Airfoliz Yak 54 profile motor - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Airfoliz Yak 54 profile motor

Old 05-13-2009, 01:26 AM
  #1  
zaboaa
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default Airfoliz Yak 54 profile motor

I have a Rimfire 28-30 950KVA motor, will this work with this airplane? Looks right in line with the other motors recommended for this bird.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bi...?&I=LXLWT6&P=ML

Thanks
zaboaa is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 03:39 AM
  #2  
Louis
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 391
Default

...

Last edited by Louis; 08-22-2009 at 09:39 PM.
Louis is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 04:53 AM
  #3  
zaboaa
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Originally Posted by Louis View Post
It should, the motor originally offered with the Airfoilz Yak 54 was the Hacker a20 which produced about 200 watts.

The motor you have produces about 150 watts. The original Yak was pretty light, so with the right prop and a 3c that plane will fly, but it may be a little slow on for hard 3d work.
Thanks, I have a park 480 sitting around, maybe I'll just throw that on it....
zaboaa is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 05:52 AM
  #4  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Heres a video clip with a Hyperion 2213-20 on it.

[media]http://vimeo.com/4370059[/media]

Its got plenty of torque, it hovers and 3D's better than I can.

That Rimfire produces just a tad bit less than the Hyperion does on 3 cells, so you will have a
very nimble sport flier, not sure about hover pull out as battery weight will help define that

What size pack were you thinking about using?
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 03:52 PM
  #5  
zaboaa
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default great video..

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
Heres a video clip with a Hyperion 2213-20 on it.

[media]http://vimeo.com/4370059[/media]

Its got plenty of torque, it hovers and 3D's better than I can.

That Rimfire produces just a tad bit less than the Hyperion does on 3 cells, so you will have a
very nimble sport flier, not sure about hover pull out as battery weight will help define that

What size pack were you thinking about using?
Very cool video, love the location. I definitely want 3D capability. I 'm going to put the 480 on it, that should be plenty of power for this bird....

Mark
zaboaa is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 05:06 PM
  #6  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Thanks, sometimes I get over zealous sharing that vid...

What battery do you plan on taking along? That really makes a difference in the power/weight ratio. That 480 motor should give you all the umph you need for sure.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:18 PM
  #7  
zaboaa
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default lipo..

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
Thanks, sometimes I get over zealous sharing that vid...

What battery do you plan on taking along? That really makes a difference in the power/weight ratio. That 480 motor should give you all the umph you need for sure.

I have evry 3 cell from a 800 -3000MAH. i was thinking a 1550 Rhino 20C 3S.
zaboaa is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:28 PM
  #8  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

I have some TP's that are 2100's that make hovering more work, but the plane still flies great.

My preferred pack is the Hyperion 1200's that are super light and great kick.
Hover is no challenge, and its much more snappy on 3D with the lighter battery. I can still fly 15 minutes if I want.

Those 1550 Rhinos will be great.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:18 AM
  #9  
airfoilz
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Nitro what camera system you using?
airfoilz is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:41 AM
  #10  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

That was done with my FlyCamOne2.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CrashJunkie1980
3D Flying
4
01-18-2008 04:38 PM
ARTP47
ParkFlyers
0
07-24-2007 05:26 AM
Balil
3D Flying
2
02-14-2007 03:33 AM
EDFrules
3D Flying
6
11-21-2006 01:04 AM
admin
General Electric Discussions
3
02-28-2006 04:21 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Airfoliz Yak 54 profile motor


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10445 seconds with 15 queries