General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Elevator Setup

Old 04-08-2011, 12:23 AM
  #1  
mr.warriorz
New Member
Thread Starter
 
mr.warriorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default Elevator Setup

Hi, im setting up my new f-18 and the elevator has a servo on each side. They are connected to a Y connector. But each side of the elevator move in the opposite direction.... Like ailerons. How do i make them move in the same direction? Im using a DX6i.
Thanks.
mr.warriorz is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 12:42 AM
  #2  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,121
Default

Buy a Y lead with a servo reverser module built in: http://www.servoshop.co.uk/index.php...1044&area=ACCS

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 12:44 AM
  #3  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Hi Kyle
Those would be called elevons
To program flaps and spoilers check out the videos here
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_lis...C2958453C5541E
Its also described in the txs manual
http://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/F...anual_DX6i.pdf
Hope this helps
Take care
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 12:48 AM
  #4  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,121
Default

Originally Posted by kenchiroalpha View Post
Hi Kyle
Those would be called elevons
Hank,
they are only elevons if you want them to work as elevators and ailerons. If the model already has ailerons on the wings then you probably just want the elevators to work as elevators.. So if you cant position the two servos so that you can come off opposite sides of the servo arm, then you need to reverse one of the servos.. hence the servo reversing Y lead.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:07 AM
  #5  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

What reciever are you using?
Old Fart is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:17 AM
  #6  
mr.warriorz
New Member
Thread Starter
 
mr.warriorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

ar6100e
mr.warriorz is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:23 AM
  #7  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

Run each half to a separate channel in the RX and mix them in the transmitter if you can.
Old Fart is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:47 AM
  #8  
dumo01
dumo01
 
dumo01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 775
Default

But the critical piece of info here still remains:
Are they supposed to be elevators or elevons?
dumo01 is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:55 PM
  #9  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

If he does as Old Fart says he can program them to be elevons which will assist the roll.
squidger is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 12:38 AM
  #10  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,121
Default

Originally Posted by squidger View Post
If he does as Old Fart says he can program them to be elevons which will assist the roll.
But then what does he do with the ailerons on the wings? You would and up with very complex mixing where the elevators worked as elevons and the ailerons worked as flaperons. Flaps and elevator would be mixed, presumably flaps would go down as elevators went up.

While this may work it would be safe to just use the elevators as elevators and the ailerons as ailerons?.. The KISS principal.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 01:10 AM
  #11  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

The ailerons would remain as ailerons and the elevators would use elevon mixing so both go up or down with elevator input but work in opposite directions when ailerons are used.
squidger is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 01:45 AM
  #12  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

This elevon setup is remarkably good... roll rate that is clinically insane!

[media]http://vimeo.com/5578144[/media]
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 03:16 AM
  #13  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

Not sure how much value in suggesting a fairly complex mix on a radio like the 6i. With a 9303 or a 9C, lots of fun possibilities like "aileron/elevon", "elevator/flap", etc
Old Fart is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 03:30 AM
  #14  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by squidger View Post
The ailerons would remain as ailerons and the elevators would use elevon mixing so both go up or down with elevator input but work in opposite directions when ailerons are used.
That works fine for the elevons by themselves - but, what Jetplaneflyer is saying is that the ailerons would ALSO move in the same way.

In other words, if he does that he will also have flaps/reflex automatically mixed to elevator. Not necessarily a good thing.

becides which, unless he has a higher end radio, he may not haved the option to program around that problem. Even so - it will be some complex mixing at best.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 04:09 AM
  #15  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by mr.warriorz View Post
Hi, im setting up my new f-18 and the elevator has a servo on each side. They are connected to a Y connector. But each side of the elevator move in the opposite direction.... Like ailerons. How do i make them move in the same direction? Im using a DX6i.
Thanks.
If you're using Spektrum receivers, be aware that one of my club members nearly lost a giant scale model with a 50 cc gasoline engine due to one of those "reversing harness cables".

The elevator servo connected to that reversing harness went to full up during the flight. (I saw it happen) It was still full up on landing.

He contacted Spektrum, who responded, "Don't use those reversing cables withour equipment". They have had problems. He mixed in the second servo through the transmitter and Aux #2 servo, and had no further problems.

Note that in the Spektrum DX7 transmitters, you need to use one of the "last two" mixes for this purpose, otherwise the servo trim on your transmitter will only move one elevator.

If you've got the mixing available in your transmitter, just mix in the second elevator servo to an unused channel (Aux 2?) on your receiver. My Spektrum DX7 transmitter and AR7000 receivers make this an easy solution.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:27 AM
  #16  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
But then what does he do with the ailerons on the wings? You would and up with very complex mixing where the elevators worked as elevons and the ailerons worked as flaperons. Flaps and elevator would be mixed, presumably flaps would go down as elevators went up.

While this may work it would be safe to just use the elevators as elevators and the ailerons as ailerons?.. The KISS principal.

I see what you are saying but I didn't mention flaperons. What I meant was the ailerons working just as ailerons and the elevators as elevons like in the film clip Nitroblast has posted. I realise you need a good radio to do this but it is entirely possible.
squidger is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:36 AM
  #17  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,121
Default

Originally Posted by squidger View Post
...I realise you need a good radio to do this but it is entirely possible.
It's not possible with the DX6i (which is the transmitter the original poster has)...

If two elevator servos can be put on the 'last two' mixes, as suggested by Kyle, working as plain elevators but with direction opposite handed then that would be the way to do it... I'm not sure if that can be done with the DX6i?

I dont see any reason in principal why a servo reverser should be more likely to fail with one brand of RC gear over another? But inevitably a reverser is another component that has the possibility to fail and the quality of some of them may be less that ideal, so if you can do it without the reverser so much the better.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 02:38 PM
  #18  
Flyer495th
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I would take one of the servo's bottoms off and change the 2 wires on the motor & also the 2 outer wires on the pot. Put it back together and use a regular Y. I have done it many times quick and easy fix.
Flyer495th is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 06:04 PM
  #19  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
It's not possible with the DX6i (which is the transmitter the original poster has)...

If two elevator servos can be put on the 'last two' mixes, as suggested by Kyle, working as plain elevators but with direction opposite handed then that would be the way to do it... I'm not sure if that can be done with the DX6i?

I dont see any reason in principal why a servo reverser should be more likely to fail with one brand of RC gear over another? But inevitably a reverser is another component that has the possibility to fail and the quality of some of them may be less that ideal, so if you can do it without the reverser so much the better.

Steve
Check the user guides for some of the Spektrum rx's. They say not to use AMPLIFIED Y HARNESSES. It doesnt say anything about servo reversers.

However, there have been reports of reversers also causing erratic servo operation with Spektrum gear.

I suspect some of those reports are due to using cheap reversers from HK etc and may have nothing to do with Spektrum.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 07:16 PM
  #20  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
I dont see any reason in principal why a servo reverser should be more likely to fail with one brand of RC gear over another? But inevitably a reverser is another component that has the possibility to fail and the quality of some of them may be less that ideal, so if you can do it without the reverser so much the better.

Steve
Not certain about this, but suspect that the servo reverser used by my club member was borderline in providing the proper signal voltage to the servos. Might have been that the club member was using a 5 cell Nicad pack which provided more voltage than the servo reverser was rated for.

Don't know. At any rate, trying to control and land a giant scale model that had one elevator section full up was a very scary thing to watch.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 07:19 PM
  #21  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Flyer495th View Post
I would take one of the servo's bottoms off and change the 2 wires on the motor & also the 2 outer wires on the pot. Put it back together and use a regular Y. I have done it many times quick and easy fix.
Don't know about the newer servos. Many of them have the motor directly soldered to the servo's circuit board, making it very difficult to rewire the connections.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 08:49 PM
  #22  
Simon
Member
 
Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 51
Default

Well, considering both servos are simply connected via a Y-Harness, one would expect both servo shafts to rotate in the same direction. If you can't plug one of them into another channel (to enable mixing and channel reversing etc) becasue they're all used, you may wish to consider the following work-around.

If the servos are mounted in the same orientation, this will present a difficulty - can you not orient them such that the same direction of rotation translates into opposite movement?

I.e have the wire exiting one servo towards the nose of the plane and the wire exiting the second servo towards the tail. They do say that a picture is worth a thousand words..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	physical servo reversing.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	10.7 KB
ID:	146261  
Simon is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.18137 seconds with 14 queries