Go Back  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Foamies
Reload this Page >

Davis, Woodland, Sacramento guys, is there anywhere to get foam cut?

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Davis, Woodland, Sacramento guys, is there anywhere to get foam cut?

Old 04-04-2008, 06:27 AM
arguspanoptes4

Unhappy Davis, Woodland, Sacramento guys, is there anywhere to get foam cut?

I am a student at UC Davis and I am trying to get into this RC plane thing. I have owned several RC cars and a boat or two, but when it comes to the planes I seem to be trying all the wrong stuff in all the wrong ways. My biggest problem is that because I am away from my permanent home I lack space and tools. I have now tried building two sport planes which I have effectively destroyed upon their maiden flights, so I decided maybe a HLG sailplane would be more forgiving. I decided on a design from the internet (http://www.charlesriverrc.org/articl...minatorhlg.htm) and got most of the materials, substituting like materials for the rest, but after I brought home my large pieces of foam I realized there was no way for me to shape it into a wing core of any kind, Is there a reasonable solution to this? I am really looking for a place that might be able to just cut it for me for a price. I would try to build my own foam cutter but I have no where to put/use it due to space confinement (actually I am still tying to figure out how to tell my roomate that there is going to be a 5-6 foot plane hanging from the ceiling in our 10x11 room lol). Any suggestions are welcome.

P.S. I hope this thread is in the right spot cuz there is a little crossover into sailplanes.
Old 04-04-2008, 07:30 AM
Saucerguy2
Super Contributor