General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

ducted fan alternative for twin jets appearance.

Old 11-22-2014, 05:36 AM
gadgeter
It's a Possibility!

Default ducted fan alternative for twin jets appearance.

I am building what will be a kit for beginners to put together starting from a foam glider. The kit will include the radio receiver servos and linkages to put together a four channel (or three) airplane. The parts will be included along with a prefab glider and instructions to do it yourself!
The plane has a about a 34 inch wingspan but is very light and I'm looking to put twin ducted fans under each wing for power that will mimic a jet engine look.

Any suggestions on where to start looking for ducted fans and how to assess their power ratings? I have never dealt with ducted fans before and I am not familiar with thrust to weight ratio they provide.
Any suggestions would be great I am just getting started on this project.
Thanks!
Old 11-22-2014, 08:11 AM
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger

hmm I wish I could help answer your question. I have to ask are you putting together a kit for beginners into building but no how to fly or are you thinking this plane kit will be good as a beginner plane? EDFs can be a challenge for the new pilot. Just curious, but as far as you question goes I think you need to provide a bit more info as to what size 64mm or smaller?
Old 11-22-2014, 09:02 AM
fhhuber
Super Contributor

EDF have some tendencies that make them generally poor choices for beginners.

The shroud adds weight.

The high RPM is relatively inefficient requiring you to use appx 150% the watts you would need if using a conventional 2 blade prop. This means even more weight for batteries or significantly reduced flying time (usually both)

The nature of the fan working best with high speed "ram" air intake means that they are best suited for higher speed models which are not appropriate for beginners.