General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Badly need help with JR-Futaba adaptor or is it Futaba-Jr?

Old 12-24-2005, 03:57 PM
jb48

Default Badly need help with JR-Futaba adaptor or is it Futaba-Jr?

I am new to RC electric and just received my new ARF Hobbico Superstar EP with ailerons. The kit has an ESC with BEC. The problem is that I took the standard servos (JR 527) and receiver (JR R700) from my retired glow Alpha Trainer .40. The ESC furnished with the Superstar looks to be Futaba compatible. It is impossible to connect the ESC to my JR receiver. The connection (female) from the ESC is a little bit to wide to enter the receiver. I made researches for adaptor and I am lost, especially when I learned that there are Futaba J and Futaba G on the market. What is the difference between J and G? I saw things like Futaba J (and G) to JR/Hitec adaptor and the reverse, i. e. JR/Hitec to Futaba (J and G)!!! What do I need to make the ESC to work with my JR receiver? If that is of any indication, the ESC connection has 3 wires and my JR receiver has 3 pins, but of different color. In online catalog, I found, just to confuse a little more, that adaptors are servo to receiver, does that mean that the ESC connection to be considered like the servo to be adapted, since the receiver is, well, the receiver?
I badly need the information to complete my SSEP. Thanks to all who can help me.
Old 12-24-2005, 04:20 PM
Will Hicks
Dealer

The Rx wire coming from the ESC may be a Futaba type. Compare the connector to the one on your JR servo. The ESC connector may have a guide molded on the side. You can remove the guide with a Xacto knife. That should make it fit fine. The brown wire on the JR servo is negative; the signal wire is orange. That should match your ESC connector with black negative and white signal. If it's marked like Hitec, the signal wire will be yellow.
Old 12-25-2005, 03:12 PM
jb48