ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Brushless for HobbyZone Super Cub?

Old 11-23-2006, 08:07 PM
  #1  
aeromite
Figure 9 Specialist
Thread Starter
 
aeromite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: A Barrier Island in NJ - U.S.A.
Posts: 210
Default Brushless for HobbyZone Super Cub?

I'm ready to go brushless on my Super Cub. I bought a "kit" by getting all of the parts for this great plane. Has anyone already converted to brusless? Can anyone recommend the best outrunner to install in this plane?

Aeromite
aeromite is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:34 PM
  #2  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

I'll bet a E-Flight Park 380 or Park 400 outrunner would be a great set up. I don't recall anybody converting theres to BL, you might be the 1st!!!

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 04:43 PM
  #3  
aeromite
Figure 9 Specialist
Thread Starter
 
aeromite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: A Barrier Island in NJ - U.S.A.
Posts: 210
Default

Originally Posted by Crash Test Dummy View Post
I'll bet a E-Flight Park 380 or Park 400 outrunner would be a great set up. I don't recall anybody converting theres to BL, you might be the 1st!!!

CTD

Great! Never really wanted to be the first - LOL! I will be using my new DX6 radio in what seems like a really nice plane from all reports I've read and seen. Thanks for the suggested power plants!
aeromite is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 03:31 AM
  #4  
CubPhoon
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I have modified my SC with Typhoon ailerons, E-Flight 450 Outrunner (moving to a 480 soon), and 25 amp speed controller. 7 watts of power for every once of weight will provide a nice fast plane.
CubPhoon is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 03:01 PM
  #5  
CitaFly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Default

Curious about your aileron setup - can you post some pics??
CitaFly is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 04:25 AM
  #6  
CubPhoon
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I can get some pics up this weekend - Gotta find my camera.
CubPhoon is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 04:45 PM
  #7  
Loopy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 59
Default

Originally Posted by aeromite View Post
I'm ready to go brushless on my Super Cub. I bought a "kit" by getting all of the parts for this great plane. Has anyone already converted to brusless? Can anyone recommend the best outrunner to install in this plane?

Aeromite
Here is a video of a super cub after brushless convertion. He might have some suggestions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ye40CLpIGVo
Loopy is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 06:30 AM
  #8  
SassyDave
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 14
Default

Did you ever get any pics of your motor setup?
SassyDave is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 05:06 PM
  #9  
WJCJR
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default My motor mount.

Go see the topic above titled Control Trouble After Mod. In the post I have pictures of my mount and a couple helpful links to some very useful information.

Wayne
WJCJR is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 06:19 AM
  #10  
WJCJR
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default 450 Ourunner Mount

Here's the pictures of my motor mount.

First real flight was today. WOW this is a great set-up for the Super Cub. With the current thrust angles displayed oin the photos the plane flies straight as an arrow with all control surfaces trimmed flat and straight.

Check out this post, detailed are some COG troubles I ran into after removing the weighty stock equipment. http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16919

Any questions please shoot and do let us know what you decide to go with in the end.

Wayne
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Side view.jpg
Views:	2212
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	25922   Click image for larger version

Name:	Top view.jpg
Views:	2511
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	25923  
WJCJR is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 03:34 AM
  #11  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

WJCJR: PM Sent. Also how was the servo conversion? I'd like to see a pic of that, either yours or another's. How hard is it to do? Do the old ones rip out pretty easily?

I am 90% sure I am converting my SC to Brushless this week, with a Spektrum DX6 and Phoenix 25 ESC. Nice way to blow $300 and an evening! (Still cheaper than a new plane though!)
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 04:37 AM
  #12  
SassyDave
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 14
Default

Originally Posted by WJCJR View Post
First real flight was today. WOW this is a great set-up for the Super Cub. With the current thrust angles displayed oin the photos the plane flies straight as an arrow with all control surfaces trimmed flat and straight.

Does anyone know of a less expensive alternative to the EFlite 450 brushless motor that provides the same kind of power?

--Dave
SassyDave is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 05:01 AM
  #13  
The Bandit
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 174
Default

Originally Posted by SassyDave View Post
Does anyone know of a less expensive alternative to the EFlite 450 brushless motor that provides the same kind of power?

--Dave
My brother installed a $28 welgard in his...it flew equal to the other cub with a eflite 450. But we're getting away from Welgard, the shaft is made of really weak metal. He's on his third shaft. I would go with Himaxx...just a little cheaper than eflite, but one hell of a motor. I hear a lot of people using BP brand motors and seem to like it.
The Bandit is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 03:37 PM
  #14  
CitaFly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by SassyDave View Post
Does anyone know of a less expensive alternative to the EFlite 450 brushless motor that provides the same kind of power?

--Dave
You could try a Scorpion - a little cheaper but not cheaply built. My review of the 2215-22 here:

http://www.ampaviators.com/index.php...d=27&Itemid=27
CitaFly is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 03:48 PM
  #15  
CitaFly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by ORD2FRA View Post
WJCJR: PM Sent. Also how was the servo conversion? I'd like to see a pic of that
Here's a pic of mine using two Spektrum S75s - I glued one piece of 1/16" plywood aft and the second piece forward is just a snug fit - this way you can easily pull the servos if you have to.

I led the servo wires aft - I have the receiver in the aft body compartment, leaving the battery compartment uncluttered.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	scservo.jpg
Views:	1347
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	26048  
CitaFly is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 04:30 AM
  #16  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

I went to the LHS for a BL motor setup... they were out of the Park 450s. I got a Hacker A20-20L. Big mistake. I get home and see they are for 15-18 ounce aircraft. Our Super Cub is 26-28 ounces.

Luckily I can return it and get a Park 480. I want some strong power and the ability to use 10x6 to 10x8 props. This, and the Phoenix 25 ESC will provide the punch I'm looking for. Radio is a DX6.
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 03:54 PM
  #17  
CitaFly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Default

With the 480, you could go to 11x8 - the recommended props range from 10" to 12"; an 11x8 is going to give you plenty of punch.
CitaFly is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:34 PM
  #18  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

Okay I got realistic and got a Hacker A20-26M, the recommended one on PeakEff-Pick A Motor. It'll still be about 113 watts/pound, which will still provide some good punch for the Super Cub. It's a bit more power than the Park 450.

Will use a stick mount and a 9x6 APC prop.
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 01:52 AM
  #19  
WJCJR
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default Nice

With the 450 and the 9.6V 1500 Elites I get tons of punch.

If you are getting more power with that motor choice you will have plenty to spare. As a matter of fact, I rarely go over 50-60% throttle otherwise the plane eats up territory quickly and a three soccer ball field sized area goes by awfully quickly.

Do you have experience with the Phoenix 25? I am impressed one can reinvent the wheel with all the features this thing offers.

Get everything hooked up and let us know.

Wayne
WJCJR is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:02 PM
  #20  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

Here are some pics of my conversion...
  • Hacker A20-26M
  • Spektrum DX6
  • PHX 25 ESC
  • 9x6 electric prop
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020613.JPG
Views:	1689
Size:	168.7 KB
ID:	26348   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020615.JPG
Views:	1978
Size:	153.7 KB
ID:	26349   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020617.JPG
Views:	1673
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	26350  
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 02:40 AM
  #21  
SassyDave
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 14
Default

Originally Posted by ORD2FRA View Post
Here are some pics of my conversion...
  • Hacker A20-26M
  • Spektrum DX6
  • PHX 25 ESC
  • 9x6 electric prop

How durable is the stick mount? Have you had any hard nose-ins?
SassyDave is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 06:33 AM
  #22  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

Originally Posted by SassyDave View Post
How durable is the stick mount? Have you had any hard nose-ins?
No nose-ins, at worst a ground loop. I'd rather cartwheel a wingtip than nose in. I'm confident enough that I can keep the nose off the ground at all times! If it does break someday, I have about 26" of wood left to make a new one, and a 1/4" drill bit works fine for that.
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 03:28 PM
  #23  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Originally Posted by ORD2FRA View Post
Here are some pics of my conversion...
  • Hacker A20-26M
  • Spektrum DX6
  • PHX 25 ESC
  • 9x6 electric prop
Man that's a wicked amount of thrust offset.
simibill is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 12:09 AM
  #24  
ORD2FRA
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 111
Default

I got some onboard video of the brushless:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFvnpfYEfb0

Flies great now, very quiet. Thrust offset not an issue, in fact I needed to trim in some right rudder to keep it straight.

The only downside to brushless is what caused me to crash on the fifth flight today: I can't hear it! I had flown about 7-8 minutes (including the video) on this particular pack, and I didn't her the LVC (low voltage cutoff). It was so quiet that I thought I still had power. Well, I tip stalled and it hit nose first into the ground. It broke the motor mount and cowl, but that was all. Stick mount still intact. The stick is 2/3 inside the airplane, a good 4-5 inches behind the firewall.

Also took off some weight, now at 2 oz. total noseweight and that seems to fly just fine. I need to get a timer now so that I don't end up low and without power again.
ORD2FRA is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 03:27 AM
  #25  
SassyDave
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 14
Default

Originally Posted by ORD2FRA View Post
I got some onboard video of the brushless:

snip...
That is an awesome video! Way to go! Are you flying the Elite 1500mah pack from CheapBatteryPacks.com or a 3S lipo?

With all that power, I bet ailerons would be a blast to fly. Judging from the snappiness of the on-board video, I bet it'd fly great!

--Dave
SassyDave is offline  

Quick Reply: Brushless for HobbyZone Super Cub?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11227 seconds with 19 queries