3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

E-Flite Extra 260 wrong motor setup?

Old 12-18-2007, 03:27 AM
  #1  
CJQ
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NQ Australia
Posts: 27
Default E-Flite Extra 260 wrong motor setup?

I just purchased a E-flite Extra 260 3D 480 from a local hobbie shop here in Australia.
They supplied the plane and a E Flite 480 outrunner motor & 20-25 amp E Flite speedy and 2200mha 3S 18C lipo. The manual recomends a 12x6 or 11x7 prop.
I tested the motor with a watt meter using the 11x7 prop and found at full throtle it was pulling 30amps with 250 watts.
I tried a 11x4.7 and got 25amps and 220 watts. Does the wattage measured on the ground equate to the same level when flying?
I then flew it and found it to be very sluggish in vertical climbs and I've been told to do hovers you need to able to excelerate pretty quickly from hovers to be able to do them properly.
After calculating the power to weight ratio I found its about 140 watts/pound and going by the charts I should have 200+ watts/pound.
Has anyone tried this plane, what was the setup?
Should I be looking at a higher wattage motor?
Thanks
CJQ is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:01 AM
  #2  
Mr. Baggins
Goofball
 
Mr. Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: God's country
Posts: 1,353
Default

Which 480 is it? 1020 or 910 KV
Mr. Baggins is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:41 AM
  #3  
CJQ
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NQ Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Motor Specs
Model EFLM1500
Kv 910
Continuous Current 20 amps
Max Burst Current 25 amps
CJQ is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 11:47 PM
  #4  
Mr. Baggins
Goofball
 
Mr. Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: God's country
Posts: 1,353
Default

There's your answer. The 1020 is the one you want with the 12x6E prop. I use both but on the 910 I use a APC 13x4E prop. I really like that setup myself. Give the 13x4E a try and see what you think.
Mr. Baggins is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 02:45 AM
  #5  
CJQ
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NQ Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for the info Mr Baggins
CJQ is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:29 PM
  #6  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default Check your battery

CJQ, based on your testing, it looks like the voltage of your pack is sagging. You said with the 11x7 prop it was pulling 30amps and producing 250watts. That yields a voltage of 8.3v. That will probably damage the battery. Make sure your pack is fully charged. If that's not it, I wouldn't trust that C rating.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:40 PM
  #7  
BuzzardBait
Landing Gear?????????
 
BuzzardBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 226
Default

Originally Posted by CJQ View Post
. Does the wattage measured on the ground equate to the same level when flying?

Mr. Baggins answered you other Q's...

The answer to this is.. No.. and Yes.....

because you're moving foward in the air when flying, less load is placed on the motor at a given throttle position as the plane reaches whatever speed it would reach for that throttle position..

However.. In a however.. if it takes 3/4 throttle to hover, the load on the motor is going to pretty much be exactly what it is at 3/4 throttle on the bench.

Another thing that can make a difference between static testing and in the air is propellar choice. High pitch propellars can "stall-out" when on the bench.. this means that they are creating too much turbulence and not taking the bite out of the air that they should.... In THIS case.. your WOT on the bench may be less than WOT at 10KTS in the air when the propellar starts to get bite... With 3d planes.. its usually wiser to stay with a lower pitch, bigger diameter prop to aviod this problem since you will be trucking around at very low airspeeds a lot of the time. Hence the 13X4 Mr Baggins suggests!
BuzzardBait is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:12 AM
  #8  
CJQ
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NQ Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for the info guys.

When I had the meter on doing a static test I kept an eye on the voltage and it didn't go below 10 amps.

I have since spoken to Model Filght here in Aust and they think there is somethink the matter with the motor or speedy as they have sold hundreds or these motor/speedy conbination and have had a couple with simular problems, so I sending it back and I'm going to replace it with the next size motor up which is 350Watt 30 amp 11Kv
CJQ is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jobu
General Electric Discussions
7
04-01-2008 05:27 AM
RandolphNav
ParkFlyers
3
07-18-2007 07:59 AM
PatternFlyer
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
5
06-16-2007 12:16 PM
WRX Dave
Foamies
0
01-16-2007 11:12 PM
debhicks
New Product Announcements
0
11-07-2006 11:19 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: E-Flite Extra 260 wrong motor setup?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10414 seconds with 13 queries