Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Multi motor confusion

Old 03-05-2008, 09:47 AM
Lysander

Default Multi motor confusion

I have been flying brushless powered, single motor models for several years and I am entirely at home with installing such power trains. However, I am now putting together the Modell Studio (Czech) Parternavia Victor. http://www.puffinmodels.com/partenavia2020.htm

Wingspan 2020 mm
Length 1610mm
Airfoil Clark Y2
Wing area 50,5 dm
Flyweight c. 4000 - 4500 gr.

I am struggling with figuring out the power consequences (watts per pound) and Amps drawn by a twin system. I think that two Mega 22/30/3E motors would be suitable (110kv, Max Amp 50). I will be driving each motor through its own 40A ESC off its own Kokam 3200mAh 3S lipo although it has been suggested that both motors drawing off a single 3S2P pack might be wiser should one pack begin to fail for example.

This is where I get confused! For the sake of this discussion, let's say that a single 22/30/3E on a fullish throttle delivers 33A at a nominal 10V giving 330W. We have two motors giving that output. Our aircraft weighs about 10lbs. Questions:

1. I want to work out how many Watts per pound I have at my disposal. Do I add the output of the two motors together totalling 660W or 66W/lb? If I do and that is the answer, I wonder if these motors have enough grunt as even at say 40A, totalling 800W of output I still get only 80W/lb which is hardly enough for our grass field.

2. At the same throttle giving 33A draw from each motor I calculate that with a single, ganged pack of 3200mAh (total 6400mAh) 3S2P or each motor wired to its own 3S 3200mAh the endurance will be the same. I am right am I not?

3. How do I roughly calculate the endurance of this aircraft on this twin installation?

I think that'll do for now.
Old 03-06-2008, 06:30 AM
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!