Expoxy - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft Discuss and share your scratch built or kit built aircraft as well as building techniques, methods, mediums and resources.

Expoxy

Old 08-10-2005, 06:01 PM
  #1  
Douglas
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Expoxy

I'm using 2 part 5 minute epoxy in a syringe from Home Depot. I'm careful that both parts are equal before I mix.

The batch I used last night on a balsa sailplane was from a new tube. It hasn't cured yet, over 12 hours! It's a tacky plyable consistancy.

Can I just add some hardener to the surface, or do I need to scrape everything away and try and start over?

Thanks,
Douglas
Douglas is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:13 PM
  #2  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

You need to clear all of it and start over again. Age affects epoxy greatly in my experience. It might be old and no-good anymore.

Do a test batch before using it again.

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 05:34 AM
  #3  
tdonily
Village Idiot!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Newkirk, OK USA
Posts: 8
Default

I have some epoxy that I used in making model yachts. Is West Systems brand overkill on an aircraft?
tdonily is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 02:05 PM
  #4  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Nope lots use West systems brands on planes....they are excellent.
rcers is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 02:48 PM
  #5  
RysiuM
New Member
 
RysiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by Douglas
Can I just add some hardener to the surface, or do I need to scrape everything away and try and start over?
Scrape and then clean the wood. The easiest way is to brush and wipe the wood with acethone. Takes out uncured epoxy without a trace. Leaves the clean wood ready for the second attempt.
RysiuM is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 04:06 AM
  #6  
Sky Sharkster
Super Contributor
 
Sky Sharkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,455
Default Epoxy mixing

Epoxy mixes can vary a lot. Have you used the same batch before with good results? Maybe the whole container is bad. Also, believe it or not, if there's even a trace of oil on the surface you mix it on, it won't cure. Last, weather. Too humid? too hot/cold. I find "Sig" and "HobbyPoxy" the most consistant from batch to batch. Sky Sharkster
Sky Sharkster is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09850 seconds with 12 queries