New Product Announcements Vendors post their latest and greatest products here to let the world know about them

New online RC Store

Old 06-23-2010, 03:50 PM
  #1  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default New online RC Store

Hello everybody!

I've been an infrequent poster here but regular reader. I've opened up my own online RC hobby store specializing in electric airplanes. You can check it out at:

http://www.filadelfosrc.com

Hope to serve your needs soon!

Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 04:07 AM
  #2  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

I like your site! thanks, bubsteve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 05:16 AM
  #3  
tarheal63
Member
 
tarheal63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 398
Default

Great site. You will be the next stop in some of my upcoming purchases. Thanks for offering reasonable prices on-shore as it were.
tarheal63 is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 01:37 PM
  #4  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for the kind words guys. Feel free to offer any product suggestions, if I'm still researching which products to carry. I can also special order as long as my distributors carry it.

Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 04:44 AM
  #5  
LuckyArmpit
Rehab is for quitters
 
LuckyArmpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Middlesex
Posts: 218
Default

Howdee. Just visited your site. I've bookmarked it. Your prices aren't too bad and are competitive with other shops online.
Of course its tuff to compete with the big shops and the "wally mart" places like hobby king. In some instances, buying cheap isn't the most cost efficient.

Lucky...
LuckyArmpit is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 04:50 AM
  #6  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Hi Bill
I like it as well
Best of luck with this new endeavour
Take care
Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 07:12 AM
  #7  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
Thanks for the kind words guys. Feel free to offer any product suggestions, if I'm still researching which products to carry. I can also special order as long as my distributors carry it.

Bill


Suggestion #1

Add your contact information and physical address. No place in your website does it say where you are. Had to use your phone number to figure out you are USA based. Dont make it hard to identify yourself.

Suggestion #2

Narrow the website pages. They are too wide. Narrow and long is better than fat and short.


Best of luck with your business!
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 09:55 AM
  #8  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default Page width

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
Suggestion #2

Narrow the website pages. They are too wide. Narrow and long is better than fat and short.
Yes, I second Nitro Blast's suggestion, Billbo. You shouldn't make them wider than 1024 pixels. My monitor is 1280 pixels wide and I still have to scroll horizontally. Believe me, it will help sales!

Best wishes for the business!

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 01:51 PM
  #9  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for the advice guys. I added my location to the welcome message on the home page. Regarding page width, I will have to look into that... I am still learning how to make web pages & have been using a program called komposer. I thought the width was dynamic based on your resolution, but i guess not? Where is the width of my page determined, and is there anyway to quickly change it for 180 pages? LOL.


Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:55 PM
  #10  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default Page width

Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
... I am still learning how to make web pages & have been using a program called komposer. I thought the width was dynamic based on your resolution, but i guess not? Where is the width of my page determined, and is there anyway to quickly change it for 180 pages? LOL. - Bill
The width of your page (as built by KompoZer) is indeed dynamic, Bill, and it is determined by browser size - with the crucial proviso that if the page content is wider than the browser window, then your visitors need to scroll horizontally to see it all.

And that's what's happening with some of your pages, most notably your homepage, where there are too many 'Brands' and 'Products Categories' images to fit even within a 1280 pixel-wide window. You need to change the layout (e.g. start another row of images) so that they can be accommodated within a window that's no more than 1024 pixels wide (in fact less than that, to allow for browser border and vertical scrollbar).

There's a good discussion of page widths (with particular reference to KompoZer) at www.thesitewizard.com/webdesign/liquid-elastic-fixed-relative-layout.shtml .

Happy KompoZing!

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 09:52 PM
  #11  
Cdr. Instigator
Pimp My Plane
 
Cdr. Instigator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 487
Default

Looks nice.. I will check out your site a little better later as I'm about to get off of work and just found your post..
Cdr. Instigator is offline  
Old 10-02-2010, 01:59 AM
  #12  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default

If I were to open a shop in this competitive world where everyone is competing against the big "Wally-World" type places, would be to offer those things that they don't. Since you can't really compete against the giants for the same stuff they sell at a lower price than you can hope to match. Granted, you'll never get rich catering to the niche crowd, but at least you won't be squashed. Again, IMO.
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:23 PM
  #13  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks so much for the tips & info! I've fixed the home page (i think), what other pages did you notice the problem in? I was thinking I had to edit 197 pages when this was first mentioned!

Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:53 PM
  #14  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

I don't mean to be a pain in the neck, but I'm really appreciating the feedback guys.

Which version of the homepage do you think works best?

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index2.html

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index3.html


Thanks in advance everyone!


Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:59 PM
  #15  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index2.html ,bubsteve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 09:51 PM
  #16  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default Best homepage

Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
... Which version of the homepage do you think works best? ... Bill
Yes, www.filadelfosrc.com/index2.html works best for me too, Bill - clear, logical separation of menus.

New layout works well on 1024 wide monitor.

Just be aware that red and blue text on a black background makes for poor contrast on many monitors and hence difficult reading (and hence lower sales?). The big sites (Google, Wikipedia, eBay, Microsoft, Apple, Wattflyer! ...) have a reason for having a light background and mainly black text).

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:34 PM
  #17  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

OK, thanks for the tips guys. Index2 is now the home page.

As for the black background... according to my analytics, the majority of my hits occur at night. I felt the dark background was easier on the eyes at night.

I may switch to a lighter background, but haven't decided yet. It requires quite a bit of work to redesign nearly 200 pgs.

Can I get some feedback on which background you all would prefer?

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/

or

http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index_bg.html

1 other question... how do you get the tiny little logo to appear in the corner of your page/tab and when the site gets bookmarked?

Thanks SO much for all your help with my site everybody!

Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 08:07 PM
  #18  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

I like http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index_bg.html
Old Fart is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 08:13 PM
  #19  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default More feedback

Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
Can I get some feedback on which background you all would prefer?
For myself, I much prefer the second (http://www.filadelfosrc.com/index_bg.html) - even at night!
Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
1 other question... how do you get the tiny little logo to appear in the corner of your page/tab and when the site gets bookmarked?l
It's called a favicon. Here's one page (out of very many on the web!) that describes how to make one: http://www.hypergurl.com/favicon.html
Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
Thanks SO much for all your help with my site everybody! - Bill
Please feel free to click the 'Thanks' button on one (or more!) of my posts, Bill!

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 08:34 PM
  #20  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Wow, thanks again! You are a fountain of HTML knowledge

I followed the instructions, but I'm still not seeing the icon in the tab using FireFox. I see it there with IE though...

I thought I need to add that line in the header to every page, but it shows up for every page now (in IE anyway, FF is still a dud here)

Bill
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 09:09 PM
  #21  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default Favicons in Firefox

Thanks for your thanks, Bill!
Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
I followed the instructions, but I'm still not seeing the icon in the tab using FireFox. I see it there with IE though...
Yes, I'm afraid Firefox has recognised problems in displaying favicons (they're a Microsoft invention). Here're a couple of pages that may be of some help:
http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/...do+not+display
http://www.ehow.com/how_5085723_add-...dress-bar.html

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 09:20 PM
  #22  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Very strange. I go to my page, hit page info, and go to media tab. It shows the favicon.ico file & all the info for it is correct except the Dimension. It shows Dimensions of 0px 0px ???!!!??
Billbo1970 is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 09:37 PM
  #23  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default Faulty favicon?

Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
Very strange. I go to my page, hit page info, and go to media tab. It shows the favicon.ico file & all the info for it is correct except the Dimension. It shows Dimensions of 0px 0px ???!!!??
Hmm. I wonder if you need to try to remake it, Bill. It's not showing up for me in IE8 or Safari 5, either.

John V
velojet is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 09:57 PM
  #24  
velojet
Community Moderator
 
velojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 567
info Favicon?

I've done some further investigation, Bill. Your favicon looks good (when I access it directly at http://www.filadelfosrc.com/favicon.ico), so I think you have the wrong filepath in your link spec. Instead of this in the link type tag :

href="images/favicon.ico"

try this:

href="/favicon.ico"

Good luck!

John
velojet is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:06 PM
  #25  
Billbo1970
RC Entrepreneur
Thread Starter
 
Billbo1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by velojet View Post

try this:

href="/favicon.ico"
I thought FOR SURE you had figured it out, but alas it still doesn't show in FF but shows in IE8. Not sure why your IE8 isn't showing it?

Tried the full URL as well, href="http://www.filadelfosrc.com/favicon.ico" but that didn't solve it either
Billbo1970 is offline  

Quick Reply: New online RC Store


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11245 seconds with 12 queries