Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

New hobby - my plan - tell me what you think.

Old 05-24-2020, 11:56 PM
Elecam

Default New hobby - my plan - tell me what you think.

To start out, I am a fairly high time pilot. I worked as a pilot for many years before I lost my medical and had to retire. I've dabbled in many hobbies over the years and I am getting bored and wanted to try something new, something involving aviation in some form.

So I figured I'd try RC. I've been doing some reading and even though I have been a pilot, the idea of controlling an aircraft from any location other than the cockpit seems strange and alien to me, so a crash is almost inevitable, so my first model should be cheap and durable. I've been looking around and saw this model and thought it looked like a good one.

Model: FMS Sky Trainer 182 RC Airplane 5CH 1400mm (55.5") Wingspan at Blue with Flaps (I would have posted a links but I don't know the policy for this site and figured better safe than sorry)

Now this version is ready built (mostly) and does not have a receiver, radio, charger or battery. And I could use some advice where that is concerned as well, but I was looking at this:

Radio/Receiver: Spektrum DX8 Transmitter with AR8010T Receiver: 8-Channel 2.4GHz DSMX Air RC Radio (Gen 2 Mode 2) with AR8010T Telemetry Rx, SPM8015

Batt: E-flite 11.1V 2200mAh 3S 30C LiPo Battery

Charger: Tenergy TB6-B Balance Charger Discharger 1S-6S Digital Battery Pack Charger

I'm new to this so don't worry about hurting my feelings, any advice is appreciated.

Thx
Old 05-25-2020, 06:10 PM
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF

Welcome to the hobby and to Wattflyer.
You maybe a bit overwhelmed with the programming and capabilities of the DX8 transmitter at first but it is a great radio.
My personal radio is a DX8g2, I hope you are looking at the g2 model as it has more model memory and other features.