I need Help With Hydrofoam electronics - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

I need Help With Hydrofoam electronics

Old 04-02-2006, 08:18 AM
  #1  
jon89
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Question I need Help With Hydrofoam electronics

Does anyone know about the motor and servo hookups to the receiver on the Hydrofoam? This is my first time and the only directions where pictures on how to glue it together, nothing about the electonics or anything about the remote or recevier, PLEASE HELP

my email is

[email protected]

Last edited by jon89; 04-02-2006 at 08:22 AM. Reason: add email address
jon89 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:21 AM
  #2  
jon89
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thankyou
jon89 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 02:32 PM
  #3  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,285
Default

So John, did someone take care of you? How about posting the answer so other folks that have the same problem can find a solution??
Don Sims is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 05:28 PM
  #4  
jon89
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Sorry Don no replies yet
jon89 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:57 PM
  #5  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,285
Default

If you have a digital camera, take some shots for us. Usually the speed control plugs into channel three. Not always but usually. Channel 1 and two can be for elevator and rudder.

I hope you aren't like a guy at our LHS and bought this thing as your first plane??? They are not a good trainer at all.
Don Sims is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 11:29 PM
  #6  
jon89
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

yes it is my first lol, but i figured i could use it like a hover car and boat to get use to it , i dont really care if i break it im about to that point before i even finish it , any way none of the pins are labeled ive tried just about every configuration i think, i cannot get it to respond to anything or get the motor to turn, i have no idea how to set up to transmitter either, it says "Shenzhou FM proportional radio control system, it also came without any instructions i did get as far as putting the crystal in lol
jon89 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:05 AM
  #7  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,285
Default

Yikes, not a good situation! Do you know anyone around you that's into R/C? Getting the crystal in is a start!
Don Sims is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 04:23 AM
  #8  
mike_mn
Hydrofoam Junkie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 27
Default

Jon,

This is the ebay version I am guessing. the Hydroflyer it said on the package methinks. If so, you need to be carful. i helped a guy at work get one set up and he burned out 2 of the servos right away.

The first thing you need to do before connecting any of the electronics is to remove the servo horns. The servos were not centered before they were placed and can easily be forced into the foam or balsa top and burn out if you just power them up.

As for connecting. The black wire goes towards the outside of the reciever. this is strange because the motor controller has the plug on backwards from the rest. line up the black wires along the outside edge of the reciever.

As far as which chanell for what...I would have to get the guys plane to figure it out agiain....trial and error should work wont burn anything up unless you dont have the blacks to the outside or you leave the servo horns in place. Also, make sure you have a charged battery pack. His came with very little power and needed to be charged right out of the box with the charger it comes with. At a minimum you should be able to get the motor to spin. i would be surprised if you burned up the motor controller. The left stick up and down should drive the motor(when you start up you have to have the stick all the way down or it will not power up the motor until you move it all the way down). The left stick left and right should control the rudder(the vertical thingy in the middle of the back of the plane). The right stick will control the other 2 servos mounted on each side. you need to mess with the dip switches in the middle of the transmitter to get it set up properly. i think switch 5 enables the mixing of the 2 servos for elevons. i would bring it in to your LHS to have them help once you start gettting them to move at all.

A sure sign that you burned up the servos is this, a bubbled out spot on the bottom of the servo. there is a chip that gets ultra hot and melts the casing on the bottom and creates a littl bubble on the outside of the casing on the bottom of the servo.

Just bring it to the LHS and ask for a similar sized replacement. Hitec HS-55 or eflight s75 will work fine for you as a replacement. a bit smaller, but fine.

For a build thread check out the hydrohawk from FMA direct. They sell the same kit without the controller and receveir you got. They have better dierections and some mods to make it fly a little better. They are not much good on the ground unless you have some speed. I had to kick his a little to get it started on grass. Not enough power to hover held against the wall. It will fly though, just will be tough to be proficiant it not being a good version of a hydro to startwith...

I am a fairly new pilot and am on my second conventional plane in my quest to eventually pilot a hydroplane flyer. After many hours on RCG and other forums, I think Reds Miss hangar One is the best available hydroplane foam flyer kit available. My third plane will be a thrust vectoring type trainer to get me ready for the MHO as a forth plane hopfully this summer.


Good luck to you Jon
mike_mn is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:11 PM
  #9  
wannafly
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 86
Default

Please help me too.
My hydrofoam arrived RTF.
My "left/right roll" is on the left with the throttle and my rudder is with the "up/down".
Is this right??
I'd much rather have the "pitch and roll" (swap rudder and roll)on the left....I think.
It has a "mixer" , can I just pull out plugs and try get them to work together or can't it be done???
ANY help on this would be great.
Thanx
wannafly is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 08:55 AM
  #10  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,246
Cool

Hi Wannafly, thats what I dont like about the ready to fly hydrofoams that are purchased on line, you dont know if they are mode 1 or mode 2 or if someone just hooked up everything wrong, you might be able to unplug the servo at the receiver and change the function of the servos, normally mode 2 has throttle & rudder on the left and ailerons & elevator on the right, a lot of the RTF are mode 1, yuk, I have the Miss Hydrofoam with a JR mode 2 transmitter with comp. mixing, it works great, and a hitec 5 channel receiver, with hitec 55 servos. It has a 2409-12 outrunner and 7x6 prop. with a 30 amp ESC. and a 1800 mah 11.1v lipo
this setup works very very well, for more help, go to :http://www.bizingo.com/m/GITech/default.asp
jay is a dist. of the Miss Hydrofoam, and he has a lot of information on his web page, and if you need parts he can help you there too.

Last edited by CHELLIE; 12-08-2006 at 08:57 AM. Reason: spell ck :)
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 09:57 PM
  #11  
wannafly
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 86
Default

Thanx very much I'll go have a look.
I have managed to change the servo plugs around and now have throttle/rudder left stick...and..roll/pitch right stick.
I have only had one chance to take it out due to the weather and I BROKE it. I hope this was due to the radio setup , it should be better now....I hope.
wannafly is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 10:37 PM
  #12  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,246
Smile Hydrofoam

Hi Wannafly, I added some info on this page that has helped me to be successful in flying these hydrofoams, check it out, take care, and have fun, Chellie
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...hlight=CHELLIE
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:08 AM
  #13  
wannafly
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 86
Default

Excellent , thanx chellie. I will definately be adding to that thread TODAY. And the GITech site link is also great.
I'm like you in that I'm not planning on giving up on this. I'm going to get it right.
wannafly is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 07:56 AM
  #14  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,246
Thumbs up Hydrofoams

Hi Wannafly, Just stick with it, you will get it, they are a blast to fly, it just takes time in learning these hydros and getting them set up just right, Take care, And have Fun, Chellie.
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 04:45 AM
  #15  
bikerjeg
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I have been in and out of the forums lately and I think this is my first post.

I finally got around to building my hydrofoam. I have had it sitting around for almost a year :P, but I need some help setting up the servos and getting everything setup on my hitect eclipse 7 TX. If anyone has a similar setup please let me know what you did to setup the mixing and what channels I should plug each of the servos to.

I have some pictures here of my setup and hopefully someone can point out what servo goes on each of the channels. Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00550.JPG
Views:	366
Size:	727.0 KB
ID:	38515  
bikerjeg is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:00 PM
  #16  
arniep
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Usually the servo to the right elevon goes to channel 1, left elevon goes to channel 2, speed control to channel 3 and rudder to channel 4. You will need elevon mixing of channels 1 and 2. Make sure you set your throws to very low. More importanly, make sure you have a good supply of tape and glue!

I would recommend running it around in circles on the ground before taking to air. That will give you a chance to get used to steering it when it is coming toward you, in which case your stick moves will be reversed.
Good luck! Let us know how you are progressing.

Originally Posted by bikerjeg View Post
I have been in and out of the forums lately and I think this is my first post.

I finally got around to building my hydrofoam. I have had it sitting around for almost a year :P, but I need some help setting up the servos and getting everything setup on my hitect eclipse 7 TX. If anyone has a similar setup please let me know what you did to setup the mixing and what channels I should plug each of the servos to.

I have some pictures here of my setup and hopefully someone can point out what servo goes on each of the channels. Thanks in advance.
arniep is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Kurt dunkin
Foamies
12
07-02-2009 08:39 AM
Mike Parsons
Foamies
64
05-16-2007 10:54 PM
onrecess
Foamies
7
11-22-2006 04:21 PM
RSS Feed
RCU RSS Feed
0
11-03-2006 12:12 PM
Topdoc
3D Flying
13
03-01-2006 08:36 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: I need Help With Hydrofoam electronics


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08086 seconds with 15 queries