Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Super Cub or J-3 Cub BL?

Old 12-30-2008, 04:52 AM
SilverMopar

Default Super Cub or J-3 Cub BL?

I am new to flying, although I'v had a couple junk airplanes in the past. I think I have narrowed my choices down to these two. A friend suggested the J-3 Cub BL, and I have read quite a bit about the Super Cub on these forums. I think both can be had for around $160.
The Super Cub has 10" more to the wing than the J-3 Cub. The Super Comes with a 480 motor while the J-3 has a brushless 370 outrunner. Both seem to be decent planes but which would be easier to learn to fly with? Has anyone here had/heard much about the J-3 Cub?

I really want to get into flying RC's but my experiance thus far has been discouraging. Please Advise me... Or mabye I am wrong with both of these two models.
Thanks,
SilverMopar
Old 12-30-2008, 04:55 AM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

Welcome to WattFlyer SilverMopar!

who makes the J-3 cub you are referring to?

I can tell you that the Super Cub has helped more people get a successful start in this hobby than either one of us could count. A highly recommended starter that you can't go wrong with for sure.
Old 12-30-2008, 05:24 AM
SilverMopar

ParkZone makes the J-3 Cub and HobbyZone makes the Super Cub? I think so anyhow.
Old 12-30-2008, 05:24 AM
fireflyer

Super Cub all the way!!! PLEASE buy the super cub. The j-3 cub is also quite a decent plane, either one, would say they are both very good choices as a first plane. My only problem with the super cub is the ACT, which I leave off all the time and I unplugged the sensors. The ACT actually makes you crash rather than keeping you from crashing.
Old 12-30-2008, 05:34 AM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

oh that one, As Fireflyer says... get the Supercub.

I have seen two of the j-3 from them and neither flew well.
Old 12-30-2008, 05:40 AM
groundrushesup
Super Contributor