Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

question about multi-motor configuration

Old 07-15-2008, 10:53 PM
  #1  
Firestem4
inexorably eccentric
Thread Starter
 
Firestem4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 256
Default question about multi-motor configuration

Hello, I've recently discoverd this B-17 model ARF kit that i'd like to buy sometime down the road. But i was wondering how i would be able to get it to work.

http://www.nitroplanes.com/nitromode...-arf-kit-.html

It has 4 motors and the requirements ask for 4xESC, 4xMotor, more than 1 battery.

I know with servo's you can use a Y-Cable and split 1 channel to control 2 servos.

But how do you control 4 motors, hooked up to 4 esc's for 1 throttle channel?

Hoepfully someone can exlpain because i would love to buy this plane.

If it helps with explanation, right now i have the DX6. So 6 channels. Is that enough?
Firestem4 is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 11:06 PM
  #2  
Firestem4
inexorably eccentric
Thread Starter
 
Firestem4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 256
Default

maybe thhis belongs in Power Systems thread. lol
Firestem4 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:51 AM
  #3  
Sky Sharkster
Super Contributor
 
Sky Sharkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,455
Default 4 Motors For The "Fort"?

Hello Firestem4, Welcome to Wattflyer!
I've never built a 4-motor model, but have a couple of suggestions.
First off, only brushless motors require separate ESCs. Brushed motors can all be run from the same ESC, in this case, I'd say 80 to 100amp.
Now, for a brushless setup, one method would be to connect the two right wing motors to (2) ESCs and connect the ESCs to a "Y" connector that runs to the fuselage. Same for the left wing. Now, at the fuselage end, you have two connector wire sets coming in, right and left. Connect these two to another "Y" and plug that into the throttle port of the RX.
The other way would be to use two Rx channels, one for two motors, the 2nd channel for the other two motors, and mix the 2nd channel to the throttle. Don't know if the radio you have can do this.
As far as a 6 channel radio, that's about the minimum for a multi-motor Warbird.
One channel for Rudder
One Channel for Elevator
One channel for ailerons
One channel for flaps
One or two channels for Motor
Possibly one channel for retracts.
So, it's a big, complicated and likely expensive project! But it has been done and I see no reason you couldn't, also.
Good Luck!
Ron
Sky Sharkster is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:01 AM
  #4  
Firestem4
inexorably eccentric
Thread Starter
 
Firestem4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 256
Default

Thanks for the info. I'll have to do some research, one of my friends said taht you cant split ESC's with a Y-Cable. If you can, then what you just suggested would work perfectly.
Firestem4 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:58 AM
  #5  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by Firestem4 View Post
Thanks for the info. I'll have to do some research, one of my friends said taht you cant split ESC's with a Y-Cable. If you can, then what you just suggested would work perfectly.
Firestem::Your bub's wrong on this one (we all do that), Yes you can and you can solder them yourself if you want (I do) hope you get her go'in your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 357.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	248.6 KB
ID:	72835   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 199.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	72836   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 538.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	211.5 KB
ID:	72837  
Bub Steve is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Firestem4
Power Systems
5
07-18-2008 11:13 PM
Lysander
Power Systems
4
03-07-2008 02:45 AM
Chip_Mull
Beginners
2
01-17-2008 04:03 PM
BeaverBob
Power Systems
2
07-21-2006 03:45 PM
vax6335
Power Systems
6
02-28-2006 03:02 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: question about multi-motor configuration


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15492 seconds with 17 queries