Interference Between Battery Power and Throttle Leads? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Interference Between Battery Power and Throttle Leads?

Old 04-13-2011, 03:22 AM
bsrchas

Default Interference Between Battery Power and Throttle Leads?

I posted this question in the beginners forum with no responses. Thought I would ask here.

I'm a newbie converting a TopFlite DC-3 to e power. Have to run the two battery power leads and the throttle control leads in very tight cowl spaces for approx 12 inches. Does the amperage running through the battery power leads to the ESC cause interference with the throttle control leads going to the ESC when run very close together like that??

Do I have to be concerned with separating these leads??
Old 04-13-2011, 03:35 AM
Bub Steve
Super Contributor

12" is a LONG way to run ESC power wire's, the leads will be OK as long as you don't wrap um together and do try to space them apart to minimize RF,interference, can you stort'in up those's power lead's as you'll need BIG gauge wire's to pull 12', bubsteve
nice look'in
Old 04-13-2011, 04:52 AM
bsrchas

Motors in the nacelles on each wing with the battery in the nose of the fuselage. ESC's directly behind the motors. Haven't measured exactly yet but might be 18" total from battery case to esc case which includes the pigtails on the battery and the ESC's One battery in nose to feed two motors with a Y harness.

It will be very difficult with the limited amount of space to separate the battery power from the throttle leads. They'll be running side by side essentially touching each other for approximately 12 " from each nacelle to the center of the wing where the receiver is located.

Suggestions I'll try to post a photo tomorrow and show dimensions.
Old 04-13-2011, 05:22 AM
Bub Steve
Super Contributor

standing by, bubsteve