Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

airfield skytrainer nose gear issue

Old 10-23-2011, 02:26 AM
chewykab

Default airfield skytrainer nose gear issue

Hey guys..

So I bought an airfield skytrainer off of nitroplanes.com about a month ago... few close calls... considering I'm new at this and this is my first plane I think I had good luck... however I took the plane out for a flight today... it was deffinitely too windy but I decided to go for it anyway... take off went well, flight itself not too bad wind threw it around like crazy... same with approach... right before touchdown the plane stalls (flying against wind) and takes a dive with the nose gear taking the hit... didn't break but bent backwards scarring the fuse a bit... the rod that holds the wheel and goes into the shaft with allan screws gave way... other than that plane was in one piece....

Any of you guys know what a good replacement for that rod would be?? Something that would be a little stronger maybe.... I really like the skirts around the wheel and would rather not swap the whole gear out.

Thx in advance
Chewy
Old 10-29-2011, 07:51 PM
air4prs

Default Cessna Tail dragger

Save a lot of frustration and make it into a tail dragger. Also change the rudder servo to a metal gear servo and add a wheel to the tail.

Those trike landing gears are nothing but a lot of trouble, much better plane with a tail dragger setup.

I changed mine after beefing up the front gear and still had a bunch of trouble. Of course, i fly off grass which is a killer on trike gears.

Paul
Old 10-31-2011, 03:43 PM
scoote621

Originally Posted by air4prs View Post
Save a lot of frustration and make it into a tail dragger. Also change the rudder servo to a metal gear servo and add a wheel to the tail.

Those trike landing gears are nothing but a lot of trouble, much better plane with a tail dragger setup.