Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Futaba Tx question

Old 03-03-2012, 02:58 PM
jbenini

Default Futaba Tx question

Greetings all, I'm starting to get back into the hobby after leaving in 1977. The plan is to do some scale electric experimentation with model hovercrafts (I'm a high school teacher and I build full size versions with my students) What I have at the moment is a Futaba FP-4NBL AM 4-ch transmitter, a GWS CE (motor controller?) a GWR-4N reciever, a Ni-cad battery pack and 2 GWS servos. I beleive the reciever is FM and the Tx is AM. What can I do to make everything compatible? I'm guessing the reciever will have to be replaced with an AM version, and I'll need a new battery pack and charger for both for the Tx and the hover. The Tx shows low battery when I turn it on, so my guess it's still working. I read that the 72mhz band was really for planes not gound vehicles, but I'm not planning on "flying" the models anywhere except at school. OK, what does everybody think is my best (and least costly) plan of action? Thanks! JB
Old 03-03-2012, 03:11 PM
Bub Steve
Super Contributor

Your gonna need a FM transmiter (TX for short) and your crystals are going to have to match as well ,,thats the bad news,,The Good news is that most RC flyers are useing 2.4 TX's now and used or free TX's are everywhere,,If you were closer I would fix you up with a used one,
Hovercraft kinda fly so FM 72mhz should be Cool,,I've had a kids RC club for 14 years and have the best times working with them,,good luck, let us know if you need anything,bubsteve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty_an_red_094.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	157813  
Old 03-03-2012, 03:18 PM
pmullen503
Super Contributor

Ebay, your local RC club, or an RC swap meet are places to find, older used equipment. Someone on this forum may have what you need.