Beginners - Helis A forum where beginners can get help on the fundamentals for experts who know their stuff!

CP Pro Status LED Question HELP!

Old 03-10-2007, 02:24 PM
  #1  
Murdock1
Thumber
Thread Starter
 
Murdock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 172
Default CP Pro Status LED Question HELP!

Let me begin by saying as this is my first heli I'm following the manual to the letter.

I'm at the controls test stage after arming and initialization are complete.
Arming and initialization go fine btw. The staus LED is solid green with the throttle and throttle trim lowered completely. When I move the throttle forward or up the status light turns a solid red. The servos and swash respond properly and all the way, but with the solid red LED. This does not occur when I check the other two controls, only throttle up.

?
Murdock1 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Dave R
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE MN
Posts: 41
Default

I'm a newbie at this so I may be wrong but I believe the red LED indicates a high current state that could indicate a low battery. Clearly the motors are the high current devices in the system. The servos that control the swashplates don't draw much as compared to the motors so they don't trip the high current indicator. Have you fully charged the battery? If not, give that a try and see what happens.

I suppose if a shaft is bent that could cause an increased load on a motor and cause the motor to draw more current.
Dave R is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 02:30 PM
  #3  
EpoweredRc
3D Flyer
 
EpoweredRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: B.N.R in Paulding now In Buchanan,GA
Posts: 2,200
Default

it goes from red to green. the book tells all the lights colors it is supposed to do.
EpoweredRc is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 02:43 PM
  #4  
Murdock1
Thumber
Thread Starter
 
Murdock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 172
Default

Per the manual, the main and tail motors aren't plugged into the 3-in1 for the controls test. The only things drawing power are the servos. The battery is new and just fully charged.
Murdock1 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 09:59 PM
  #5  
Talon1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Do you have the idle up stick facing towards to rear of the transmitter? It will not arm if it isn't. Are the main and tail motors plugged into the correctly? Just trying to help out!
Talon1 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:19 PM
  #6  
Murdock1
Thumber
Thread Starter
 
Murdock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 172
Default

Thanks for the ideas and help guys...shoulda gotten back to you sooner.
The status LED goes to red when you throttle up, I've been told it simply means that the ESC is doing what it's supposed to so all is well.
Murdock1 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:44 AM
  #7  
n2Jesus
Up is a good thing
 
n2Jesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southeast Missouri
Posts: 79
Default

When you are flying and the led turns red, the ESC is outputing the max current it can to the main motor.
n2Jesus is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jefftm
Beginners - Helis
6
01-08-2008 12:13 PM
joe399
Beginners - Helis
2
02-01-2007 04:31 AM
mike16150
E-Flite Helicopters
2
01-30-2007 04:41 PM
Flavors
Beginners - Helis
2
01-02-2007 09:36 PM
Lawn Dart
Micro Sized Electric Helicopters
6
12-31-2006 06:46 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: CP Pro Status LED Question HELP!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08809 seconds with 13 queries