Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 ESC

Old 11-28-2005, 05:43 PM
  #1  
flismall
formerly Mason_S
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 29
Default Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 ESC

I obtained a Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 esc to use with a Eskay 400XT outrunner motor and it would not work, Loud noise and self shutdown when I tried it, used a Jeti and the motor ran just fine. I was told that the Castle Creations probably need to be retimed but I could not find any informatio on how to do that.I emailed CC twice about two weeks apart requesting advice but as yet I have had no response, this from a company that is supposed to pride itself on customer support. Can anyone in Wattflyer land tell me how to retime a TB18, if in fact it can be retimed. TIA
Jim M.
flismall is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:59 PM
  #2  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Castle Link allows setting of all ESC parameters including timing. Castle Link connects to a PC via a USB port and to the ESC. Software downloaded from Castle Creations makes setting everything a very easy and simple process.
simibill is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:58 PM
  #3  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

You can't change the timing on the TB series controllers. Not even the castle link will allow you to change the timing on the Thunderbird series controllers.

Just Brake on/off
LiPoly or NiMh/Nicad voltage
Motor reverse

That is it...

This is really good on current ESC's - worth a read...

http://www.rcgroups.com/links/index.php?id=4892

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:34 PM
  #4  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Mike,
Thanks. I wasn't aware of limitations in TB ESC's.
simibill is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:39 PM
  #5  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

simibill - yea the verdict (at least for me) is still out on those. My TP 9 smoked (they had a big issue and recalled them all) and my 18 has very little use. I have a Eskay I want to run with it, but if it is going to be flakey!

Mine does start and run that motor just fine. Just don't have it in the air yet, as that is reserved for a future review I am writing.

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 12:32 AM
  #6  
qban_flyer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation

FWIW:

Of the six I own, I have three Eskay 400XTs in use currently. All are run with inexpensive ($34.95) Great Planes SS-12 B/L ESCs. Absolutely no problems.

Throttle control on these cheap ESCs is rather linear, and there is no programming fuss to get them going.
 
Old 11-29-2005, 04:05 AM
  #7  
GallopingGhost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Smile

Originally Posted by flismall View Post
I obtained a Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 esc to use with a Eskay 400XT outrunner motor and it would not work, Loud noise and self shutdown when I tried it, used a Jeti and the motor ran just fine. I was told that the Castle Creations probably need to be retimed but I could not find any informatio on how to do that.I emailed CC twice about two weeks apart requesting advice but as yet I have had no response, this from a company that is supposed to pride itself on customer support. Can anyone in Wattflyer land tell me how to retime a TB18, if in fact it can be retimed. TIA
Jim M.
Hmmmm, mayby I got lucky I have the XT400 on a Yak with a Thunderbird 9 and it works perfectly right out of the bag. I never changed the default programing. The XT 400 hits 11 Amps at WOT with a 9X3.8 but I very seldom hit that in flight. The Yak only weighs 12 Oz so its a good combo for me.
GallopingGhost is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:22 AM
  #8  
qban_flyer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by GallopingGhost View Post
Hmmmm, mayby I got lucky I have the XT400 on a Yak with a Thunderbird 9 and it works perfectly right out of the bag. I never changed the default programing. The XT 400 hits 11 Amps at WOT with a 9X3.8 but I very seldom hit that in flight. The Yak only weighs 12 Oz so its a good combo for me.
NAW!

We have five to seven of the 400XTs in use on a variety of models at our weekend get togethers at the Fulton R/C E-Flight Aerodrome field.

All of them are used with different ESCs, Some are G/P, others use some made in China, while others use the more expensive Jeti ESCs. Most are used with two and three celll Li-Po packs while others are run from eight cell NIMH packs.

The motors have not given any one a cause for grief. They have all operated flawlessly from the the get go. And yes, that Yak/400XT combo is one heck of a good flying affair. I have even flown mine with two cells swinging an 11X3.8SF APC, and while not breaking the sound barrier or allow me to do certain maneuvers, it still is an impressive performer.
 
Old 11-29-2005, 03:17 PM
  #9  
Matt Kirsch
Super Contributor
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,086
Default

One thing that can cause problems between ANY motor/ESC combination is a bad solder joint, and bad solder joints are pretty easy to make. Look for dull grey, lumpy joints, and reheat them with a clean, hot iron.
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:58 PM
  #10  
flismall
formerly Mason_S
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 29
Default Castle Creations esc problem

My thanks to all who responded to my post, I received a lot of good info.
flismall is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 03:47 AM
  #11  
VACaver
Guest
 
VACaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Usually underground somewhere...
Posts: 64
Default Another Thunderbird 18 Problem...

Just got and installed a TB-18. Not using LiPo's yet (gotta wait till Christmas), so I tried following the instructions for setting it up with NiMh.

Turned the radio on (with throttle up), plugged the battery in, and got the first multi-tone, follwed by three beeps (it thinks it's seeing LiPo's).

I'm supposed to hear another multi-tone after two seconds when the ESC recognizes full throttle. Nope...nothing.

Moving the throttle to the center, I get the tone like the instructions say I should.

So, any ideas why I'm not getting the multi-tone after the two seconds?

Thanks.
VACaver is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:18 PM
  #12  
Matt Kirsch
Super Contributor
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,086
Default

Are you sure you're not supposed to move the stick to full throttle to prompt the ESC to recognize full throttle?
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 03:10 PM
  #13  
VACaver
Guest
 
VACaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Usually underground somewhere...
Posts: 64
Default

Not according to the instructions.

I'm not getting the mulit-tone after waiting two seconds beyond the first tones (multi-tone, then 3 beeps).
VACaver is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:30 AM
  #14  
VACaver
Guest
 
VACaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Usually underground somewhere...
Posts: 64
Default

Got the answer from Castle...After plugging in the battery, move the throttle trim all the way up to get the two second tone.

Works great.
VACaver is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:36 PM
  #15  
Sky Sharkster
Super Contributor
 
Sky Sharkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,455
Default Thunderbird 18

I got my first Thunderbird (18) a few weeks ago. Put it on an AXI 2208-26 running 3S 1320 TP LiPos. No Problem! Got all the correct "beeps", good throttle response, smooth operation. Haven't hit LV cut-off. I have the "CC Link" but didn't need it.
It's powering my scratch-built 1/2 size Astro Hog (see Avatar) and I also bench tested it with a Himax 2025 4200, seems to work the same as the old CC's, perfectly.
Sorry to hear you're having problems, my experience with CC has all been very positive. I guess a bad one can slip out once in a while! Ron
Sky Sharkster is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 01:25 PM
  #16  
VACaver
Guest
 
VACaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Usually underground somewhere...
Posts: 64
Default

Got it worked out...

Turns out that in addition to having the throttle full up when you plug the battery in, you also have to have the throttle trim all the way up.

So, doing that, everything worked fine.
VACaver is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 02:51 PM
  #17  
Hotshot Charlie
Member
 
Hotshot Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 87
Default

The CC Phoneix Link also works with the T'birds. That is the easy way to program CC's controllers. :-)
Hotshot Charlie is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Liquidity
Basement Bargains
2
07-12-2008 04:18 AM
gsmena
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
01-21-2008 02:36 AM
rtheiss1
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
2
01-04-2008 05:10 PM
mpotter187
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
2
10-28-2007 06:30 PM
Pale Rider
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
9
04-18-2006 04:04 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 ESC


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10535 seconds with 13 queries