Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

Parkzone Spitfire- Rebuild /Dx6i /CF rods /Wing clip

Old 01-26-2009, 12:57 AM
  #26  
DetroitHawk
Super Awesome
 
DetroitHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,160
Default

When you clip the wing tips like that it makes the plane roll faster, BUT it also makes the plane torque roll easier too! Just make sure you give it a good hard throw up on a 45 into the sky. You shouldnt have to worry about stalling the plane out as long as you launch on WOT. I tossed it once kinda gingerly and i had to do a roll on launch!!! I nearly wet myself, there were about 10-12 people watching and i turned to them after i regained control and said "This is how i always take off." LOL



I fly my spitfire around with the CG @ 70mm from the front of the wing.

I like the master airscrew props because they handle landings better. I have broken a few APC props while comming in on a belly landing, make sure you also inspect the prop EVERY LAUNCH!!! If the prop is damaged and it breaks while the motor is spinning you run the risk of tearing your motor and/or plane apart if it comes out of balance. The APC props work but i feel safer with a MAS prop.
DetroitHawk is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:07 PM
  #27  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default WattsUp

Solid info DH, as always.
I clipped the wings to increase the roll rate, had no torque roll issues with the stock setup, I'll be carefull on the first few launches with the BL.

I launch slightly differently, prefer to aim at a point on the ground about 60m away, take a few fast steps and swing my arm so I feel the plane get lift just before I let go, no climb out untill I get a bit of speed (10m usually).

I'll get the cg back to 65mm to start and then slowly move it back if I think I need to.

The APC props do break easier, I have used master airscrew before on nitro planes with good results - more durable.

I ran things up to speed last night and noticed I had a flat band from 85-100% throttle (only kept it there for a sec). Some investigation with a watt meter shows why!

Setup is:
Motor specs: 1450Kv, 350W, 15-25A constant, 30A -60seconds)
8x4 APC prop
ESC:40A
Battery: Parkzone 3s 2200mAh 12C (26.4A)

I measured (static mount)
Voltage @ 11.4v - 9.36v (High-Low)
Amps @ 29.14A peak, 20A @ 50% Throttle mark
Watts @ 283.5W peak

So,,, Need a new higher C rating battery, or two. (I kinda knew I would, )

I'll try the 7x5 prop next.

Now where did I hide my RPM meter... somewhere safe from myself by the looks of it.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6225_1_1.JPG
Views:	199
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	91845   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6226_1_1.JPG
Views:	189
Size:	83.2 KB
ID:	91846   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6227_1_1.JPG
Views:	174
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	91847  

Last edited by LectricPlane; 02-09-2009 at 03:33 PM. Reason: correct 50% Amps
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:56 PM
  #28  
DetroitHawk
Super Awesome
 
DetroitHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,160
Default

those are some powerful numbers, seems right on the mark. BUT you should test out a 7x9 apc prop and see what numbers you get.
DetroitHawk is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 03:23 PM
  #29  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default Survived the re-maiden!

Survived the first flight! 2˝ minutes in a bit of 2much wind, but I couldn't wait any longer. Proof of life attached below.

The first launch ended in an emergency landing after torque roll (I never thought I'd say that) made things interesting. Luckily I managed to drop the power a bit and put it down safe a few meters away.

I spent almost the entire flight @ half throttle as the battery will not cope with much more (12c), waiting in anticipation for the new one to arrive.

At half throttle it is definitely faster than stock but not hugely noticable. (I do think that I may notice more if I had a stock version to fly again)
I must test the 7x5 prop for current draw, it's probably a better option untill the new 30C battery arrives.



---
Edit: Added results from 7x5 APC prop with the 1450Kv Motor
24.19A peak
246.7W peak
9.87V min
Much better.
---
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2541_1.JPG
Views:	166
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	93090   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2543_1.JPG
Views:	177
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	93115   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2544_1.JPG
Views:	171
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	93116   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2545_1.JPG
Views:	154
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	93117  

Last edited by LectricPlane; 02-09-2009 at 08:56 PM.
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:24 AM
  #30  
DetroitHawk
Super Awesome
 
DetroitHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,160
Default

Originally Posted by DetroitHawk View Post
When you clip the wing tips like that it makes the plane roll faster, BUT it also makes the plane torque roll easier too!
LOL
DetroitHawk is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:04 PM
  #31  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Talking She MOVES

So here is a little 40s clip of todays lunchtime flight.

[media]http://vimeo.com/3476830?pg=transcoded_embed&sec=3476830[/media]
She MOVES.

8x4 prop...

5:30min flight and put back 1750mA into the 2200mAh batt.



'Hope I got the link in ok... 1st try @ online video.
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 04:27 AM
  #32  
jasonthehunted
lawn dart
 
jasonthehunted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dallas tx
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by LectricPlane View Post
She MOVES.

understatement. She Hauls!!!
jasonthehunted is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:15 PM
  #33  
driggs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default spitfire question

hey guys i just got my PZ spit airframe and was doing a brushless conversion and seen the top of the outer layer (skin), was not fully seated against the motor mount is it supposed to be like that?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0385.JPG
Views:	148
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	95625  
driggs is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:16 PM
  #34  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default

Hey Driggs
Welcome.

Mine was a bit out but not as much, about ˝mm. I'd say check the battery area for cracks in the plastic & check the edges where the wing meets the fuse for unstuck tape, sometimes they come with the covering still on the tape, so not stuck in the first place is probably more likely.

A new inner for the fuselage is cheap although I have repaired mine rather than replaced, more because of impatience than anything. If it looks ok inside and was flying fine before, maybe just stop it from flexing any further with some epoxy.

The nose area on mine was looking a bit flexi (previous crash damage i think) so keeping in mind the way I tend to forget about G force when I fly I installed a CF arrow shaft from the firewall to just behind the pilot on each side.

Last edited by LectricPlane; 03-07-2009 at 11:17 PM. Reason: Spelling
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:02 AM
  #35  
driggs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

this is a brand new airframe,, do they look like this normaly? this bird hasnt yet left the ground....
driggs is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:14 AM
  #36  
pvtzemerak
3D Huckifyer!
 
pvtzemerak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Motgomery County, PA
Posts: 591
Default

Letric, wow, She really moves Quick.
I might try a brushless set-up for the fouck wulf, still deciding for the next few years.
--PvT
pvtzemerak is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:53 AM
  #37  
driggs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

this is a brand new airframe,, do they look like this normaly? this bird hasnt yet left the ground....its getting a Align 3550 kv brushless with a align 35 amp ESC, ive just installed a wing spar and como paint this motor setup lasted 2 flights in the PK p51, the wings just folded like paper yesterday, so im trying the spit and it seems to be built a hole lot better then the p51,this is where im at now, just waiting for somone to tell me that there bird came with the nose like this.........
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0385.JPG
Views:	143
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	95696   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0386.JPG
Views:	180
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	95697  
driggs is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:44 PM
  #38  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default

Originally Posted by driggs View Post
this is a brand new airframe,, do they look like this normaly? this bird hasnt yet left the ground....//// just waiting for somone to tell me that there bird came with the nose like this.........
In short.
No.
Not mine anyway.

Nice leaf effect paint job. What did you use as a base coat over the plastic covering?
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 09:22 PM
  #39  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default 8x4 Master Airscrew Electric Prop Unwind

Hi

Been a while. I am still loving this plane.

I am running a MAS 8x4prop on this now and have made a camera pod (Because I can and this is my only plane at the mo).

I recently took delivery of some of those nice cheap orange lipos from that popular auction site. MYSTERY brand.

I have 4 Lipos, all 2200mAh:
#1 parkzone 12C
#2 RCmodelpart 25C (ebay cheap)
#3 Mystery 25C (ebay cheap)
#4 Mystery 25C (ebay cheap)

Numbers on the wattmeter @ static with this prop and one of the new batteries are 10.29Vmin / 34.65Apeak / 367Wpeak. I think they are giving better power delivery than the last one even though they are the same rating. Possibly Lipo #2 is not quite as good as the manufacturers think.

Does anyone know how much I can expect the amp draw to "unwind" in flight?

Last edited by LectricPlane; 04-21-2009 at 09:25 PM. Reason: Accuracy/Spelling
LectricPlane is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 01:14 PM
  #40  
DetroitHawk
Super Awesome
 
DetroitHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,160
Default

that is a really good question, i cant say exactly, but what i did was bench mount my plane/motor/prop combo and then hooked up a hugh speed fan to ram air through the setup and i did notice a fair amount of drop-off. However it has been a few years since i did those tests.
DetroitHawk is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 03:01 PM
  #41  
Gohmer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 631
Smile Unwind

Originally Posted by LectricPlane View Post
Hi

Been a while. I am still loving this plane.

I am running a MAS 8x4prop on this now and have made a camera pod (Because I can and this is my only plane at the mo).

I recently took delivery of some of those nice cheap orange lipos from that popular auction site. MYSTERY brand.

I have 4 Lipos, all 2200mAh:
#1 parkzone 12C
#2 RCmodelpart 25C (ebay cheap)
#3 Mystery 25C (ebay cheap)
#4 Mystery 25C (ebay cheap)

Numbers on the wattmeter @ static with this prop and one of the new batteries are 10.29Vmin / 34.65Apeak / 367Wpeak. I think they are giving better power delivery than the last one even though they are the same rating. Possibly Lipo #2 is not quite as good as the manufacturers think.

Does anyone know how much I can expect the amp draw to "unwind" in flight?
Here is how you can find out, along with lots of other data:
http://64.33.154.92/blackdogrc/dataAq.jsp?c=5041022
Gohmer is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 03:36 PM
  #42  
dghutt
duckling
 
dghutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29
Default

I've read that the amp draw goes down anywhere from 5-20% in-flight, depending on factors like the general plane shape and draggyness (technical term), prop used, pack age and quality and so-on. I understand it's hard to measure because the pack's voltage begins gradually dropping almost immediately, so two minutes into your flight the amp draw is already battery-limited.
dghutt is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 08:32 PM
  #43  
LectricPlane
Member
Thread Starter
 
LectricPlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Default

Thanks for the replies guys.

I have had my eye on one of those eagletree loggers for a while.. Just can't make myself hit the buy button. They look so neat.

I realy hope the draw is dropping by about 15% or so... or else I am going over the max 30A of this motor... Not too far though I guess.

Last edited by LectricPlane; 04-23-2009 at 08:51 PM.
LectricPlane is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
greent99
Beginners
2
10-03-2008 11:53 PM
greent99
General Electric Discussions
8
10-03-2008 02:56 PM
beavenx5
Beginners
23
06-02-2008 07:57 PM
thehaze
Warbird Electrics
4
05-09-2008 03:58 AM
marchino61
Warbird Electrics
13
06-30-2007 10:38 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Parkzone Spitfire- Rebuild /Dx6i /CF rods /Wing clip


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09911 seconds with 25 queries