Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

Flying my quad!

Old 01-04-2011, 10:38 PM
  #1  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default Flying my quad!

Well, I built a quadcopter. I'm not good on it yet, I've only had a chance to fly it a couple of times due to the weather and winds. I did get permission from the school to use their old gym (this morning) and I was able to trim it real good. I need lots of practice before I trust myself using a good camera, but I intend on getting there. Here is a short video of a flight today.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUILvI6YBVk[/media]
quailbird is offline  
Old 01-04-2011, 11:06 PM
  #2  
kybrowns
Member
 
kybrowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Georgetown, Kentucky
Posts: 88
Default

Very nice, I've got a lot of respect for you guys that have the knowhow to put together their own camera ship.
kybrowns is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:25 AM
  #3  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Pretty neat. I bet you are itching to do some flying through those trees on the other side of that road.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:09 AM
  #4  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

I get the heeby jeebies when I get close to trees! I'd like to get good enough to fly around a tree and then around another and maybe figure eight a couple.
quailbird is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 03:32 AM
  #5  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Sweet! Keep us apprised. What kind of gear are you using? Gyros?
mclarkson is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 06:45 AM
  #6  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Ya. We need a low-down on what you are using.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 11:03 AM
  #7  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,269
Default

Great job, That looks neet, I thought you were going to let me do the Maiden Flight on it LOL , Take care and have fun, Chellie
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 03:03 AM
  #8  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

I bought the FY90Q and I used the HK esc's and the 750kv HK motors that I bought to make a tricopter. I'm using 10x3.8 reversing props. Pretty simple outfit. Bass wood body.
quailbird is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 06:06 PM
  #9  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

I flew high today for the first time. I've been learning so I would not go higher than 8' to 10'. Today I went up over the house to check the camera and camera mount for vibrations. The wind was blowing about 10 mph so I only flew for 45 seconds.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgSdg0ImvdU[/media]
quailbird is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 06:47 PM
  #10  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

That was cool. Do you still get the shakes like when you learned to fly planes?

No snow there, huh? We got about 6 inches or so.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:08 PM
  #11  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

Shakes and pucker power cramps! It seems with these quads, that when they are in the air they are like a balloon. When you try to hold them steady the wind blows them just like a balloon. I'm having to learn that to try to compensate for it. It seems it is always blowing around here especially when you get 100' in the air.
quailbird is offline  
Old 02-18-2011, 04:27 PM
  #12  
mrdlg2u
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default Fy90Q

I got my quad done last week and have had it up about 10 times.
it seems to fly just like yours... I am using the same controller (FY90Q).
I have found that it is not as "hands off" as I would like it.
this is my first non-winged RC so I was not expecting it to go well... but the FY90q is a lot easer then I thought it would be.

what are you using for settings on the FY90Q

36" between motors
Big 4240 900kv motors
12x3.8 props
4s 5000 battery

Later,
Gundy
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	quad4.JPG
Views:	166
Size:	234.1 KB
ID:	143501   Click image for larger version

Name:	quad1.JPG
Views:	161
Size:	237.2 KB
ID:	143502   Click image for larger version

Name:	quad2.JPG
Views:	175
Size:	256.8 KB
ID:	143503  
mrdlg2u is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 03:37 AM
  #13  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

I had my Transmitter settings all wrong. Believe it or not, I have never set any settings on my Tx before I got the Quad. One of the guys on the RC Group forum helped me a ton and after that I was flying!
quailbird is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 04:41 PM
  #14  
mrdlg2u
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default So, what did you change??

Originally Posted by quailbird View Post
I had my Transmitter settings all wrong. Believe it or not, I have never set any settings on my Tx before I got the Quad. One of the guys on the RC Group forum helped me a ton and after that I was flying!

So, what radio changes did you make??

I tried the new props that I got... not good
They were 12x4.5 not strong enough for my quad.
I got that weird sound that you get when you over load a prop.
I think it is because of the flexing and wobbling when over loaded.
So, I need to find props that are stronger.

Later,
Gundy
mrdlg2u is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 01:29 AM
  #15  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

One of the threads over in the multi copter area said to try 3 bladed props. I now am using 9x? I think 4. I had to balance every one very carefully, but they work very well. I believe they are quite a bit more stable. A friend tried 12" props and had the same results as you. He said it taxed the controller too much. 10" props are real good, even 9".
quailbird is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 05:08 PM
  #16  
mrdlg2u
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by quailbird View Post
One of the threads over in the multi copter area said to try 3 bladed props. I now am using 9x? I think 4. I had to balance every one very carefully, but they work very well. I believe they are quite a bit more stable. A friend tried 12" props and had the same results as you. He said it taxed the controller too much. 10" props are real good, even 9".
where did you find 3 blade pusher props at? I am having a tough time.

Later,
Gundy
mrdlg2u is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:13 PM
  #17  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

RC Dude
http://www.rcdude.com/servlet/the-80...6-Prop,/Detail
quailbird is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:44 PM
  #18  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Originally Posted by quailbird View Post
One of the threads over in the multi copter area said to try 3 bladed props. I now am using 9x? I think 4. I had to balance every one very carefully, but they work very well. I believe they are quite a bit more stable. A friend tried 12" props and had the same results as you. He said it taxed the controller too much. 10" props are real good, even 9".

Thats something I had not considered before on my Gaui 330x, but man, I'm ready to get a set to try, just to have a spare set around anyway.

Cool tip.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:58 PM
  #19  
mrdlg2u
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by quailbird View Post
I have those on order from innov8tivedesigns.com.
I am just hoping there are strong enough...

Later,
Gundy
mrdlg2u is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 07:18 PM
  #20  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

I use these on my Polk AC-47 as the twin needs a counter rotating prop on one side...



http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXYNB1&P=7

And its matching regular prop:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVJ19&P=7
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 02:20 AM
  #21  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

On the transmitter settings, I can't exactly remember but every thing was wrong. I had the expo settings way wrong, and I didn't have the trims set to "0". Like I said, I didn't even know what those words were. Once I got the tx setting corrected, she flew very well.
quailbird is offline  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:27 PM
  #22  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

Well the city of Rich Hill decided to put in new culverts at both ends of my street and dig ditches to them to stop flooding of my yard and some of the neighbors. So, I took advantage of the time to try my had at AVing it daily.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w6GjEDrjrg[/media]
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXGpN_XpUD4[/media]
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTvTzkl_CrA[/media]
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPNXy5OfgHo[/media]
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Fw-aDB5KYw[/media]
Try to remember, I'm still trying to learn to fly with not so much movement.
quailbird is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:12 AM
  #23  
Enthlapy
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Sweet! Cant wait to get one myself.
Enthlapy is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 03:29 AM
  #24  
quailbird
Member
Thread Starter
 
quailbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rich Hill Missouri
Posts: 534
Default

When you get the three bladed props, be sure to take the time to balance them. They are out of balance! I had to use tape and fingernail polish. But they are really tough!
quailbird is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Murocflyer
General Electric Discussions
37
01-25-2011 03:40 AM
Modelairplane
General Electric Discussions
1
12-23-2010 09:30 PM
firemanbill
General Electric Discussions
4
12-22-2010 06:00 PM
Brown7
Beginners
5
12-16-2010 03:01 PM
joethe6pack
Europe
0
12-09-2010 12:08 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Flying my quad!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12833 seconds with 17 queries