Hello new to RC helos - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners - Helis A forum where beginners can get help on the fundamentals for experts who know their stuff!

Hello new to RC helos

Old 05-07-2011, 05:25 AM
Thatguyjae

Default Hello new to RC helos

Hello all! I'm very new to RC helos but am very excited to be getting into this hobby. Growing up I flew RC planes with my dad, gas though not electric, however I didn't ever get to helos. My dad bought me an air hog a couple of months ago to fly around my apartment. It's been fun but very small I wanted something bigger I could fly outside as I just moved to FL and have a grassy area outside my apartment. Well I was at the mall today and ended up getting an RC they were selling, I know I should have done research and looked for something but I got sucked in lol
Anyways I ended up with a defender 3.5 channel swat helo, looks pretty cool. Took it for a quick test flight but it was getting dark so didn't last long. I'm hoping I can trim it better tomorrow as it seemed to constantly be going backwards just slightly and was climbing way faster than I expected. Any advice for a n00bie, in regards to general flight. I know this one is still pretty simple but seems like a good first step past the super simple air hog!!

Look forward to learning from all members sorry for the long first post!!
Old 05-07-2011, 06:01 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

Welcome aboard! Great crowd here, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Old 05-07-2011, 06:05 AM
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!

Welcome to WattFlyer!

Those simple heli's often dont have much you can do in the way of fine tuning or adjustments.

Look at the transmitter and see if there is a small switch or slider button just under the stick that controlls right/left/forward/back movement.