Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

Whats the best plane/radio for AP? please advise

Old 11-26-2006, 11:32 PM
kybrowns

Question Whats the best plane/radio for AP? please advise

I've just discovered this site and I'm loving all the AP stuff. I want to jump into this myself, maybe win a AP contest. ha ha

I only fly electric which seems to be the best choice anyway. I teach so I don't have tons of time or a huge budget to build a complicated plane. For that matter I have never built a plane before. I've been flying parkzone planes for years now.

Since I have been flying these parkzone planes I guess I will need to purchase a radio also. I was going to use the radio that came with my stykerC but everyone seems pretty down on parkzone electronics. I have not had a problem yet.

From what I've read it seems these are the best planes for me:
What's your opinion? I would probably go the brushless option on any of these aircraft unless you think its unnecessary.

-Mountain Models AP plane-- My cyber shot camera is longer than the camera bay, is this a big deal or can this be easily fixed.

-EasyStar--Seems to be good choice maybe the best choice

-EasyGlider--leaning toward this because of its ability to handle more wind than the others, and I think I would enjoy the sailplane experience. Seems like it could handle the heaviest payload.

-Wingo--I like its adaptability(water)(skis) and ruggedness.

As far as radios, I'm lost. The new spectra radio seems the way to go, but does it have the range if I choose the glider plane??

Thanks,
kybrowns

Last edited by kybrowns; 12-30-2006 at 05:28 AM.
Old 11-27-2006, 01:22 AM
Kosh
Super Contributor

Welcome to Wattflyer kybrowns,