ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Parkzone J3 Cub BL

Old 04-09-2010, 12:59 PM
  #126  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Talking Got it in the air !

After a long bout of minor problems with the wind I had a evening last night with no wind and still plenty of light! Had the J 3 up at work for around 10 min when I tried to bring it in for landing the battery which is 1 year old gave up had to try to glide in but lost altitude fast and put it down in a field to avoid a 6' tall chain link fence! NO DAMAGE!!!! video on board as soon as I can edit the length too long for utube!
I am considering a slightly better battery with a little more time any suggestions?
Thanks in advance
Larry
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 01:32 PM
  #127  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default Battery placement help

I bought a new battery Thunder Power Pro Lite V2 1350 mAh 2s 7.4 V 20c 40c burst. How do I fit a bigger battery in and still have it on COG? what do I have to chop up to make it work? thought I had it on cog but was nose heavy and when I launched it after gaining alt I throttled back a tad and it was nose heavy too the point when landing the prop kinda decided to commit suicide! any info appreciated.
Larry
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 08:54 PM
  #128  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default

The J-3 is a nice flying airplane and when flying around at about 50% throttle (where it looks scale) you should get 15 minutes on the stock battery. Going to larger batteries is a problem because you have to dremel stuff out which is structural and yes the cg becomes a problem although it is forward CG so not critical but will take out a prop unless you keep a little tad of throttle on landing. I had to replace my motor after many hours because it started to eat batteries and would run out in 6 or 7 minutes.
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:59 AM
  #129  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Eaglelead
The stock battery I have is almost a year old and I did not fly it much due to work and weather. In a very light headwind it would only last 3 to 5 min if I coasted down wind. The larger battery will hopefully get a few extra min out of the session.
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-22-2010, 07:01 AM
  #130  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Give it a try but it sounds like you may have a battery that is going south.

Ed
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 03:03 AM
  #131  
headshot001
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Has anyone put in a Spektrum reciever and flown with dx6i or the like?
headshot001 is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 04:10 AM
  #132  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by headshot001 View Post
Has anyone put in a Spektrum reciever and flown with dx6i or the like?
I have tried using my Futaba 617fs on my 6ex 2.4 gHZ and have had no problems at all but 7 channels is overkill. It is all in what you can afford to stick ion the plane!
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 06:48 AM
  #133  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default

I have a spektrum AR500 receiver on the cub and have a DX6i and it is much nicer to use then the stock set up. The old rule of get as much radio as you can afford. I never did have a problem with the stock radio though.

Ed
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 05:09 AM
  #134  
headshot001
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 30
Default

I have a dx6i that I fly the micro cub, micro mustang, and I am trying to learn to fly the Eflite Taylorcraft with it. My Super cub has the stock radio. I was thinking of geting the cub. I like the looks of the art tech Decathlon though- thought about putting dx6i reciever in it and use my lipo bateries wth it.
headshot001 is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 02:09 AM
  #135  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Sounds like that would be a nice set up.

Ed
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 03:20 AM
  #136  
MWShelton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 212
Default

I flew mine for the first time last week. The maiden flight went well. The flying field was crowed and I got a lot of positive comments especially from the Super Cub pilots. Had two batterys with me and I loaded her up for the second flight and neither one of the servos would center correctly. Powered her up and down several times but no luck on the servo centering. I jerked the PZ servos out while ago and put Tower Pros in it. Powered her up several times and the Tower Pro's are centering correctly. Mine is a PNP. I installed a Spectrum 6110 and I'm flying with a DX7. Hopefully I'll get to fly her again this week.
MWShelton is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 08:29 PM
  #137  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default Cub

It takes a lot to beat the PZ BL Cub for just having fun. That servo thing makes me a little nervous since I am still on the stock set, may go to the tower pro also just for upgrade.

E
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 12:45 AM
  #138  
MWShelton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 212
Default

Eagle yours are probably OK. They acted up once or twice on the ground before my maiden and then they centered perfectly. I did my first flight and the plane performed flawlessly. When I disconnected the battery and installed another battery for the second flight the servos would not center. One pilot at the flying field said it was the servos and another pilot said it was the receiver, a brand new 6110. The servos were cheaper so I changed them first. The Cub is working perfectly in the basement now. Hope I get to fly her tomorrow, we'll see what happens.
MWShelton is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 04:59 AM
  #139  
Eaglelead
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Hey MW go fly and have fun.

Eagle
Eaglelead is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 04:29 AM
  #140  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBBE-5HGyCM[/media] today's early am before work stress relief!
Has anyone done away with the stock spinner and gone with a prop saver? Seems like I get only 2 or 3 landings before they break. What is a good replacement prop I can use with a prop saver? I have a bigger battery and CG seems spot on and at 1/4 throttle it cruises and at full throttle it climbs like a monkey on steroids ! Any suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance. Larry.
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 02:58 AM
  #141  
C140
Tailwheels Fly Better
 
C140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Madtown, CA
Posts: 526
Default

I use APC 8x6 SloFly props on the stock set-up (2S) because they are a heck of a lot stronger and cheaper. Landing on a hard surface (with the landing gear on) also seems to improve prop life since they don't hit the ground as much.
C140 is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 04:18 AM
  #142  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by C140 View Post
I use APC 8x6 SloFly props on the stock set-up (2S) because they are a heck of a lot stronger and cheaper. Landing on a hard surface (with the landing gear on) also seems to improve prop life since they don't hit the ground as much.
I have the gear on and larger foam tires but there always seems to be a time when it just veers off to the left and there is nothing I can do to prevent it tried to straighten the gear equally and then to the right same result. I need to go to the LHS tomorrow so I will get a couple of them to try. Thanks for your info!
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:58 AM
  #143  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by C140 View Post
I use APC 8x6 SloFly props on the stock set-up (2S) because they are a heck of a lot stronger and cheaper. Landing on a hard surface (with the landing gear on) also seems to improve prop life since they don't hit the ground as much.
I went to the LHS yesterday and got 2 of them. I had to ream out just a shade to get the prop on the hub. Will try to get a flight in tomorrow cant feel much difference in thrust when I hold it but the flying is what will tell!
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 08:12 PM
  #144  
C140
Tailwheels Fly Better
 
C140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Madtown, CA
Posts: 526
Default

There isn't much difference in thrust, at least there shouldn't be, the stock set-up is running pretty close to the limit already, but it shouldn't break as much. I know what you mean about it just going off on its own sometimes. You might consider putting a tailwheel on it if you haven't already. That worked wonders for me in the ground-handling department.
C140 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:06 AM
  #145  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

I will have to try a tail wheel. I might have a old set iup from a deceased slow stick to mod.
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 06:38 AM
  #146  
C140
Tailwheels Fly Better
 
C140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Madtown, CA
Posts: 526
Default

I used a HZ Super Cub tailwheel on the first one and a DuBro Micro Tailwheel on the other. Both work very well. You can taxi around on the ground and there's much more control over the start of the takeoff roll and the landing roll-out.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0705.1.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	134876  
C140 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 01:53 PM
  #147  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by C140 View Post
I used a HZ Super Cub tailwheel on the first one and a DuBro Micro Tailwheel on the other. Both work very well. You can taxi around on the ground and there's much more control over the start of the takeoff roll and the landing roll-out.
Would that lower the clearance of the prop closer to the ground? I may have to forget the micro tail wheel I have and get a set up like that !!!
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:10 PM
  #148  
C140
Tailwheels Fly Better
 
C140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Madtown, CA
Posts: 526
Default

It does lower the nose a little, but on that one I also had 2.75" bushwheels on so it evened out. The actual tailwheel is only $3 and takes about five minutes to install with a little epoxy.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=HBZ7117

They're out of stock here, but your LHS should have them on the shelf.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1133.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	134927  
C140 is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:59 AM
  #149  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

Tried out the new prop did not notice much difference seemed to be a little more sluggish required a tad more throttle. On landing all went well until the curb jumped in front of the plane and bent the motor shaft I am now really thinking of using a prop saver to protect the motor Prop was not even dinged one tough prop !!!
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 06:38 AM
  #150  
C140
Tailwheels Fly Better
 
C140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Madtown, CA
Posts: 526
Default

If there's stuff to hit, a prop saver is probably a good call. I don't really use them, but where I fly, the worst I can run in to is the occasional weed, so I'm not taking any hard prop strikes either.
C140 is offline  

Quick Reply: Parkzone J3 Cub BL


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11163 seconds with 13 queries