Beginners - Helis A forum where beginners can get help on the fundamentals for experts who know their stuff!

HS 65MG setup

Old 06-26-2008, 10:21 PM
  #1  
jlaffin
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default HS 65MG setup

Is there a video somewhere that shows how to setup these servos? I just ordered three for my Blade 400. I understand I'm going to have to do some filing to get them fitting, but is it just a case of plugging them in or is there more to setup with the radio? Thanks!
jlaffin is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 10:27 PM
  #2  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

Nope, just plug them in. You will probably have to re-center everything on your TX. If you have any trim/subtrim dialed it. But other than filing and plugging them in that is it.
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 10:49 PM
  #3  
HeliG
T-Rex Pilot
 
HeliG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 1,366
Default

jlaffin,
Check Helifreak and Finless Bob's tech room. On the T-rex 450 build page, you will find a link to the installation of the 65MGs. It may help you out but the key is centering everything mechanically before you start adjusting electronically.
HeliG is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 11:00 PM
  #4  
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,404
Default

There is a possibility that you will have to reverse the directions on some of the servos so check everything carefully after you install them to make sure that things move in the right direction. Depending on what you are going to use for the tail you may also have to reverse the gyro direction. IF you are upgrading to a REAL digital tail rotor, then you can switch the gyro setting to "D" for digital mode.
Heli Jim is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 11:02 PM
  #5  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

I thought that the stock gyro can not handle the current when set to digital and that is why it is set to normal?
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 12:47 AM
  #6  
HeliG
T-Rex Pilot
 
HeliG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 1,366
Default

Marc,
I believe that it is the servo that is either digital or analog and that is what you want to set the gyro to. If you hae an anolog servo and you move the gyro setting to digital apparently you can/will fry your servo.
HeliG is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 12:53 AM
  #7  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

I had read somewhere that the stock gyro can not handle the voltage a real digital servo uses. The stock servos ARE digital, but you have to set the gyro to analog for it to operate correctly. That is why a lot of people go with the hitecs, they get to keep the stock gyro.
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 01:32 AM
  #8  
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,404
Default

No--it's the stock servo that can't take it. The gyro puts out a much higher
pulse rate in digital mode and the analog servos can't handle it. Even though the
stock Eflite servos are digital, they can't take the input from the gyro in digital mode
so you have to run in in the analog mode. If you get a better servo, like the JR 3400G
then you can switch it over to digital mode.
Heli Jim is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 01:55 AM
  #9  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

Originally Posted by Heli Jim View Post
No--it's the stock servo that can't take it. The gyro puts out a much higher
pulse rate in digital mode and the analog servos can't handle it. Even though the
stock Eflite servos are digital, they can't take the input from the gyro in digital mode
so you have to run in in the analog mode. If you get a better servo, like the JR 3400G
then you can switch it over to digital mode.
Oh ok, thanks for clearing that up. I have JR DS285MG's waiting to be dropped in. Just want to get a BEC first.
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 02:18 AM
  #10  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

let me know when you get your 65mg's in and i'll post my settings for the dx6i and b400 and help out wherever i can, if you want, of course.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 07:56 AM
  #11  
jlaffin
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks gaak. I just ordered them today because I'm tired of rebuilding the stock servos. Two servos stripped on the last hard landing and of course it's the same fricken gear that goes every time. It would be great to have those settings. Either post them hear or pm them to me. Thanks.
jlaffin is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 04:26 PM
  #12  
bassplayinDude
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 792
Default

Please post them here. I have 65HBs in my heli and I'm going to redo the whole setup following sokal's advice before flying it again and would love to compare my current radio settings to yours.
bassplayinDude is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 07:45 PM
  #13  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

i'll post them as soon as i get home from work.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:41 PM
  #14  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

ok, i'm home, and i'm frustrated as f*** at my cp pro.... anyhow, here's my dx6i settings for how i'm running my blade 400.

Physical setup
blade 400
cyclic servos_: hs-65mg
Tail servo____: Futaba s9257
Gyro________: Futaba Gy401

Dx6i settings

Adjust list:

Travel adj_: 100% on all settings high and low.

Sub trim__: 0 on all settings

Gyro_____: 0: 75.0%
__________1: 75.0%

Thro Cur__: norm L-0 2-33.0% 3-63.0% 4-83% H-100%
.................stunt L-0 2-25% 3-50.% 4-75% H 100%

Pitch Cur__: norm L-17.0% 2-41% 3-65% 4-76.5% H-88%
................:stunt L-25% 2-47.5% 3-70.0% 482.5% H-95%

Swash Mix: ail +75%
.............. elev +75%
...............pitch -100%

mix 1&2 : INH

Revo mix: all 0%

setup list

type: heli

name: blade400

reverse: throttle-N, aile-R, elev-N, Rudd-R, Gyro-N, pitch-N

swash type: 120ccpm

thro cut: actv

d/r combi: INH

there ya go, any questions just ask. i know, i have stunt mode basically deactivated, due to an unfortunate incident that practically tore apart my cp pro, unitl i get the hang of inverted flight on the sim.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:24 AM
  #15  
jlaffin
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks gaak. I assume once I pop in the hs-65mg's that I just swap the control arms over from the old servos, is this right?
jlaffin is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:29 AM
  #16  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

no, the stock servo arms will not fit the gears that the 65mg's use. just use the most like arms that come with the 65mg's and transfrer the ball's from the old arms.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:31 AM
  #17  
jlaffin
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default

Good to know, and can the balls stay on the outside like stock or do they have to be inside the arm to line up better?
jlaffin is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:57 AM
  #18  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

yup, outside is fine. maybe a little ca on the balls to keep them in place though. don't forget to center the servos before you install the arms.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:05 AM
  #19  
jlaffin
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default

Which holes in the aileron and pitch arms are you using? I'm having some issues with the elevator arm hitting the servo arm.
jlaffin is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 12:50 PM
  #20  
RyuuChi
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 510
Default

i actually sold my b400 for a trex, but i'm pretty sure it was the second one in and i cut the outer most bit of the servo arms off so they didn't hit eachother.
RyuuChi is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:15 PM
  #21  
bassplayinDude
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 792
Default

Originally Posted by jlaffin View Post
Which holes in the aileron and pitch arms are you using? I'm having some issues with the elevator arm hitting the servo arm.
I'm seeing that too in stunt mode with throttle all the way down. Since I'm not doing inverted it doesn't bother me, but I'm thinking about putting the balls on the inside of the servo arms to eliminate this from happening.
bassplayinDude is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 05:48 PM
  #22  
HeliG
T-Rex Pilot
 
HeliG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 1,366
Default

Originally Posted by jlaffin View Post
Which holes in the aileron and pitch arms are you using? I'm having some issues with the elevator arm hitting the servo arm.
Make sure that the balls are connected to the same holes in the servo arms. I would try to get them the same length as the stock servos. As far as inside the arm or outside, if you get a straighter shot on the inside and it works without rubbing, then do that. Check out the helifreak vids and look at the "Installing HS56 servos in a Trex SE" from this page http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=11373

It was the first install vid for servos and gives you basic info like shimming the servo in or out and then moving the ball to the inside or outside of the arm to get the straightest shot.
HeliG is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:15 PM
  #23  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

I am using the second hole out from the gear. You then have to trim the rest of the horn off. Make sure your ball links are on the inside for the blade 400.
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 09:21 PM
  #24  
neilg.
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 414
Default these settings are for the blade 400?

Swash Mix: ail +75%
.............. elev +75%
...............pitch -100%

normal mode?

i'm soooo confused now
neilg. is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lymph
General RC E-Heli Talk
8
08-16-2008 08:08 PM
SkunkyMagoo
General RC items For Sale and WTB
1
08-14-2008 06:42 PM
Alpha_&_Omega
E-Flite Helicopters
20
05-27-2008 01:29 PM
Formap
Beginners
4
04-01-2008 01:26 AM
triniheli
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
03-02-2007 11:41 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: HS 65MG setup


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15647 seconds with 13 queries