Electric Ducted Fan Jets Discuss electric ducted fan jets here including setup tips, power systems, flying techniques, etc.

New setup for my Airliner

Old 08-11-2008, 03:13 AM
  #1  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default New setup for my Airliner

I finally have my Airliner ready to go back in the air. Not getting to fly it for a month or so has really been getting on my nerves.

Long story short I got her done tonight with new Team Orion Avioncs ESC's in place, Medusa BEC installed as well as a new cooling system with hopes of not cooking anymore ESC's.

It's cool how the color of Duct tape matches the bottom of this plane! That is a huge help!

Click image for larger version

Name:	esc v3.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	150.5 KB
ID:	74997

Click image for larger version

Name:	escs v3.JPG
Views:	145
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	74998

I used some vinyl window screen material to allow air flow through the esc's from the intake hole I have made in the leading edge of the wing. The placement of these ESC's in the wing does not allow much cooling air, if any at all to get to the controllers so hopefully this will do the trick.

Click image for larger version

Name:	cooling intake.JPG
Views:	128
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	74999

I had considered moving them into the fuse but this seemed like the best option.

Anyway she's all tidied up and ready to fly!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Wiring v3.JPG
Views:	130
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	75000
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:25 AM
  #2  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Cool-cool'in BillBub!! steve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:42 AM
  #3  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Looks good bill. Good luck with the re-maiden.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:45 AM
  #4  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Thanks guys. It sure isn't much fun flying that bird on one motor!

Both of them are a singing jsut as pretty now.

I also wired the BEC into both battery leads so if iether battery craps out I'll still have power supplied to it. I think I have all the bases covered now.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:28 AM
  #5  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

I got to get out and fly the Airliner this afternoon.


All I can say is SWEET!

It was like flying a new plane only without the nervousness.. Man she flew like she was on rails! apparantly the motors had been out of synch for a while.

I was shooting touch and goes and was greasing the centerline of the runway everytime. Perfect touchdowns and roll outs.

WOOOHOOOO That was fun!

Best of all on the third flight I ran it hard, real hard. Loops rolls inverted passes down the filed, all at 75% or greater throttle and after landing the esc's were perfectly cool to the touch as were the batteries and the BEC!

I'd say everything has worked out really well!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:30 AM
  #6  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Bill,

I trust you had an ample supply of barf-bags for the passengers?

Glad to hear she is all better now. I know how much you were missin' her....
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:44 AM
  #7  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Oh yeah, really been missing flying it.

We had a great afternoon too. Mason got a couple really good flights in on the Jenny. He was doing passes down the filed about 10' off the deck straight and tru and making real scale looking turns and such. He was complimented on his skill by several of the senior members of the club that were out.

Real proud of that boy I am!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:13 AM
  #8  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Perhaps he can put you on a buddy box someday and let you fly the Jenny again?
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:19 AM
  #9  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
Perhaps he can put you on a buddy box someday and let you fly the Jenny again?
LOL... I doubt it...

I have been permanantly banned from flying the Jenny.:o
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:20 AM
  #10  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Can ya blame him?

You could always buy one for yourself and fly with him in formation.....if he let you.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:43 AM
  #11  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Glad to hear it's all back in order Bill.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:45 AM
  #12  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
Can ya blame him?

You could always buy one for yourself and fly with him in formation.....if he let you.

Thought about that too, But I guess the Waco will do!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:46 AM
  #13  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Thought about that too, But I guess the Waco will do!
Yanno, you could do barrel rolls around the Jenny with your Waco....
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 03:01 AM
  #14  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
Yanno, you could do barrel rolls around the Jenny with your Waco....
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 05:00 AM
  #15  
Firestem4
inexorably eccentric
 
Firestem4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 256
Default

fireman, is that the E-Flite Airliner? I saw that thing on TowerHobbies i think, and i would love a dual edf airliner like that, but i didnt like it because its 2 channel only. Did you add your own rudder/elevator/aileron? If so, what did you use?

Glad you got the plane working though, its really cool to see and i like your idea's. The mesh idea is great too!

Any video's? =)
Firestem4 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 11:46 AM
  #16  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Yes it is the Eflite Airliner, Not the one on towerhobbies, it is the one from Horizon.

It is a full function 4 channel aircraft.

Here is an oboard video I did last summer I think it was

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Syo1JamYlts</EMBED>
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 07:29 PM
  #17  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Good on you Bill, now how bout the 4 motored monster? You get it figured out yet?
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 07:37 PM
  #18  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Originally Posted by Glacier Girl View Post
Good on you Bill, now how bout the 4 motored monster? You get it figured out yet?
That's next after getting Mason's Diamante built.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:26 PM
  #19  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

Bill, if you need any pictures of the "real steel" (or aluminum in this case) let me know. I'm forced to drive past lots of 777's (and every other 7) several times a day.

(Rough duty - but _someone_ has to do it)
Old Fart is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:32 PM
  #20  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Thanks Jeff,

I know that feeling all to well, gotta deal with F-15 Eagles and F-22 Raptors all day around here...
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:39 PM
  #21  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

Man, that sucks. I occasionally see a Beagle - but tell you what - I'll swap you an even dozen 767-300's for a Raptor, and throw in a free Airbus A320 (or a toaster) at no extra charge.
Old Fart is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:41 PM
  #22  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

LOL! Deal...

This is what we have to put up with at least a couple times a week... noisy things they are!

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqPa0v8lxH4[/media]
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:46 PM
  #23  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

LOL, I'm waiting for the first time a USAF pilot pulls that air show/3D stuff in combat - and some 3rd world Joe puts a $1000 SAM into his $138 million dollar flying machine.

I'll have to dig through my archives, I have a few "wtf??" pictures from LAX
Old Fart is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:00 AM
  #24  
raido56
Not nuts I'm Plane crazy
 
raido56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phila
Posts: 135
Default

Hi Bill,
I also just put 2 of the 35 amp Team Orion Avioncs ESC's in my airliner. Did you leave the stock factory program set on your ESC or did you program them? I have not had my airliner out since I put in the new ESC's as I am also puting in new motors for more power as I take off from a grass runway. I should have about 800 watts total with the new motors running 2-4s 2250 packs in it. I too do miss flying my airliner it does look great doing the low slow passes down the runway.

Keep em flying
raido56/ Herb
raido56 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:44 AM
  #25  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,596
Default

Hey Herb, I am running the stock programming on mine except for eliminating the BEC. I am running an external Medusa BEC.

This setup is performing flawlessly! I still have the stock motors in mine as I am fortunate enough to have a 400' long paved runway.
firemanbill is offline  

Quick Reply: New setup for my Airliner


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11791 seconds with 13 queries