Parkzone J-3 Vs. Hobbyzone Super Cub - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Parkzone J-3 Vs. Hobbyzone Super Cub

Old 06-19-2007, 10:15 PM
  #1  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default Parkzone J-3 Vs. Hobbyzone Super Cub

Hey everyone!
Sorry if this has been asked before but a search didn't turn up any side by side comparisons. Of the 2 planes in the title, which is better? I haven't flown a R/C plane in 15 years and want to pick up an electric so I can fly without the headache and mess of nitro. Since it's been sooo long that I haven't flown I would like to start with a fairly easy to fly electric but prefer one with decent power. I have read about both and see that the HZ Super Cub uses a larger motor than the J-3 but also the J-3 is a bit smaller so I'm not sure if the "power" between the 2 would be comparable or not. Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

*I do like the original Piper yellow over the white
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 10:26 PM
  #2  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

I think because the Super Cub is a bit bigger that it is a better flyer. It can stand a bit of wind.
simibill is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 10:38 PM
  #3  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Hey Barney,

I've had the J3 for about a year and a half now and it's a fun little plane. I've flown my neighbor's Super Cub several times and without a doubt, if I were starting over, I would choose the Super Cub hands down. It's bigger, floats better, has more power and a steerable tail wheel. The J3 flys good but you really need to bring it in under a little power for a really smooth landing. It also has a bad tendancy to ground loop. I've been meaning to add a steerable tailwheel to my J3 but haven't gotten around to it yet. I also think the J3 is a little underpowered. I put a Venom brushed motor in mine and it helped a lot over the stock motor but still not as good as the SC.

You could always paint the SC Yellow.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 10:41 PM
  #4  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Thanks Guys! As it stands right now, I think I see a SC in my near future
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 12:19 AM
  #5  
Tinman
The Hot dog man
 
Tinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,584
Default

Go with the Super Cub Barney! Can;t beat the steerable tailwheel! Thats what sold me on it!

It's a great starter plane!
Tinman is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 03:44 AM
  #6  
Short Circuit
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Default

Hi Barney
I am a newbie to flying and I did alot of research and reading before chosing a SuperCub.
I had no prior flying experience and learned to fly from what I read on this site and a bit of time on the FMS flight simulator.
Ya can't go wrong with this plane.

Mark
Short Circuit is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:27 PM
  #7  
Tinman
The Hot dog man
 
Tinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,584
Default

Hey Barney don't you have a computer radio?

I thought you did. If ya do you need to think something ARF instead of the Super Cub.

I get soooo much interference with mine. Sometimes it has a mind of it's own.
Tinman is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:01 PM
  #8  
Frank Voikel
Super Contributor
 
Frank Voikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Elmo, MN
Posts: 1,887
Default

I have the Super Cub and I love it. If you're just getting in or just returning, it's a great choice.
Frank Voikel is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:59 PM
  #9  
bassplayinDude
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 792
Default

Originally Posted by Short Circuit View Post
Hi Barney
I am a newbie to flying and I did alot of research and reading before chosing a SuperCub.
I had no prior flying experience and learned to fly from what I read on this site and a bit of time on the FMS flight simulator.
Ya can't go wrong with this plane.

Mark
Totally agree here. I didn't even have any sim experience before I maidened my Super Cub and went home with a plane that was still able to fly.
bassplayinDude is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 06:15 PM
  #10  
Leo L
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 589
Default

Barney,

Surprisingly, a manufacturer, Horizon Hobby, actually listened to their customers and acted upon their ciomments.

The J3Cub was first introduced about four years ago. It was specifically intended for INTERMADIATE flyers, and although its a very nice plane, it has soome faults that need to be addressed to make it into an enjoyable flight experience. Basically, it needs the front end reinforced to minimize damage during those not too perfect landings; prop replaced with a high pitch prop for better take-offs and cruising; tail wheel added to stop ground loops; and a more powerful motor to give it better performance. Horizon Hobby, the parent company of ParkZone and HobbyZone, made all of the corrections, made the plane a little bigger, and made it easier to fly so that beginners could fly it as well. They call it the SuperCub, and its absolutely the best beginner plane available today. But, it has better performance than the J3, even with the J3 modifications, so its better for intermediate flyers as well. The only drawback to the SuperCub is the ACT. DO NOT USE IT!!! Tape over the bottom sensor and you'll have a great plane.
Leo L is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 07:37 PM
  #11  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Thanks everyone for your replies and knowledge. I think that I will get a Super Cub to help refresh my flying and landings. It has been so long that I don't want to start with an expensive plane and the SC fits the bill nicely. A couple questions... Would I be able to upgrade the TX/RX with my DX7 if I wanted? Also, would it be possible to add ailerons or would it be too much trouble? Finally, what is the biggest LiPo that can be used in the SC? Thanks again guys!
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 08:27 PM
  #12  
Frank Voikel
Super Contributor
 
Frank Voikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Elmo, MN
Posts: 1,887
Default

Great choice.
Answers... Yes, but you'd need a ESC too, as the RX in the Super Cub is packaged with the ESC.
Yes, you can add ailerons. Here's a link.
I wouldn't know, I haven't upgraded my SC to lipo yet.
Frank Voikel is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 08:36 PM
  #13  
bassplayinDude
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 792
Default

From what I've read, you'll have to replace the servos as well. The servos are special 5 pin types that rely on the computer built into the receiver in a way that normal servos don't.
bassplayinDude is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 08:40 PM
  #14  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Not a problem. Can you use "full size" servos or would they be too heavy? I have four brand new ones laying around and would only need to micro servos later if I want to add ailerons. I was thinking of maybe doing a built up balsa wing if I ever got to the point I wanted aileron control.
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:22 PM
  #15  
Frank Voikel
Super Contributor
 
Frank Voikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Elmo, MN
Posts: 1,887
Default

Full sizes would tax the weight a little bit. I'd go with the micro/submicros.
Frank Voikel is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:31 PM
  #16  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by brnyrbbl View Post
Not a problem. Can you use "full size" servos or would they be too heavy? I have four brand new ones laying around and would only need to micro servos later if I want to add ailerons. I was thinking of maybe doing a built up balsa wing if I ever got to the point I wanted aileron control.
My neighbor changed his Super Cub to a brushless set up on his DX6 and added ailerons. He used all TP SG90 servos. It's a real sweet flyer now.

He also took out almost all the dihedral in the wing.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:00 PM
  #17  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

Hey Barney,

Just thought you might want to check out a couple of these old threads I posted comparing the J3 Cub to the Super Cub:

HobbyZone Super Cub Impressions After 10 Flights

And buried way down deep in a thread entitled "Best Beginner War Plane?" (which is probably why it took me 20 minutes to find it ... wasn't looking in warbird threads for a J3 vs SC comparison!) is a detailed pictorial comparison of the Parkzone J3 Cub to the HobbyZone Super Cub.

Picture comparisons of the J3 Cub and Super Cub

Hope those are useful to you! Good luck up there!

- Dave

PerlAddict is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:13 PM
  #18  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Thanks Dave! Those were very good posts by you and informative. I do like how the SC uses protectors on the wings and how it's wings are "beefier" too.

To Everyone... Thank You!!
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:57 PM
  #19  
Balil
foam murderer :D
 
Balil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 916
Default

go with the SC, but fly with the ACT off... flying with the ACT on makes it extremely difficult to fly, and considering you have experience it would be alot more relaxing than seeing the plane jerk about when it thinks you've over controlled the plane..
Balil is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:24 AM
  #20  
Frank Voikel
Super Contributor
 
Frank Voikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Elmo, MN
Posts: 1,887
Default

Or you can just put electrical tape over the lower ACT sensor. When ACT is on, it reduces control throws by about 3/16". When you tape over the sensor, it cripples ACT's whole 'motor shut off and sticks at neutral' deal. Now the ACT switch acts as a dual rate switch, with the On as low rates and the Off as high rates.
Frank Voikel is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:12 AM
  #21  
Tinman
The Hot dog man
 
Tinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,584
Default

I just unplugged mine Its easy to do .
Tinman is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:19 AM
  #22  
RacerPaul
No doors or fenders!
 
RacerPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bellport, NY
Posts: 733
Default

Just what I've been looking for.. a Super Cub Comparo!

Paul
RacerPaul is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:34 AM
  #23  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Well, I went to my LHS this morning. When I got there I asked if they carried the SC. He informed me they had sold the last one about 15 minutes prior He said they have been selling between 2 and 4 a day Anyway, I decided to order directly from hobbyzone and got the free battery and I found a coupon code too but it didn't work. So, I messed around with entering different numbers and I got one to work! The total was 143.99 with shipping, no tax, a free spare battery and a 10% discount!!

I used coupon code : Z4N but I tried up to Z7N and it was still the 10% so if you try and it doesn't work, increase the number by one and try again
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 04:10 AM
  #24  
brnyrbbl
Powered by Visa
Thread Starter
 
brnyrbbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,690
Default

Ok, while I'm waiting for the SC to arrive, is there any tips on initial setup that will make it the best it possibly can be? Such as "taping the leading edges" or "use bigger wheels"?
brnyrbbl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:49 PM
  #25  
bassplayinDude
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 792
Default

The stock wheels on my SC are no good at all on grass. I've only been able to do ROG launches off of pavement. Taping the leading edges wouldn't be a bad idea either. I haven't done that as I don't have any clear tape at home, but I'm going to pick up some before my next flight as all my wing damage has occurred on the edges and the side edge of the wing.

Another thing I've noticed is where the wing meets the fuselage has gotten torn up a bit. I think this is due to the wing getting jerked around on rough landings. It's another part I'll be taping up once I get some.

Also, when you get your plane, check out the receiver box. Next to where the ACT sensors plug in, there is a jumper like the ones used on computer motherboards. Make sure this jumper is in place. If this jumper disappears, the ESC will cut motor voltage if you push the throttle past the 1/2 way mark.

I found this out the hard way. My motor cut out while I was flying and I didn't have enough power to make a tight enough turn to avoid a tree. Spent about 15 minutes coaxing my plane out of the tree using one of those snap together tent spine poles that I happened to have in the trunk. I wouldn't have had any idea about the jumper if it wasn't for the LHS guy. Replaced the jumper and I was good to go again.
bassplayinDude is offline  

Quick Reply: Parkzone J-3 Vs. Hobbyzone Super Cub


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15045 seconds with 10 queries