Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Homemade RC Glider

Old 07-23-2019, 09:04 PM
  #51  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,830
Default

aaindthu
You can run the cables through a guide tube but the servo and control horn should still be in the same plane or fairly close to it.
What is important is that when the servo is deflected the tension in the cables should tend to slacken rather than increase..
The trick with pull/pull cables is not to over tension them in the first place as apart from overloading bearings and hinges it will put an additional constant load onto the fuselage.
If you can keep the cables running inside or close to the surface of the fuselage any bending should not be an issue on a plane that is rigid enough to fly!
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-02-2019, 01:17 AM
  #52  
aaindthu
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: i live in chennai, tamil nadu, India
Posts: 99
Default

the progress so far...

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190802_051413_HDR.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	1.35 MB
ID:	187594Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190802_051158_HDR.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	1.38 MB
ID:	187595Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190802_050505_HDR.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	1.31 MB
ID:	187596Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190802_050446_HDR.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	187597

I did not use the pull pull cable technique because... after 5 crashes in a row, I was hesitant to do
anything that's either complicated or that which is new to me. So I went with what i know - the regular push rods.

aaindthu is offline  
Old 08-02-2019, 02:30 PM
  #53  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,830
Default

That looks very neat.
I do wonder if you will ever actually need flaps other that to play with to see what happens.

ff I was doing it i would have kept it simple and used just 3 servos (ailerons and elevator) instead of six and put the elevator servo right at the back with a short direct link as you have done for the ailerons.
Such a linkage is significantly more efficient and gives a higher 'precision' than a snake and guess which control needs the greatest precision for accurate flight - the elevator!

As long as you have the CofG more or less in the right place it should fly and I suspect quite well too.
Do let us all know how you get on.
.
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-02-2019, 02:37 PM
  #54  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,830
Default

That looks very neat although I doubt you will really need the flaps.

If I was doing it I would have used just 3 servo (ailerons and elevator) rather than 6 and placed the elevator servo right at the back with a short link as you have done for the ailerons.
Such a linkage is both more efficient and gives a greater 'precision' of movement and guess which surface requires the greatest precision for accurate flight - the elevator.

If you get the CofG something like in the right place it should fly and I suspect quite well too.
Do let us all know how you get on.
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-17-2019, 02:29 PM
  #55  
aaindthu
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: i live in chennai, tamil nadu, India
Posts: 99
Default

My glider is ready to fly.
weighs 907 grams, and C.G is around 20% from L.E.
The 2m Wings are strong enough as seen from the wing load test
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190817_160213_HDR.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	1.29 MB
ID:	187624

I thought flaps would be useful to land the glider when slope soaring.
I've cut the 11 inch folding prop into a little less than 9 inch one. I've cut it myself with hand, and have no vibration kind of problem.
will fly it soon.

Last edited by aaindthu; 08-17-2019 at 02:52 PM.
aaindthu is offline  
Old 08-17-2019, 03:56 PM
  #56  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,830
Default

Good load test!
What made you decide to cut down the prop? At 11 inch was it drawing to many amps for the speed controller?
A 11 inch prop cut down to 9 is not quite as efficient as a true 9 if they have the same pitch.
Also a bigger prop run at lower power is significantly better at converting each watt into thrust. Unless you have to go fast big slow props are better.

Last edited by quorneng; 08-19-2019 at 12:05 AM.
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-17-2019, 06:03 PM
  #57  
aaindthu
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: i live in chennai, tamil nadu, India
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by quorneng View Post
Good load test!
At 11 inch was it drawing to many amps for the speed controller?
.
11 inch prop was creating torque problems for the motor. It was a learning experience for me from my previous glider.
that 11 inch prop made my previous glider to spin out of the sky. so, i cut it down to a 9 inch for my new design.
aaindthu is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Jimigunne
Foamies
9
11-05-2018 08:21 AM
ayubkhan5130
Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft
7
09-24-2018 07:12 PM
AEAJR
Beginners
28
02-16-2016 12:19 AM
planefixr
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2
08-06-2012 03:56 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Homemade RC Glider


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05667 seconds with 10 queries