Beginners - Helis A forum where beginners can get help on the fundamentals for experts who know their stuff!

Venom Night Ranger 3D No Lift

Old 03-18-2006, 03:52 AM
en1gma

Unhappy Venom Night Ranger 3D No Lift

I've just made the transition from planes to helicopters and realised that it's much harder than it looks. I made a mistake by getting the Night Ranger 3D instead of a fixed pitch but am committed now.

My main problem is that as a newbie I've done the obvious and crashed it sideways even with the training gear, and this had caused the See-Saw ball joints to break. I've repaired these with metal ball joints and everything looks to move correctly. Trouble is, I have to set the PZT to maximun negative (very low battery life) and PLT to about half way to get any lift. Even then, I can't get more than a few inches off the ground. When I move the PZT setting, I can see the blades changing pitch so I know that they are working OK. It's starting to get really frustrating because I've had about 2 minutes of flight and 2 hours or repairs. Anyone else experienced this kind of problem?

I'm also finding that several of the grubb screws are coming loose and in fact the ones holding the main mast to the gear have gone resulting in yet another few days of no flight until they are replaced.
Old 03-18-2006, 04:09 AM
en1gma

In addition, I've disconnected the motors and checked the collective pitch when throttle is applied. Appears to be working fine so I'm stumped???!!!!!!
Old 04-18-2006, 01:17 AM
darkside212
Super Contributor

sounds like you need to reset your tx settings to the original setup....
locktite all your screws...that should keep them in.
Old 05-12-2006, 04:06 PM
Sleepstalker
Hover....Hover....DOH!!..

Default Venom

Check your pinion gear on your motor shaft....might be slipping if so locktite it back on..
Old 05-12-2006, 04:59 PM
darkside212
Super Contributor

Thats a good point..I've had the set screw on the main gear loosen multiple times..