbage dumpster tomorrow.........LOL....... At 4 minutes and WOT I wonder how far it could have gone ?
slotcsx is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 07:07 PM
  #9  
Rockin Robbins
Super Contributor
 
Rockin Robbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 1,883
Default

Unbelievable! A Champ doing a sailplane trick! (the voice of recent experience speaks) I know how dumb you feel. However, as already explained, if you lost radio contact, the controls should have assumed the fail-safe position. Usually that is throttle off or idle throttle. It is possible to reset the fail-safe positions to unsafe settings, like wide open throttle.

And you're in the same position as Horizon. No plane to troubleshoot so you'll always wonder exactly what happened. I feel your pain.
Rockin Robbins is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 09:35 PM
  #10  
Mr. X.
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oxford, MA
Posts: 26
Default

My first plane did a fly away. it was a mini super cub. I looked for it in the swamp for hours with a kayak and gave up. I had to decide to either give up trying or to get another plane. I now have about 10.. oh well. I still think about going to find it but i'm sure its done for by now.
Mr. X. is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 02:15 AM
  #11  
dkrhardy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wetumpka AL (Montgomery area)
Posts: 543
Default

Oh My! Knocking on wood furiously!
dkrhardy is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:59 AM
  #12  
SirSudiSavage
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry to hear that bro! Im glad mine never did anything like that and i always use the stock radio. The worst thing that happened to me was a seagull attack when i was trying to fly with them side by side
SirSudiSavage is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 04:37 AM
  #13  
Maladroit
Unmerciful Foam-beater
 
Maladroit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indian River County, FL
Posts: 19
Lightbulb

A guy at RCGroups lost his Champ. He downloaded Google Earth and then used the last visual heading he had on the Champ and figured his battery time X approx. speed to create a swath to search. No grid was needed; he knew the approximate spot where the lil' Champ was supposed to be.

Sure enough, he found it less than a mile away, sitting in a bush. It had actually landed a little prematurely, but that didn't matter; he had his Champ back!
Maladroit is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:52 AM
  #14  
K CLOSE
Huge Member
 
K CLOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dutchess Co NY
Posts: 542
Default

Did the google earth thing myself to get a flyaway GWS Zero back a while ago. It's absolutely worth a try, I looked for a long time the day she went AWOL in a high wind situation. I tried google earth for haha's and found it in under and hour (with Ryanflyer helping me look) Try it
K CLOSE is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:44 AM
  #15  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default

Google Earth gives enough resolution to find an RC plane? Just how big was it?!?!?!?!

Slot, it might be stuc up in a tree, a roof or out in some ield where no one goes. You might try looking in the direction it went.

A side note: The A.M.A sells weather proof ID stickers you can fill out and stick to your plane, I think even non members can get them. Just a few bucks for a pack of ten. Certainly a good deal when compared to the price of a new plane!

Posted via Mobile Device
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:46 AM
  #16  
kevinm
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 173
Default

Originally Posted by dkrhardy View Post
Oh Jeeeezzz, knock on wood!

I'm afraid if I, do the name and ph# thing, that I'll get a call ... Uhm Mr. Hardy I have your little plane and it put a big a$$ed dent in my Benz ................... Does AMA help if you are neighborhood flying?
never underestimate the sliminess of the litigator
kevinm is offline  
Old 04-24-2011, 08:06 AM
  #17  
slotcsx
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Don't know how you can use google, I went to there site and down loaded the newest version,the newest picture I got is 2 or more years old ! how do you get the current picture or are you talking crap?
slotcsx is offline  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:13 PM
  #18  
Zapper2003
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: northeast PA
Posts: 39
Default

They aren't actually finding the plane using google earth. They're using mathematics and google earth to find them. Approx speed, approximate heading, approximate time left til dead battery, and a starting point. Calculate the distance til dead battery from your starting point using your speed/time, then using google, track your distance from the start point at your approximate heading, and find your 'crash radius'. Then start the search.
Zapper2003 is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 03:58 AM
  #19  
K CLOSE
Huge Member
 
K CLOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dutchess Co NY
Posts: 542
Default

I should have clarified....Zapper is bang on. Google earth is more about the plane being somewhere other then where you think, because it really does look different "from up there". I know some guys will do A.V. search and rescue flights with other planes to find a downed plane. This is more of the aforementioned "approximates" for an idea of an area to search. It helped me...
K CLOSE is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 04:18 AM
  #20  
HobbyJumper
Member
 
HobbyJumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southern Ontario Canada
Posts: 351
Default

Too bad about your Champ.

At least it's not TOO expensive to buy another -- yet one more reason they ought to make a bind and fly version available!
HobbyJumper is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
doxiedad
Beginners
63
10-17-2011 01:03 AM
ggunners
Flight Simulators
5
05-10-2011 11:47 PM
NJSwede
Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
5
03-17-2011 07:36 PM
NJSwede
Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
11
01-31-2011 04:24 AM
SHADY
Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
7
01-23-2011 02:03 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Lost my um champ


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12668 seconds with 13 queries