LVC Cutoff --> "Soft" versus "Hard" - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

LVC Cutoff --> "Soft" versus "Hard"

Old 11-19-2007, 04:41 PM
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER

Default LVC Cutoff --> "Soft" versus "Hard"

Can someone please educate me on EXACTLY how "Soft LVC Cutoff" works?

I've been flying with "Hard" cutoff for about 3 years, and I'm very comfortable with that. About a year ago, I bought some less expensive ESCs (I normally buy Phoenix 25's, but I tried to save a buck by buying Thunderbird 18's and Thunderbird 9's)...

I THOUGHT I understood how it worked, but I ended up ruining TWO 3s 800 mAh LiPos, after 48-49 flights. The only explanation was the Soft Cutoff on the ESC... (I have Lipos which are over 2 years old, and still 100% capacity -- and have only been used with "Hard LVC Cutoff" ESCs...)

So, last weekend, I performed a test. I used a BRAND NEW 3s 1000 mAh LiPo, and flew the airplane with my Watts Up meter... Guess what? The battery voltage was allowed to drop as low as 8.64 volts! (After flight, unloaded voltage was 10.59 volts -- I never would have known without flying with the Watts Up meter installed!)

So -- obviously, I'm doing something wrong... Please educate me! :o
Old 11-19-2007, 04:42 PM
guest001
On Hiatus

Reprogram the T'birds for 10 or so volts! The new "beta" software permits this modification. As I recall, the T'birds come with a 9 volt lvc.
Old 11-19-2007, 05:01 PM
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required

I thought hard and soft cut offs on the ESC were for the brake. Is there also one for the voltage? I'm interested too.
Old 11-19-2007, 05:11 PM
guest001
On Hiatus