starter plane my son bought - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

starter plane my son bought

Old 05-07-2012, 05:11 AM
Dragon Master

Default starter plane my son bought

This is the plane my son bought for a starter plane
Dynam 4Ch Super J3 Cub PA-18 RTF
http://www.nitroplanes.com/dysuj3cubpa4.html

I noticed its a smaller and lighter plane then the HZ Supper Cub that i ordered
it also has Ailerons wanted to know if that would be a problem for beginners
Old 05-07-2012, 06:20 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

I don't have experience with that particular plane, but my first impression is no, it's not good for a beginner. That flat wing is my major issue with it. A good trainer will have some to lots of dihedral to help stabilize the plane and pretty much keep itself righted.

Unfortunately, there is a popular belief in RC that Piper Cub=easy to fly training plane. But when it comes to RC planes, all Cubs (Or Cessna's, or Corsairs, etc..) are not created equal. They each have their own design characteristics. You can see tons of info and raves about the HZ SC you ordered, but what have searches come up with for the Dynam one? And mind you, I happen to like Dynam based on the Turbojet I have.

My bet is the Dynam Cub is more difficult to fly, particularly for a beginner, than the HZ Cub. As for what Dynam says, "Users of all levels can fly this plane", remember, they're trying to sell stuff. I've found especially with Chinese made RC planes, the sales pitches are like teenage boys on dates or politicians: they'll tell you WHATEVER you wnt to hear to get what they want...

I'd recommend a lot of sim time, or a buddy box before trying that plane out if your son is an absolute beginner.
Old 05-07-2012, 02:38 PM
eagle33

xmech2k gives you good advice.
Old 05-07-2012, 03:13 PM
Voltron