Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

GP .25 Spitfire... Will a Eflite 25 fit?

Old 08-28-2008, 02:50 AM
Mathieas

Default GP .25 Spitfire... Will a Eflite 25 fit?

I am looking for someone with some info on using a Eflite 25 in the GP Spitfire .25 http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1478.html. Does this engine fit in the plane well? Power looks alright but I am unsure which prop to use? Does it hit the ground(longer then 9X6 sprot prop)? how about the cowling? Does this larger motor fit inside the cowling? What mods did you have to make you get the motor mounted? How about the weight?
Thank you all so much for your time and consideration.
Jonathan

PS: I am pretty new to useing non standard parts.. I was not to excited about the Rimfire reviews i have read and wanted to steer clear but this has lead me to wonder about compatability. In the end any advice or info you could send my way woudl be amazing.

Last edited by Mathieas; 08-28-2008 at 03:57 AM.
Old 08-28-2008, 04:53 AM
ltbidrawn

Default i have both....

i have both....a GP spit and GP p40 warhawk. used eflite power 25s in both. performance was good but the planes were heavy with poor wingloading.
a much better (in fact superior) choice would be an eflite power 10 with a 10x10 prop. they absolutely rip now.
good luck
Old 08-28-2008, 04:57 AM
ltbidrawn

Default oh yeah..the fit

you will need to modify the stock engine mount to fit either motor. for the 25, you're basically going to shave all but a 1/2-inch from the wooden mount. the 10 almost fits.
but neither one is going to go in without a fight. you will need to modify the mount. not hard though...if i can do it, anyone can.
Old 08-28-2008, 07:19 AM
Mathieas